Skip to content

Pump Perplexed No More: Spectra Dew 300

September 5, 2010

I posted a while back that I was undecided on which breastpump to get. Initially, I had wanted to order a Medela Freestyle, but then thought that a double-electric hands-free pump that’s quite expensive is simply, OA (for a stay-at-home mom, at least. I would definitely recommend the Freestyle for working moms).

I was contemplating the Medela Swing:

But then, a contest on the Babymama Facebook page turned my attention to the Spectra line of breastpumps. I entered a contest to win a free one, but didn’t rally enough votes so I conceded early, and booked a trial with Babymama’s Mi’ann Reyes-Oblea.

Before anything else, I have to say that the main come-on of the Spectra line to me was the price. If any of you have been reading between the lines of my shopping posts, you would notice that I am hopelessly thrifty. Any great product with an affordable price is good news to me. Medela is a GREAT brand, but the P6,000 price tag, double-electric Spectra Dew 300 seemed like a good deal.

Photo courtesy of Babymama

So off I went to Mi’ann’s place to try out the pumps right after attending the La Leche League breastfeeding support group at the Podium. (There’s one more on Sept. 18, 11am at Baby & Co. Podium. Please go if you are planning to breastfeed, or already breastfeeding) Out of the three pumps that Babymama offers, the Spectra Dew 3oo was a fit for me because:

1. As a stay-at-home mom, a desktop pump was fine for me.

2. Because I only planned to pump occasionally, there was no need for anything like a hospital-grade pump.

3. My milk started to flow immediately after I tried it, and I was able to pump out 3oz, just at the trial!

Right then and there, I went ahead and bought the pump. I got Spectra breastmilk storage bags and icepacks for free as well!

That was almost two weeks ago and here is my assessment so far:

1. The pump is quiet as advertised. My baby is a really light sleeper and he doesn’t even stir when I pump while he sleeps.

2. The parts are really easy to clean.

3. The output is great and I only felt a little discomfort when I started pumping. After that, it was a breeze.

I sometimes have a problem with the suction level. I notice it varies with every use. I don’t know if it’s the pump, the membrane, the hose… HEY, do I look like a breastpump technician to you? Must text Mi’ann.

Other than that I’m quite happy that I bought a pump for less than half the price of the Freestyle, a double electric at that!

Now if only Basti would finally take the bottle. That’s a whole different blog entry!!!

P.S. Because Basti still hasn’t taken the bottle, all my pumped milk has been going to a beautiful little girl named Gia. Her mom sent this to Basti as thanks!

Though Basti is more than happy to share his milk with his future BGF – Best Girl Friend. (Baka patayin ako ni Daddy AJ if I say Girlfriend, hee hee!) Thank you Tita Audrey! Love, Basti.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 10:20 am

    Thanks so much for your review, Eliza! Suction shouldn’t be variable though – will gladly replace with a new pump next week. : )

    • Eliza permalink
      September 6, 2010 11:36 am

      Oh that’s good to know! Thanks so very much Mi’Ann!

  2. clarissa herrera permalink
    September 6, 2010 5:18 pm

    I also love the spectra dew 300! I already have the Medela Freestyle but when I went to tried the Spectra Dew, I simply can’t resist it! After 3 weeks of contemplating whether to buy it or not, i finally bought one and was happy with my new “toy”. Now, I use it at home and the freestyle in the office. Thanks Mi’ann for introducing the Spectra Dew! πŸ™‚

    • Eliza permalink
      September 6, 2010 5:30 pm

      I know they say that to successfully breastfeed, all your baby needs is you.. but isn’t it so much better with all these toys? Haha! Congrats mommy Clarissa for keeping at it!!

  3. September 6, 2010 8:14 pm

    this (spectra) will be my birthday gift to myself. given that my birthday is in december pa, it will also be my motivation to keep breastfeeding my baby for the first 6 months. (she’ll by 6months by then too!)

    • Eliza permalink
      September 6, 2010 9:49 pm

      Good gift!! I hope you go beyond 6 months!! I’m rooting for you!!

      • chex permalink
        October 9, 2010 12:51 am

        thanks! my baby is 100 days old… well, sabi nila c0z i base it from the news lang coz my daughter was born june 30. hehe. .. im breastfeeding for 3 months and counting.

        btw, it seems we have common friends… how did you know kuya aj dimarucut?

      • Eliza permalink
        October 9, 2010 8:25 am

        I can’t believe you call him “kuya”! I feel old!! AJ and Audrey were classmates in birthing class. πŸ™‚

  4. September 13, 2010 2:33 am

    That’s great Eliza! πŸ™‚ Now I’m even more excited to try out my Spectra 300! πŸ™‚ (I blogged about how I got it here: http://www.trulyrichmom.com/2010/08/make-major-major-change-in-world-thank.html). πŸ™‚ Happy breastfeeding! πŸ™‚ And you know what, all MOMS rock with their own sexiness! πŸ™‚ Praying for you! God bless!

  5. cheska permalink
    November 11, 2010 12:11 am

    i didnt buy this one, i bought the unimom instead. fits me more kasi, mas compact yung unimom. super happy with it too. been breastfeeding chomi four months and counting. πŸ™‚

    wow… small world talaga. πŸ™‚ kuya aj’s dad and my dad used to be in the same community kaya ko sila kilala. πŸ™‚

  6. melinda permalink
    September 17, 2011 5:36 pm

    Love the spectra dew 300, just wondered if it has a battery compartment as a power backup

    • Eliza permalink
      September 17, 2011 8:42 pm

      I’m afraid it doesn’t!

  7. November 24, 2012 11:31 am

    Great review! I initially got the Medela Harmony but I’m planning to get the Medela Swing/Pump in Style. After reading this, I’m considering buying the Spectra Dew 300. Where can I get this? Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. The Breastpump Saga Continues | The Painter's Wife

Leave a Reply

