Skip to content

The Voice of Vanity: A Mommy’s Beauty Blues

September 8, 2010
tags:

I am vain.

No, I’m not.

I am VERY, VERY vain. This doesn’t come from any particular pride about my looks. I just like being presentable, even if I’m not fashionable. (It’s been a long road of jeans, flipflops and t-shirts for me, mostly from Threadless)

So, you can just imagine how the toll of pregnancy on my body affected me. It’s a downward spiral and if you don’t fight against it, it will take you to The-Mom-Who-Never-Recovered Land. Hel-looooooo sweatpants.

When I just gave birth, all my senses were smothered. I didn’t like the way I looked, smelled or sounded. I swear if anyone bit me they would say I even tasted bad. Those were the days when sleep deprivation was at its peak, hormones were raging, tear ducts were overproductive and you didn’t even have time for a proper bath.

Things are better now, I give you that. But let me give you a rundown of what I used to do to myself regularly:

  • A monthly facial
  • A monthly head-to-toe waxing of what needs to be waxed
  • Eyebrow tattoo touchups every 2 months
  • Regular mani-pedi and footspa
  • A weekly massage
  • Go to the gym 4-5 times a week
  • Run 5k twice a week (everyday when I was in China)

I used to wear 4-inch heels for going out, and my makeup kit could rival a professional’s. I even thought of taking classes to be a professional makeup artist.

When I just gave birth, all I did to go out was put on a ponytail and a clean shirt. At least now, I make an effort to put on the Laura Mercier, a dusting of Bare Escentuals and even a little Nars on the cheeks. I’m getting there, one step at a time.

But as for the rest of me… WOE!!! The thing that bothers me most is my post-partum tummy. Will it ever go away? Mommies who’ve been there? Insights? I was out one day and someone asked me.. “How far along are you?” I point to Basti being carried by Lolo Jun and I say, “3 months”. Yes, go ahead and eat your shoe.

Things are better these days, I’ve got to say. I’m back to pre-pregnancy weight (but still need to lose because I wasn’t thin to begin with) thanks to breastfeeding. My skin is clear again, a sign of exiting hormones. Good for the skin, bad for the hair. At 4 months, post-pregnancy hair loss has me finding clumps of my hair on my pillow, in the shower drain and in my hand when I take out my hair clip. It’s alarming to say the least, and it’s supposed to normalize in 12 months. Zoiks.

It took me two years to grow out my hair from cutting it this short:

Because me wants to look like this again:

Photography by Dominique James

BONGGA diba??? Please tell me it’s possible, LORD!!!!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 1:39 pm

    how about disciplining oneself to run & go to the gym, then the reward is a salon/spa day? good luck with the hair growth.

    • Eliza permalink
      September 8, 2010 2:10 pm

      Oh my friend. If only I could describe what it’s like to have a 4-month old, teething, purely breastfed baby (no bottles) and no yaya. Salon day? I can’t even leave the baby for 20 mins. He goes everywhere with me! Salon/spa/gym will have to wait until he’s older.

  2. September 9, 2010 4:54 am

    very possible. tapos, buntis ulit. BELIEVE me. hahahhahahahahahaa!

    • September 9, 2010 10:40 am

      So true!!!

      • Eliza permalink
        September 9, 2010 10:45 am

        We took it for granted when we were single/had no kids yet. Now, I even sometimes forget to cut my nails! High five on the “so true”!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 9, 2010 10:42 am

      Lord help me talaga!!

  3. Kim Oxenbridge permalink
    September 9, 2010 3:04 pm

    Yes, know how you feel. I remember the first time I saw my body after my c-section. I cried (and I rarely cried). Even today I catch myself in the mirror sometimes, and all I can look is my rounded belly in dismay. (I used to do 300 sit ups a week and had abs of steel.) On the plus side, breastfeeding is really good for getting trim again so I think slowly but surely we will regain our bodies back – but sooner or later that gym membership is going to have to be dusted off and re-used.

    By the way – you look very good with short hair!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 9, 2010 9:54 pm

      Maybe as our babies grow up, the playgroup mommies can organize days for mommy too, haha! And thanks for the compliment on the short hair. I’m about to chop it off!!

  4. September 9, 2010 7:17 pm

    hay naku, it takes me a month before I get a mani/pedi, as in feeling ko umaangal na ang mga manicurista haha! as for the hair it will grow back naman but after so many tutsang. I have given birth to my 3rd baby almost a yr ago and still battling with the tummy bulge. but the rest of my body is thin its just that tummy hay I look like a tadpole.

    whenever I see our previous photoshoot from dominique the song “those were the days my friend” keeps humming in my head.
    Parang I was not a big help here haha, but what I am saying is that you are not alone.

  5. September 10, 2010 12:40 pm

    Oh yes indeed you are vain! I remember you were the first person to ever touch my eyebrows! Parang di mo na kinaya…hahaha! Back in college, I loved LOVED your short hair!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 10, 2010 12:48 pm

      Hahaha, so true! And everyone knew who to go for a pair of emergency tweezers!

  6. January 30, 2013 12:26 pm

    Oh my. I can totally relate to this entry. I am at the point where I have told my family to never disturb my bath times unless it’s a life or death situation. It is the only time I have for myself and I relish the 30-60 minutes break. The next most relaxing thing I can do now is the laundry which has gone from one day a week for a week’s load to three days a week for a weeks’ load. Hahaha!

  7. Tues permalink
    May 1, 2013 1:31 am

    Bongga talaga! I used to think it was a sin, but vanity actually can save your sanity sometimes 🙂 Stress buster, mood lifter plus you’ll get hubby’s attention pa. In moderation, it works out for everybody too! I read somewhere that children will feel more empowered when they see mom looking good because it just shows that mom is happy (not harassed) with taking care of everybody in the family.

    • Eliza permalink
      May 1, 2013 2:00 am

      Diba nga they say – happy mommy = happy family. 😀

Leave a Reply

