Skip to content

It’s A Ring Sling Thing

September 3, 2010

So yes, I’m a SaYa fan. I’ve been using it since Basti was 2 months old and we both love it. But. Babies grow up. And in my case, growing up REALLY FAST. (We’re at 7.4 kilos as of last checkup 2 weeks ago) I’ve been noticing that Basti has been squirming uncomfortably in the confines of a kangaroo carry in a SaYa, especially now that he’s taken to wearing shoes. I tried doing a front carry, both facing out and facing in and he didn’t like it either.

So, unwillingly, I’m taking a rest from the SaYa until he gets a little bigger to be side-carried. I dug out my RJellybean ring sling from storage and decided to give it another shot.

It works. The adjustable feature of the ring sling allows me to give Basti a little more room. And also, the ring sling allows me to accommodate Basti’s preference to nap while being carried.

I decided to try out a Next9 sling, a brand also marketed by the same people behind RJellybean. I got this design from their Multiply store. (P.S. Thanks to Jen of Next9 for being so wonderfully accommodating)

Photo courtesy of Next9

So I took the Next9 sling for a road test when I went grocery shopping at SM Hypermart on C5 yesterday. Basti loved it! (Note to self: Try out and review SM Supercenter’s Breastfeeding Room) I guess my learning curve finally caught up with me and I was able to handle the ring sling this time. Successfully breastfed while doing checkout without the use of a nursing cover or bib as well!

So I couldn’t help but compare the two brands. Based on my experience with both slings, here are my thoughts on several points:

  • Material: The Next9 is built from a thicker cotton fabric than the RJellybean, making it easier to handle and less prone to twisting and tangling. The advantage of the RJellybean’s lighter fabric, though, is you can wear your baby in it even on warmer days.
  • Ring: The Next9 has an aluminum ring, while the RJellybean has a thick nylon ring. Both are sturdy enough; strength is not the issue at all. I just found that the fabric slips less on the metal ring than on the nylon ring. I don’t know if it’s the material though – I’m wondering if the heavier material on a nylon ring would work as well.
  • Design: The Next9 is a plain length of cloth with an applique on the tail while the RJellybean has a print overall. The Next9 goes better with my wardrobe. Pero, maarte lang kasi ako, heehee.

Overall, I get along better with the Next9 than the RJellybean. One thing that the RJellybean has over the Next9 sling though, is price. It’s more affordable by a few hundred pesos and that itself could be the dealbreaker for some. And, the Next9 and RJellybean slings are great LOCAL products at affordable prices. Imported slings are more expensive and the fabric they use is usually for cooler weather.

You can order Next9 and RJellybean slings from their website or from several Multiply resellers. I saw some RJellybeans at Baby Co. in SM as well.

Note: These are unbiased opinions. The RJellybean was a gift and I paid for my Next9. Just saying.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 4:37 pm

    Wow! you have a disclaimer na 😛 The Ring sling really takes patience and time to learn but one big plus over the other carriers is that it is adjustable – dad and mom can share 😀 plus, the extra cloth can be used as nursing cover

  2. Eliza permalink
    September 3, 2010 4:44 pm

    I do so many reviews baka people think I’m a Bayaran. Haha! Just a shop-a-holic who likes to share, folks!!

    And true that to the “shareabilty” of a ring sling. Though I have yet to convince Painter to try it!

  3. September 5, 2010 1:46 pm

    lol! you made your mom wear the orange sling! i can tell na. hahahaha!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 6, 2010 9:23 am

      Hay she refuses to wear it pa rin! She says baka sabihin daw ng people, feeling young siya!!

  4. September 13, 2010 3:30 am

    I LOVE THE RING SLING TOO! 🙂 Though I use a Mayawrap, which was a gift to me by our friends 🙂 Ain’t babywearing the greatest? 🙂 Aside from breastfeeding of course. 🙂 LOVE LOVE LOVE this post! 🙂 Sayang we weren’t able to meet in person at Moms On The Floor! 🙂 We MUST meet up somehow somewhere else! 🙂

  5. jenny permalink
    December 12, 2010 2:16 am

    hi eli! i am frustrated using my rjellybean sling. i really cant use it with my makulit and superlikot 11-month old baby. im frustrated. i saw your blog about the saya. and i know i cant buy one since my mom and i agreed that i cant buy such stuffs anymore kasi nga hindi ko naman ginagamit ung sling. can you please please give me advice on how to use the sling. i would also be willing to save my allowance for the saya but i am not sure if it would be necessary. please please help!=) thank you very much!!

