Skip to content

August Is World Breastfeeding Month

August 6, 2010

This is my official World Breastfeeding Month entry for 2010. I’m sure blog surfers out there have encountered mommy blogs that tout, “Breast is best!” or “It’s the most natural thing in the world!” and all sorts of Hallmark-card and Paolo Coelho-esque inspirational messages.

Well, this entry is not one of them.

I’m focusing on hard facts.

One of the most often comments I get when people learn I am purely breastfeeding is this: “You’re so LUCKY you have milk!”

Guess what people, I am NOT lucky. I am INFORMED.

I’ve gone through the rounds of mommy blogs, both local and international. Save for a few, most are still posting how they could not breastfeed for some reason or the other – and all the reasons are wrong. Nothing a simple breastfeeding class or a talk with a lactation consultant could’ve solved. Here are some situations that made me shake my head in sadness:

– A mom fed her baby formula because she pitied the baby because she had “no milk”. She didn’t even try to latch.

– A mom didn’t even try to breastfeed because her mom and all her sisters had “no milk” hence breastfeeding doesn’t run in the family.

– Another mom pumped and pumped the day after her delivery, found she couldn’t get any milk and therefore concluded she had “no milk”. She didn’t try to latch. She gave up on breastfeeding and her doctor let her without informing her otherwise.

I am convinced: education leads to lactation. Though many moms express the desire to breastfeed, a lack of knowledge on the how leads to early discouragement. I’m with organizations such as L.A.T.C.H. and La Leche League in their advocacy to promote and educate everyone about breastfeeding. It’s not just about you and your baby, it’s also spreading the word and making our society a safe and friendly place for breastfeeding mothers. I’m lucky I’ve never encountered people who ridiculed or confronted me while I was breastfeeding in public, but it happens.

So to all moms out there who want to breastfeed: Educate to Lactate! Shatter the breastfeeding myths! Make the informed choice and prepare to face the challenges and receive the rewards of breastfeeding your child. Lastly and importantly, SPREAD THE WORD.

To my mommy friends who supported me during my breastfeeding blues, thank you.

To Abbie Yabot and The Breastfeeding Club, I am grateful to you.

To Amelia Ann and the rest of L.A.T.C.H., I am with you!

And to all my fellow breastfeeding moms who go through everything and rejoice at that indubitable sensation of the perfect latch – I SALUTE YOU!

Happy World Breastfeeding Month!!!

P.S. Be there on Sunday for Eastwood Mall’s culminating event that celebrates breastfeeding! Brought to you by L.A.T.C.H. and Eastwood Mall!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 6:24 pm

    I totally agree with your post! You definitely need to be educated and informed. I was one of those who thought that I “didn’t have milk” because that was what I was told. My mom and lola did not breastfeed and neither did my mother-in-law. Hence, my biggest regret in life is that I breastfed my eldest for only a month and a half. I didn’t know any better then and every time someone asked me if I breastfed, I would reply, “I didn’t have enough milk.” But when I was pregnant with my 2nd child, I thought about that line and believed that God did not make that me like that. SO I armed myself with information from books and the internet and surrounded myself with breastfeeding supporters. I breastfed my 2nd child for 18 months and the 3rd one for 22 months. Now I am pregnant with my 4th and I look forward to breastfeeding again. 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      August 7, 2010 6:40 pm

      What a world of difference a bit of information makes! When Basti was nursing constantly, someone told me it was probably because I wasn’t producing enough milk and was told to give formula to the poor child already. I had a grand time educating that person. If I didn’t know any better, I think I may have heeded her advice!

  2. August 8, 2010 6:15 pm

    Hey fellow breastfeeing mom,
    I too agree with you. The power of the will is stronger than the body. It’s the knowledge and that would fuel the passion to breastfeed! God bless!

    Ichel

    • Eliza permalink
      August 8, 2010 7:10 pm

      Couldn’t have said it any better! Thanks for dropping by Ichel! 🙂

  3. dimple valle permalink
    August 9, 2010 8:44 pm

    totally agree with ur post. there is no such thing as no milk and no it’s not genetic. as a nurse i am totally into encouraging patients to breastfeed. the mother’s milk production is a positive response. meaning the more the infant suckles it encourages the release of hormone oxytocin. oxytocin is beneficial for both the mother and the baby. especially for postpartum women, oxytocin encourages continuous uterine contraction thus prevent uterine bleeding. beneficial for baby especially during latching and when baby is suckling since prolaction (responsible for milk production) and oxytocin is again released and signals the brain for let-down reflex (milk ejection) :). Kudos to breastfeeding mothers out there!

    • Eliza permalink
      August 10, 2010 12:07 am

      We need more nurses like you! I hear of moms who encounter nurses who actually even encourage them to feed formula and don’t encourage breastfeeding. Everything you said are plain facts that every mom should know – a simple workshop or breastfeeding class is all a mom needs, right?

