Skip to content

Motherhood: Information vs. Instinct

September 26, 2010
tags:

So let me tell you a little bit of what I used to do.

I was a Gymboree teacher. Not just any Gymboree teacher, I was a KICK-ASS Gymboree teacher. I worked in Gymborees Rockwell, Shangri-la and Polo Club, teaching children and training all Gymboree Philippines teacher wanna-bees. I moved to China in ’06 to work in Gymboree Dalian where my classes were full, had waiting lists, parents crying when I left and my boss offering me double my salary just to stay.

I say this without modesty to give you an idea of the multitude of early childhood information and tools I’ve got in my pocket. I spent 7 years working with children from 0 to 4 so you would think that I’d have some sort of sophisticated system for Basti’s everyday activities, yes?

What I know: 16 lullabyes in 16 different musical styles that range from Cajun to Surf to Rock N’ Roll to African.

What I sing on instinct:

  • The closing credits song from Voltes V
  • Eternal Flame
  • Stay Awake from Mary Poppins (because I watched it on Betamax everyday)
  • Tuppence from Mary Poppins (see previous note)
  • Defying Gravity from Wicked

What I know: A multitude of body awareness rhymes and songs for children 0 to 6 months

What I do: “A-koochee-koochee kooo!!!”

What I know: Lap ride songs

What I do: “Yah, tigidig, tigidig, tigidig!”

What I know: 16 different peekaboo songs

What I do: “BULAGAAAA!”

When I have some time to breathe and think, the Gymboree knowledge does emerge and we have our own little Level 1 class on our playmat. But my experience has really got me thinking. When push comes to shove, my childhood and personality emerges, not my Gymboree brain. Motherhood, as much as it is an instinct, is something that we have to learn, and think about. Case in point: breastfeeding! It may seem like the most natural thing in the world, but it is something both you and baby need to learn together.

I’m trying to become more aware of what my baby needs from me right now, and I have to balance it with what I need as well. Happy mommies = happy babies, yes?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 11:23 am

    HAHAHA! It definitely comes from the heart and not anywhere else.

    P.S. Eternal Flame rocks!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 26, 2010 11:49 am

      Eternal Flame is one song you have to sing with feelings.

  2. Jeje permalink
    September 26, 2010 12:12 pm

    tawang tawa ako dun sa yah tigidig tigidig 🙂

  3. Mel permalink
    September 26, 2010 1:13 pm

    Yes! Eternal Flame! 😀 I’m glad I’m not the only one. Hahahah!!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 26, 2010 6:10 pm

      Hahaha! High five!!

  4. Topaz Mommy permalink
    September 27, 2010 2:53 pm

    What a funny post! Same here. Preschool teacher din ako dati but I sing songs of heartbreak from the 60s to Vito! And yes, though a lot of motherhood is instinct and intuition, a lot of it is also learning and adapting every single day!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 27, 2010 2:55 pm

      Basti just fell asleep to “Fallin'”. Hehehehe! Lullabyes: Karaoke Version.

  5. Magnolia permalink
    September 27, 2010 11:13 pm

    How cool was that to be a GYMBO teacher!!! Can you please tell me the complete lyrics of this song. I am singing this to my toddler everytime we see a box of toys. Hehe:

    “Come on over, let’s gather here. There’s something…. I wonder what is hiding there, something fun for me. ” Hehe.

    I am enrolling my 22month old baby to gymboree for the past 3months and I can say she is now more sociable and more happy than before! But Gymboree is so expensive, I have to find another school!

    You are one hell of a woman, a mother and a wife!! ROCK ON!!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 30, 2010 9:27 pm

      Hi there!! I have a confession. I don’t use that song for toy gathering!! I use the “Oh what’s in my big blue bag/small brown box/cute pink bowl”.. fill in with anything I was using that day! Yes, Gymboree can be expensive, no? But I will spring for a few classes because Basti can’t have Gymboree classes by himself at home all the time!!! Thanks again for dropping by my blog. I’ve got something cooking that I will launch next week, watch out for it! 🙂

  6. September 29, 2010 11:58 am

    OMG, I couldn’t stop laughing when I was reading this! Eternal Flame ROCKS!!! Hahaha.

    • Eliza permalink
      September 30, 2010 10:03 am

      Confess!! What else do you sing? 🙂

  7. June 1, 2011 9:02 pm

    hello.i just want to ask if how much is the salary in gymboree.do they pay high for teachers?thank you

  8. June 1, 2011 9:07 pm

    hi teacher!hope to hear from you.im planning to apply at gymboree phil.but i wanna know if teachers there are well compensated.can you tell me how much do they pay you before?thank you very much.this means a lot to me.God Bless you and your baby:)

    • Eliza permalink
      June 2, 2011 2:00 am

      Hi! I don’t actually know how much the salaries are for the new teachers. I teach as a consultant. 🙂 Best to get in touch with the branch you are applying for yourself.

  9. James permalink
    May 17, 2012 8:55 pm

    I’m an Occupational Therapist by profession, I deal with kids with special needs. But one of my dream jobs is to become a pre-school teacher!

Leave a Reply

