Skip to content

A Life Devoid…

September 4, 2009

.. of holidays.

Adel‘s tweet about the coming long holidays on September 7 and 21 didn’t incite even a small *whoop* from me. Since I’ve quit all jobs and became a stay-at-home-wife-and-soon-to-be-mom, joy over long weekends have become a thing of the past.

A normal day for us: Get up when we want, eat. Hubby paints, I tinker with my Mac. We eat again. We chat, we tinker with the Mac, we get sleepy. We nap. We wake up, eat, maybe take a walk, then hubby paints again. Sometimes I go do the groceries, and I used to go to the gym. Then we eat again. When Orley tires of painting, we watch a DVD. When we get sleepy, we sleep. Repeat.

The highlights of our days are a trip to Megamall to attend exhibits and harvest art scene gossip. Sometimes Orley gets bored and we go to Manila Bay to a museum and take a walk. When we tire of the food at home we go to our favorite “paluto” places and trip on seafood. And sometimes, we pack up, lock up the house and fly to Orley’s hometown in Cebu for an indefinite period of time. We get sidetracked most of the time. I found myself on Panglao Beach not really remembering the steps on how I got there.

It may seem boring, but life with an artist never is. This is my view from my computer nook:

And my monthly shopping list reads like this:

  • Coffee
  • Creamer
  • Laundry soap
  • Cadmium red
  • Yellow ochre
  • Titanium white
  • Sansodor
  • Linseed oil

Life as a painter’s wife is hushed and frenzied, a lull and a storm, a bunch of contradictions wrapped up in paint, turpentine, beauty, pain and creation. It’s exhilarating.

I always asked God to lead him to the best life for me and my future family. True to His word, he gave it to us. For that I am thankful, grateful and blessed.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. digidiva permalink
    September 4, 2009 8:40 pm

    sarap ng life mo. pero parang fattening siya. i am actually in the same boat now. just finished my long-term contract with a client and all of a sudden i have time on my hands.

  2. digidiva permalink
    September 4, 2009 8:45 pm

    oh but i still look forward to long weekends. that’s because i don’t have to wake up early to prepare daughter for school or no reviewers to make. enjoy your free time now. when the baby comes, sleep will be a major blessing. 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      September 4, 2009 9:08 pm

      Two words that my husband and I like: Home school.

  3. digidiva permalink
    September 4, 2009 11:48 pm

    aaaahhhh, but breastfeeding or any feeding for that matter will keep you awake at night.

    home school, puede mag start after lunch. hehehehe.

    • Eliza permalink
      September 5, 2009 9:13 am

      Yuh nga! I’ll be asleep all the other times that I’m not feeding. Titiisin ko ang breastfeeding, papayat ako eh.

Leave a Reply

