Skip to content

Do I Look Nuts To You?

October 21, 2010

My friend Pia asked me this question: don’t you go crazy being a stay-at-home mom? The reason being, she wants to be one, someday. I told her to go for it, more so because her two kids are “grown” (can walk, can talk).

It’s not the first time I’ve been asked this question. Some people don’t even ask me anymore, they just ASSUME I’m cuckoo for being a stay-at-home mom. I suspect this is corollary to what my life used to be like, because the assumption comes a lot from people who know me in real life. Some people can’t even believe I’m a stay-at-home mom and not a work-at-home mom.

Most of the people who think I’m nuts assume such is because they can’t believe I can stay home and do “nothing” all day. All the moms out there can also tell that the people who make such assumptions are single and don’t have kids. Single ladies, when you have a baby, there is no such thing as doing “nothing” anymore. Sometimes you feel like you even have to schedule breathing into your day. Let it be known that I am a busy, busy woman, for someone who does “nothing”. My day starts at 6:30am, when Basti wakes, and ends at 1-2am. At night is the only time I really ever have to myself and to work.

Sure, I have to admit I sometimes get into a rut. I forget what day of the week it is because I do almost the same thing everyday. I go to the grocery and am tempted to buy just canned goods because Menu is a B-A-D word. When Basti wakes me up at 6:30am I sometimes plead for him to go back to sleep. There are times that I really do feel I have 5 minutes left before I go completely insane, and I have to give myself a shake, do a jig around the room, and everything goes back to A-Ok.

When I come to the end of my rope, I climb back again with thoughts of how fun it’s going to be very soon. Basti is starting solids next week, and with his growing appetite will come the necessity to come up with new menu items, something I’m excited to do. When Basti crawls there will be more places more us to explore, more so when he starts walking. When he starts to talk there will be questions, and stories, and books and loads of things to learn and talk about. I’m excited to play dress-up, pretend play and get all messy playing with mud, clay and shaving cream. I’m so excited to buy him his little easel and watch him copy his father as he works. I’m excited to introduce him to everything I used to do: scuba diving, horses, theater, climbing, and watch and see where his interests will lead him. I’m excited to buy him a bike. I’m excited to start school at home.

But for today, I will hug and kiss Basti, and squeeze him tight, because he’s growing up way too fast!!!

P.S. One and a half week to go before the end of the blog giveaway. Have you all your entries yet???

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Yanna permalink
    October 22, 2010 6:33 pm

    Being a SAHM entitles us to be inherently crazy! We have got to have the hardest, most fulfilling job in the world. No salary, no benefits, no days off… But just smiles from these little bundles of joy that we have and we turn into a happy, content mush. Now, that’s love! πŸ˜‰

    PS: I also hate it when single, working ladies incredulously assume that I do “nothing.” Lady, I have worked in an office, in the field (events, bleh), and in a preschool, but I have never been THIS tired. How’s that for nothing.

    You go, fellow SAHM!

    (We do tend to go stir-crazy though… SAHMs need days off too. We should go crazy with coffee and shopping sometime!)

    • Eliza permalink
      October 23, 2010 12:15 am

      Haha, high-five there Yanna! Oh believe me, the shopping I do is part of the whole plan not to go bonkers! Retails therapy FTW.

  2. October 23, 2010 8:37 am

    You are totally spot on with people who think that SAHMs do “nothing” and “have it easy”. These people should be locked in a room with tired toddler and a colicky baby — let’s see how they fare.

    I used to work for a multinational where I had 12 to 14 hour work days and believe me — that was nothing compared to being a full-time mom to my 5 year old and my 4-month old. I’m up by 5 and I sleep at 12 or 1. How’s that for a full work day?!?

    And yes, Menu is a BAD word.

    Big fan of your blog. Was your batch mate in school but not sure if your remember me. I recently texted Carina (G) that you are my idol because your say a video helped me figure out how to use the damn thing in 5 minutes!