    • Eliza permalink
      December 12, 2010 8:48 am

      Hi Jenny! I shall teach you!! What’s your main problem? Email me! eliza dot painterswife at gmail dot com.

  6. March 22, 2011 12:00 am

    First time ko to nabasa Eliza.. super funny.. ako din my rjellybean. at maya sling. parang pareho tayo ng paths ng babywearing. hahahah!! ako kalokohan, nagorder ng zolowear mesh sling para lang masubukan.. so much to sell second hand when the baby’s grown! wahahah!!

    p.s. and i’m at hypermart like 3x a week.. LOVE the breastfeeding room. Never ko naabutang may tao hehehe… i think the sales ladies in the baby section know me by name already. sheesh. to quote: “ay ma’am, nanganak ka na? parang last week lang buntis ka pa.” that’s a sign that you frequent a supermarket.

    -Cat

    • Eliza permalink
      March 22, 2011 12:10 pm

      Hey do you go to Hypermart in Pasig? We should meet up. 🙂 How’s the mesh sling? I’m curious about that one.

  7. doll retes permalink
    November 2, 2011 7:43 pm

    hi elisa its my first time here….i had the next9 baby sling but wasnt able to use it yet….i had it for 3mos now but still cant figure it out…im really having a hard time putting my baby and fixing the sling on to my body….so im thinking now if i should get the saya but i know hubby wont allow bec i havent tried the next9…..im so frustrated please help!thanks.

    • Eliza permalink
      November 4, 2011 11:32 am

      Hi Doll! I’ll email you ok?

  8. nancy permalink
    January 19, 2012 2:11 pm

    hi. Im also new here pero i read most of your blog entries na (fan alert) especially re your babywearing posts. I’m also a new mom and can’t wait to buy a carrier for my 1 month old boy. Hindi ko alam dapat kong bilhin, the Saya or the ring sling muna? He’s not so heavy pa naman pero i’m breastfeeding and sabi nila mas discreet mag-bf with the ring sling. Need an expert’s advice. Hehe. Thanks in advance!

    • Eliza permalink
      January 21, 2012 4:01 pm

      Wow thanks! 🙂

      If you want to nurse while wearing, the ringsling would be better. I wasn’t comfortable nursing with the SaYa, but it was really great for carrying till around 10 months old. It takes a lot of practice to nurse while wearing, especially with a small baby, so just keep at it!

  9. odette permalink
    September 18, 2012 3:50 pm

    hi Eliza i also have 2 next9 sling carrier and a maya sling with my 1st son but gave it away coz it didn’t work with me.. now with my 2nd son (1month old) bought another next9 to try it again but still struggling with it 😦 i hope u could teach me also.. planning to buy Saya coz it looks like madaling gamitin.. i also frequent sm hypermart c5 coz im just from Rosario..hope we could meet up 1 time 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      September 18, 2012 6:37 pm

      Sure! 🙂 Send me an email using my contact form and we can meet up.

  10. dee permalink
    January 18, 2014 10:13 am

    Wow eliza, i think you’re also part of breastfeeding pinay. Thanks for this post. I find it really helpful. I think I’ve met you before. You seem really familiar. Prolly in one of the get togethers. =)

  11. March 22, 2014 10:53 pm

    Hi Eliza, your posts about babywearingand breastfeeding are very helpful. I’m not a first time mom, but i jist gave birth to my 2nd child and i’m only beginning to explore on babywearing. I was not aware of its benefits when i gave birth 5yrs ago. I just bought a ring sling and still learning how to use it. I wanted to get a SaYa but since i wanted one that both me and hubby can use, i opted to buy the ring sling first. Now my problem is, i’m on the short side – 4’11” in height. There’s so much excess fabric and i want to know if you have tips for me on how to wear it w/o the fabric dangling around? Thanks in advance!

    • Eliza permalink
      March 31, 2014 11:43 am

      Hi Jennyvee! You can either wrap the extra fabric around the ring, like some moms do, but you can also have the tail cut. Jen of Next9 can do it for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

