Skip to content

A Few Moments…

May 6, 2010

Because that’s all I have. A few moments. I gave birth last Wednesday to Sebastian, at 12:56am, and my world hasn’t been the same ever since.

I will blog about the birthing experience very soon. But right now, I’m just relishing the eye before the storm. It’s a few minutes before Basti is due for another feeding. In between nursing, burping, diaper changes, and trying to get some sleep when the Basti sleeps… well, there’s very little time left to do anything else.

At this point I would like to thank my friends, moms and single women alike, who took the time to send me a Facebook message, an email, a text and every other way they could to encourage me and get me through my post-partum baby blues. These first few weeks are not easy and your words are pulling me through. Thank you.

One week into Basti’s world and here are my thoughts:

1. If you are a woman who says you don’t want children, I respect your decision. Being a mother is not easy and if you are brave enough to say that you don’t want to deal with it, then so be it. You are not a lesser woman because of your decision not to procreate.

2. Though I am a breastfeeding advocate and will always champion the benefits of pure breastfeeding, I will never judge any mother who chooses to feed their children formula. Breastfeeding is 100% commitment. It hurts like hell and you are the only one who can do it for your child, no matter how supportive your husband is. You will have to be the one to wake up at all hours, endure painful breasts and think of sleep as something you used to do.

3. What pregnancy has done to my body is downright depressing.

4. I look at my previous albums posted in Facebook and think what a far cry my life is now compared to before. I am so glad I did it all – worked in China, saw Mt. Everest, had broken hearts and love affairs – before settling and having a child. It’s time for new adventures, and they’re not about me anymore.

And on that note, I can hear Basti whimpering for mama’s milk. Till next time.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Guia permalink
    May 7, 2010 10:56 am

    Wow. Yes and amen to Points 1 and 2! And for point 3, thank you for your honesty! As for point 4 – good job, Eli! Indeed, there is a season for everything 🙂 …I like this post.

    • Eliza permalink
      May 7, 2010 7:32 pm

      Thanks Khia Kherl! I can’t wait to meet up with you gals and introduce you to my little one.

  2. sheila permalink
    May 7, 2010 11:00 am

    God bless and enrich you in this new journey sister.

    Mothers are the bravest, hardest working creature on this earth is all I can say.

    Take your place proudly 😉

    • Eliza permalink
      May 7, 2010 7:34 pm

      Salamat sister! I shall take my place in motherhood society! First Mother’s Day ko sa Sunday, I’m so kilig, haha!

Trackbacks

  1. Nominated! :The Smart Parenting/Sangobion Mommy Blogger Awards

Leave a Reply