    All mommies (especialls SAHMs) should stick together and change the way people perceive what we do! It is the hardest job in the world.

    • Eliza permalink
      October 23, 2010 11:23 am

      Hi Tanya! I big round of applause to you!! A toddler and a baby – let’s see them try it, right? As tired as we are (and underpaid at that, haha) we have the best jobs in the world.

      And Carina actually forwarded your message to me and I got so kilig, haha! Glad I helped!! Thank you so much for reading my blog. *humbled* I hope to meet you sometime, fellow SAHM!

  3. October 24, 2010 1:47 pm

    I married early and became a SAHM at 24. When I was single I worked at a nice, large office too–working for 12 hours sometimes, even on weekends and holidays. My boss pays me quite well but I’m not going back to that life again. Yes I’ve never been this tired, but it’s the only job I find fulfilling.

  4. Mia Montalvan-Castrillo permalink
    October 30, 2010 12:28 am

    Someone once told me (when I decided to quit my job to be a SAHM to my first born) that I should have continued working and use my salary to pay for a good yaya. Huh? That didn’t make sense to me. Why should I pay someone to comfort my baby when she needed ME? For awhile, my greatest fear was that my baby would look for the yaya instead of me. Hehehe! Now, with 2 gradeschoolers, 1 toddler and a month old baby, I only have ONE really reliable yaya to help me. I’m still as hands on as ever and I don’t regret it. Sure, there are times when I need a break and feel insane for trying to do everything. But when I hear my 9 year old tell me about her stories of the day, or my 7 year old laugh at a joke she heard, or my 3 year old tell me that she loves me or my 1 month old look at me as if I’m the only person in the world, then I know that it is all worth the insanity. πŸ™‚

  5. October 31, 2010 12:49 pm

    “when you have a baby, there is no such thing as doing β€œnothing” anymore. Sometimes you feel like you even have to schedule breathing into your day.” — haha, hehe you said it! i’m not a SAHM yet (10 weeks to go!), but i’m excited to be one soon! no one needs to convince me otherwise…it’s just something i knew like KNEW, even before i was married, i had to do when the time came =)

    i even blogged this newspaper clipping i read that was circulating on Facebook (“Why don’t friends with kids have time?) so funny and so true!

    kudos to all sahms/wahms! =)

  6. November 1, 2010 3:05 pm

    I am a SAHM mom to two grade schoolers and a pre-schooler. When I was reading this post, it seems like I could be the one writing it, as well. My thoughts exactly.

    In my experience being a full-time mom gets easier as the kids grow older. It could either be the kids get less needy – or the mom got all the practice she needs. πŸ™‚

    • Eliza permalink
      November 1, 2010 5:36 pm

      Part of the reason why I keep at it is knowing my woes aren’t unique! Thanks for sharing your thoughts fellow SAHM!

  7. November 4, 2010 11:40 pm

    it has been my dream when i was single to be a full time SAHM and when I had my eldest.. that dream was fulfilled. 6 years have passed and im still a SAHM πŸ™‚

    its my first time in your blog πŸ™‚ and i think ill be back πŸ˜€

    • Eliza permalink
      November 5, 2010 1:02 am

      Hi Mommy Chris! So glad you are living your dream! πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading my blog. Hope to get to know you more! πŸ™‚

  8. November 18, 2010 3:18 pm

    Hey, came across your blog through Pia’s FB page. You might know my hubby, Myke πŸ™‚ I am a stay at home mom too and suffice it to say that I could totally relate to most of your posts, especially this one. I was in the ad agency for over 10 years and its hectic pace does not even come close to what I do now. πŸ™‚

    Anyway, I just revived my blog, mind if I link you up?

    • Eliza permalink
      November 18, 2010 4:31 pm

      Yes! I know Myke!! And thanks for dropping by. Yes, let’s link up!

Leave a Reply

