Skip to content

Helper Horrors #45637

August 20, 2010

In a society where having helpers in the house is a common thing, I’m sure everyone has had their share of horror stories with their “kasambahays”. I’ve had more good experiences than bad experiences actually. There are even some that are a mix of both such as the yaya who was really an actress in the making. Read all about her in my Multiply blog.

This latest one makes me sad.

We had this helper who was in and out of our household since I was 12. She’s only 3 years older than me. Countless times she would go on her day off and never come back, always leaving her things behind. Then she would come knocking again, begging for her job. Sometimes she would even borrow against her salary, go on a day off, and never come back. For some reason, we just kept taking her back in until she just disappeared altogether.

Aside from this, her mother was also our laundry lady. Because of the amount of clothes being washed, it was hard to keep track of things. We only found out after they both disappeared altogether that several pieces of clothing and shoes had gone missing. They’ve been stealing from our wardrobes little by little.

Fast forward to 2010. This helper comes back, saying she’s changed and she wants another chance. My dad, being the nice guy he is, takes her back in as the yaya of my nephews. Same old story, after only 2 weeks on the job, she borrows against her salary then disappears and didn’t come back. She wouldn’t answer texts or calls.

Jump to a day last week when The Painter comes home and tells me that my brother asked him for money. “Eh?”, I said. “Joel asked you for money?” I was perplexed. Asking for money was totally out of character for any of my siblings. The Painter even said my brother specifically asked that he didn’t tell me or our parents because he was in a real bind. My brother asked that the money be sent through LBC.

I asked The Painter to show me the texts, which read like this:

“HeLLow poh kuya, si joel 2 po, kapatid ni ate cHelit. gus2 k poh sna humiram ng pera ksi kapus aq sa gastus sa bnda. wag na wag poh nyu sbihin kay mommy at daddy, lalung lalu na po sa ate koh.”

My first thought was… MY BROTHER IS NOT A JEJEMON! And I told The Painter.. “Ano ka ba, text pa lang, talo na. Ganun nga si Joel pero taga-La Salle naman yan no!”

So that being clarified, The Painter continued to text with the scallawag person as if he was really going to send him money. We noted down the number he was using. Needless to say, hubby did not send him any money and the texts just stopped coming.

The next day, the same number texts my present helper, Rose!! (Hellooooo… criminal FAIL) “day rose, kmusta k na?” Rose calls the number.. and it was that same helper who left with a debt!!!!

I’m furious. She involved my husband and actually thought she could bamboozle us out of money. My dad knows where she lives and is thinking if we should have her arrested. Bro and I are thinking of catching her using her greed. What do you guys think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 11:07 am

    hay grabe talaga!! i think you were previously too nice πŸ˜€ my instincts say hulihiin nyo like XXX!!! but then again, i don’t have a history with her so might not be sentimental

    • Eliza permalink
      August 20, 2010 2:01 pm

      Believe me I’m not sentimental towards her either. She stole my Bruno Magli shoes and my brother’s friend’s iPod. Everytime she would be back, I’d be like.. why the heck is she here again???

  2. August 20, 2010 3:32 pm

    Eli I just want to say na till now tumatawa ako sa: MY BROTHER IS NOT A JEJEMON! hahaha winner ka

    Okay, kidding aside, I think you should press charges. She still has not learned her lesson and obviously thinks your family is open for abuse. People like her should be reported to the police so they can no longer harm other unsuspecting employers. Also, be extra careful with the household help. It’s hard to just completely trust people now. These are people we share our homes with so it helps if we are also watchful.

    Lastly, thank God you have a husband who is completely honest and open with you, even if he is told by your “brother” to keep quiet. πŸ™‚ Lucky you. πŸ™‚

    • Eliza permalink
      August 20, 2010 9:56 pm

      Jejejejeje. Speaking of, alaskado ka ba sa name mo? Jejejejeje.

      Yes I believe I should do somekindava legal something-something. Or kahit panakot lang. Kasi if I don’t do anything she’ll try and kalat lagim elsewhere and victimize someone else. I have to ask if it’s possible to have a police blotter made nga eh.

      • August 21, 2010 2:26 pm

        Super alaskado! πŸ™‚ Grabe! Jejejejeje buti na nga the fad is slowly dying na. πŸ˜›

        Yup you should really report it to the police na. Take care and gigil kisses to Basti πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

