Skip to content

The Me Project

July 19, 2010

I just finished watching Julie & Julia. Awesome movie. By the time the credits were rolling, I was standstill, with tiny tracks of tears down my cheeks. I had been crying for a movie that wasn’t even sad.

Something in the movie struck a nerve with me. Being a writer (well, somewhat of one), a blogger and someone who is in a sort of a rut (motherhood, as joyful as it is, IS a rut), Julie & Julia awoke a longing I’ve had in myself that has been simmering, hopefully into something similar to a pot of really good stew.

I write this blog as a mother and as myself. The old Eli – quirky, adventurous, somewhat catty and funny to some – became a mother and a wife, and this blog hopefully reflected some essence of how the whole experience is from my point of view. I’ve come across several crossroads in my life, and this time I face it with a husband and a 14-pound baby. I may have new roles, as a wife and as a mother, but I am still me. And if the old me was defined by my career, my hobbies and everything else that made Me, then this New Me has yet to find out what she is all about.

For the next two years, my world will revolve around a little man named Sebastian. I don’t think it’s much, considering I’ve had 35 years just caring about myself. Along with caring for Basti I’ve also made it a point to watch out for my fellow mommies and mommies-t0-be. A helping hand, a kind word, a shopping tip – this blog that serves as my voice to the world outside Basti’s nursery aims to put the word out on breastfeeding and attachment parenting, give a tired new mommy a glimmer of hope, provide some learning to the expectant mother and a smile to anyone who cares to read what I have to say.

Ok so I lie. I still am quirky, adventurous, somewhat catty and funny to some. All that and being a mom does make for an interesting combination. I myself am curious to see what kind of child will spring from two artistic and temperamental human beings in a most unconventional household.

So Julia Child, even if my brother was the one who was blessed with culinary genius in the family, I will hold you in high esteem. I’m on a quest to grow and find new purpose!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Katrina Montemayor permalink
    July 19, 2010 9:12 pm

    Looking forward to reading about Eli 2.0!

  2. July 27, 2010 11:55 am

    Hi Eli, nice to read your blog and congratulations just saw you had your baby Basti.
    I also just gave birth 10 months ago and am glad to hear about your advocacy.
    Not that active in philmug anymore so happy to get a glimpse of you here. Good to hear
    you are enjoying motherhood. hope to bump into you soon as I am also in the vicinity of
    marcos hiway.

    • Eliza permalink
      July 27, 2010 10:18 pm

      Hey Ai! Thanks for dropping by my blog! How’s your baby? We’re both not so active on the Mug anymore, sad to say. Nakaka-miss our PhilMUG ladies group no? Maybe we should start a Mommy forum instead, hehe!

  3. July 27, 2010 5:53 pm

    Hi Eli!

    I’m so glad you’re blogging again, I loved reading your entries in LJ. I used to update a lot in LJ (orangeburst) but have not been so active for a long time.

    I am not sure you remember but several years ago, I approached you in Starbucks Metrowalk and introduced myself, I remember you were wearing your hair in pretty braids 🙂

    Congratulations on the baby, he is beautiful. Goodluck and hang in there. 🙂

    Jeje (orangeburst)

    • Eliza permalink
      July 27, 2010 10:17 pm

      Hey Jeje! Of course I remember you, how can I forget!!? Thanks for dropping by my blog! Nice to “see” some old faces around here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