      • dimple valle permalink
        August 10, 2010 9:00 am

        Some nurses don’t encourage breastfeeding? That’s a shame. One of our roles of to give health teachings to our patients. In government hospitals simple breastfeeding class is held for postpartum mothers. It’s actually nice of you to advocate this. Some may find it too painful eventually, however its a matter if the right way of positioning the baby and actually putting mommy’s breast and nipple on the infant. yes simple workshop or mother’s class would be a nice way to start it. Breastmilk contains colostrum, that supports baby’s immune system during the first 6 months of life. it lowers incidence of breast, uterine, and ovarian cancer for mommies. It’s economical and its always fresh.It has the right temperature and doesn’t cause stomach upset. Breastmilk intake has low incidence of allergy.It makes mommies lose their baby weight faster.it encourages close relationship/boding with the mother. Plus there is no such thing as lactose intolerance in breastmilk? (Heard of any? )

        I remembered this one lecture of my clinical instructor when I was a student regarding about smokers. Theoretically he said, the most smoking is the psychological effect of them not being breastfed as a child. Could be, but the is subject to further verification 🙂

  4. dimple valle permalink
    August 10, 2010 9:12 am

    Some nurses don’t encourage breastfeeding? That’s a shame. One of our roles of to give health teachings to our patients. In government hospitals simple breastfeeding class is held for postpartum mothers. It’s actually nice of you to advocate this. Some may find it too painful eventually, however its a matter if the right way of positioning the baby and actually putting mommy’s breast and nipple on the infant. yes simple workshop or mother’s class would be a nice way to start it. Breastmilk contains colostrum, that supports baby’s immune system during the first 6 months of life. it lowers incidence of breast, uterine, and ovarian cancer for mommies. It’s economical and its always fresh.It has the right temperature and doesn’t cause stomach upset. Breastmilk intake has low incidence of allergy.It makes mommies lose their baby weight faster.it encourages close relationship/boding with the mother. Plus there is no such thing as lactose intolerance in breastmilk? (Heard of any? )

    I remembered this one lecture of my clinical instructor when I was a student regarding about smokers. Theoretically he said, that most smoking is the psychological effect of them not being breastfed as a child. Could be, but the is subject to further verification

  5. September 28, 2010 9:43 pm

    Hi Painter’s wife. Via via I came across your blog. You have a great blog. I love how you promote breastfeeding. Where I am from, the Netherlands they really promote breastfeeding. Even for working mommies they make it easier. Here employers are obliged to provide breastfeeding mommies time and a space at work to pump milk. You’ll get the time for pumping that you need with a maximum of 1/4 of your working day. If you work near your house or daycare of your baby you can even drop by when it’s time for your baby to drink.

    I noticed that in the Philippines they make a lot of commercials for formula milk. There really should be more breastfeeding awareness in the Philippines.

    And you’re right most common reason for not giving breast milk is that mommies think they don’t have enough milk:s Being informed correctly and timely is exactly what new mommies need.

    Keep it up and enjoy motherhood…which you obviously do very much;)

    • Eliza permalink
      September 28, 2010 10:27 pm

      Hello! Thanks for dropping by my blog. It’s nice to have visitors from elsewhere!

      Yes, a lot of work needs to be done for breastfeeding awareness here, but I have to say the advocates are tireless and passionate. Because of the implementation of the Milk Code, I’m happy to report that advertisement for infant formula is gone. We’re all vigilant though because there are still reports of formula feeding in hospitals for newborns without encouraging breastfeeding. The Expanded Breastfeeding Act has also been passed, but we have yet to see it widely implemented in the workplace. The law provides tax breaks for companies that provide breastfeeding and pumping rooms for the female employees. A great step with a great future!

      Again, thank you. Hope to hear more from you in the coming posts!

  6. October 3, 2010 5:19 am

    Next to breastmilk having lots of positive influence on mother and child it would also be a big help for those parents who have a hard time providing for their families. Super tipid kaya! If indeed there would only be more awareness and encouragement, but I’m happy to hear about the improvements so far:)

    I’ll continue to read your posts. I love to read how you just do your thing. What you feel what is right and not be so influenced by the way it should be according to people or larger, society!

    • Eliza permalink
      October 3, 2010 9:24 pm

      Kaya nga, shame on the formula-producing companies and their aggressive campaign for formula. Have you seen the documentary “Formula for Disaster”? So sad.

      Thank you so much for your kind words. 🙂 I look forward to getting to know you better, if only through the net lang! 🙂

  7. January 21, 2011 9:21 pm

    hi, i’m a breastfeeding mum in Malaysia. ur blog is very good! keep it up!

    • Eliza permalink
      January 22, 2011 1:49 am

      So nice to hear from you! Thanks for visiting! 🙂

  8. Amanda permalink
    October 14, 2011 8:31 am

    thank you so much for this. i’m 18 weeks pregnant with my first child and want to breastfeed more than anything because i know how important it is. now i’ll be armed with a little more information if a doctor tells me i can’t or i’m not enough.

    • Eliza permalink
      October 15, 2011 2:46 am

      I’m glad you found this post useful. If you have any more questions, please please don’t hesitate to send me a note using my contact form. I’m more than happy answer them or point you towards the right people! I’m so happy you’ve decided to breastfeed! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Breastfeeding is Kosher | With Women in Mind...

Leave a Reply

