Skip to content

Adventures in Babywearing

June 25, 2010

Even before I got pregnant, I said I would definitely wear my baby. It looked so cute and cuddly, and mommy always looked so composed. Orley and I decided to follow attachment parenting, and babywearing is high up on the list of do’s for this parenting style.

My first glimpse of babywearing was when my then-student JM’s mom, Abbie Yabot, walked into Gymboree wearing him in a Maya sling. When I became pregnant, Mommy Abby became my lactation consultant, and encouraged me to wear Basti when he came out.

I had trouble wearing Basti when he was a newborn. Now that he’s closing in on 2 months in age and solid as a stuffed chicken, I’m more confident handling him when I put him in and out of whatever system I’m using that day. Here’s my take on my three babywearing gadgets.

1. The Ring Sling

It took me some time to learn how to thread the ring sling right. If you don’t do it properly, it gets all tangled up and I wish you good luck trying to adjust the slack once your baby’s in there. I’m somewhat successful in wearing Basti in a ring sling, but it’s not my favorite method. The tail bothers me and being the klutz that I am, might cause me to trip on it. This is an RJelly sling that my friend Krisbau gave me. She wasn’t happy with it and never got to use it. I like that the material is light enough for our weather, but I have a feeling that if it were made with a slightly heavier cloth, it would be easier to handle.

2. The Pouch

This is a Peanutshell baby carrier that I bought from My Baby and My Sling. I chose the Peanut Shell for the reviews and friendly price. The seller was so nice. She met up with me to hand me my Peanut Shell and told me her own babywearing stories. She’s a babywearing mom and has used all the products she sells on her site. A++ seller!

I love this pouch! It’s easy to put on and the DVD gives clear instructions on how to wear using different positions. It’s cotton, and reversible and easy to stow in the baby bag. The first time I used it, Basti fell asleep in it and stayed asleep for hours. My back didn’t hurt at all!

3. The SaYa System

The SaYa is my absolute favorite among these three systems. I love that it’s made of t-shirt material, comes in great designs, and Filipino-made! Dear fellow Povedan Buding Aquino-Dee is the woman behind this carrying system.

When I first opened the package I thought I ordered a size too small. It seemed I was never going to get Basti in there! I had to Facebook Buding and she assured me that I got the right size. Once I finally figured it out, Basti was in babywearing heaven, and so was I! Look at how happy he is in there. A few minutes after I took this picture, he was fast asleep. Compared to the Peanut Shell, the SaYa is easier to peel off so I can ease out Basti from the pouch and put him in his crib. It’s a bit more challenging to wear and put on but once you’ve got that right, it’s the best pouch ever! Orley loves this pouch too, though I can’t say he’ll ever try it. :p

I’m really looking forward to wearing Basti as he grows older. I don’t want to lug a stroller around all the time! Good luck to all mommies who want to wear their babies!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Amelia Ann Alba permalink
    June 26, 2010 11:17 pm

    I Agree, Saya is the BEST!
    Miss ya! Be strong Basti!

    love,
    Amelia

    • Eliza permalink
      August 7, 2010 3:24 pm

      Miss you too Amelia! Hope to see you soon!

  2. June 27, 2010 6:15 pm

    Thanks for sharing your baby wearing experience! Hope you and Basti have tons of fun with baby wearing! Take care!

    • Eliza permalink
      June 27, 2010 8:13 pm

      Hi Cherrie! Thanks for visiting! You were the one who introduced me to my first pouch after all, hehe. Take care!

  3. Lizel permalink
    July 8, 2010 10:01 pm

    Hi Eliza,
    I was just browsing about reviews for saya baby carrier in hope that I would find answer to my question if I got the right size for my newly acquired saya. Like what I’ve read here, you were also in that situation. Size I got is medium but my baby doesn’t seem so comfy when I put him inside, he cries and I think it’s bec. He feels it too tight?… How did you figure it out? Thnks

    • Eliza permalink
      July 9, 2010 8:22 am

      Hi Lizel! In the beginning my baby cried also, but when I started walking around, he stopped. Maybe you could try that first? Buding told me, as a guide, that the SaYa should come to just below your armpits when worn without the baby. Mine felt too small too in the beginning!

  4. prettyisprettydoes permalink
    August 20, 2010 1:58 am

    I’m a baby-wearer, too! I use the Next9 sling, and I’m quite happy with it. It just took a bit of getting used to. I want to try the Saya, I just hope it can take my hefty little boy!

    • Eliza permalink
      August 20, 2010 8:05 am

      Great to hear from other babywearers! 🙂 I’ve tried and tried – my son just doesn’t like the ring sling. He really truly loves the SaYa!

  5. September 3, 2010 8:55 pm

    i’ve tried the ring slings and a pouch. i have three baby wearing gadgets. two ring slings (my rjelly nga is exactly like yours!) and a pouch i bought in an eastwood bazaar.
    my two cents lang: ring slings are ok if you are sharing it with another person of a different size. yun nga lang, in my case, they need to have it threaded in advanced. di nila alam paano gamitin. hehehe. the pouch is ok if the baby can hold up his/her head. pero pag malaki na (like more than a year old) mahirap na gamitin.

    when you use your slings, do you get looks and double takes from everyone else?

    • admin permalink
      September 3, 2010 9:03 pm

      High-five on the same ring sling! Haha!

      Yes, I get looks and cooments all the time, especially with the SaYa. They run the range from “Ang cute!” to “Hindi ba siya nahihirapan?” Babywearing has yet to become the norm.

  6. July 10, 2011 5:31 am

    Hi Eliza,
    I have only tried the pouch and a homemade Moby wrap (which I think would be similar to the Saya) system. And my baby girl likes the Moby so much better. I like it because it is easy to put on and adjust to the baby’s size. Thanks for these reviews.

    • Eliza permalink
      July 10, 2011 8:34 am

      Hi again! Yes, I think the Moby configuration is similar to the SaYa, at least when it comes to the double-shoulder support ? 🙂

  7. renee saludares permalink
    October 22, 2012 6:16 pm

    I also love my SaYa. But am having problems now since I have a newborn. Mommy Eliza, do you happen to have a post showing how to wear a newborn the way you were wearing Basti in the SaYa here? Sayang we were not able to go to the Babywearing Meet last weekend. Thanks a lot!

Trackbacks

  1. Sa-Ya Carrier « MimmaBenz.com

Leave a Reply

