Skip to content

Books, Books, Books For Less!

November 21, 2010

I remember the exact moment that I learned how to read. From that moment on, I never stopped.

I devoured books as a child. My favorite was going through the A-Z of our World Book Encyclopedia set. I was a member of the Young Librarian’s Club in school where you got to checkout two books instead of one, and had overnight borrowing privileges to the Reference materials. It was heaven.

For work, storytelling was my ultimate favorite. I love making voices and I am OA when storytelling to young children. I think I have more fun that they do.

So it’s only natural that I want to build a library for Basti. I already had Narnia, a full set of Dr. Seuss books in English and Mandarin and other stuff for when Basti’s older (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Artemis Fowl, Harry Potter, etc) but all of that disappeared when Typhoon Ondoy hit our home last year. Sigh.

Everytime I go to our local Shopwise, I always pass by the Books For Less branch on the ground floor. Here’s what I’ve found for Basti so far.

For beginning ABCs, I found Chikka Chikka ABC and Sesame Street’s ABC Toychest. At this point, Basti loves the Chikka Chikka book more. He loves the part where all the letters fall from the coconut tree.

Found this Baby Signs books for mealtime. Basti smiles when he sees the pictures of the babies.

I love Sandra Boynton books. Snuggle Puppy is soooo cute.

The first of the Eric Carle books I’m going to buy. Basti’s favorite is when I make the zebra go, “neeeeighhhh!”

Some books based on songs. Basti likes it when I crawl my fingers up and down his tummy while singing Eensy Weensy Spider.

And my two ultimate favorite bedtime books, Goodnight Gorilla and Goodnight Moon.

Each time, I give myself a budget of PhP500 so I don’t overload. I always end up bringing home 2-6 books. It’s fun scouring the shelves because you never know what you will find.

I wonder what’ll be the newest addition to Basti’s library next week? Rainbow Fish? The Very Hungry Caterpillar? Can’t wait!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 6:37 am

    Remind me to try Books for Less next time! 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      November 21, 2010 8:10 am

      Yes! Go next time you’re here!

  2. November 22, 2010 8:30 am

    These collection is awesome! Hay, I’ve been told too many time to try Books for Less and Book Sale but I am just too lazy to go through piles and piles of books! (Thanks me and my aversion to shopping.) I prefer looking though neatly stacked books on shelves. Hehe. That’s why I love going the Scholastic Book Fair. Awesome books at P50 or even P30, but neatly arranged for your convenience. Harhar.

    Try the Baby Einstein line. It’s my absolute favorite.

    • Eliza permalink
      November 22, 2010 8:41 am

      I go to Scholastic book sales too! I lost all my Scholastic finds to Ondoy though, so I’m looking forward to going to another one. Maybe you can give us a heads up if you hear of it! I’m lucky the Books For Less in my area has a super neat system and all the children’s books are well-organized. The girl in charge surprised me by being quite knowledgeable in children’s books! She pulls out titles that she thinks I will like (Rainbow Fish, Eric Carle, etc.) and finds me copies in better condition. I forgot to put in the post that I bought two Scholastic books from BFL too – Swimmy and Gotcha! You should try it!

      I have some Baby Einstein videos and Basti likes it for 5 minutes pa lang. Maybe he’ll get better as he grows older.

  3. November 22, 2010 12:43 pm

    Hey Eli!! I also love Books for Less and Booksale and there is another one i go to.. BUT I hate going coz I always end up buying something! haha!! But don’t cross out National Bookstore – I’ve bought books there at P75 each!! marked down from original prices of P600 or something. We love Sandra Boynton books also! and eric carle. We also have that Chikka chikka boom boom book..! We also have several breastfeeding books with my favorite being this – Mama’s Milk. I bought one for Naima’s school and Naima has a second copy for herself
    http://www.amazon.com/Mamas-Milk-Mama-Me-Alimenta/dp/1582462453/ref=pd_bxgy_b_text_c

  4. November 22, 2010 4:33 pm

    Ano ba yan, “This collection!” Grr.

    Anyway, there’s also Chapters and Pages. I’ve gone to the one Alabang Town Center. Pretty good too. 🙂 Sige, sige, I will give Books for Less a chance. Haha!

    You might want to get Basti the book, Violet’s House of Baby Einstein, on of the best “touch&feel” books around. 🙂

    Yes, will let you guys know about the Scholastic Book Fair. 🙂 Here’s to more fab book finds!

    • Eliza permalink
      November 22, 2010 5:05 pm

      Thanks for the reco! Will look for that this week!

  5. November 23, 2010 9:13 am

    hey chilet, you do a great job in sharing your motherhood experience. keep it up, we’ve added you to our reading list 😀

    • Eliza permalink
      November 23, 2010 2:11 pm

      Thanks “tita”! 🙂 Hope to see you soon at a family get together!

  6. November 23, 2010 8:47 pm

    Those are much better finds than the one near me. Sandra Boynton was a favorite of both my boys when they were little. Still is for the little one.

    • Eliza permalink
      November 24, 2010 9:15 am

      I did notice this branch is a little better than the others. They have so many Sandra Boyntons. Maybe I should just get them all before people discover the place.

  7. November 24, 2010 11:52 am

    Ako naman fan ng Booksale ‘coz I find the books there are still cheaper compared to Books for Less, Chapters and Pages and that other cheaper bookstore. I also don’t go for popular books but instead let my son’s interests guide me. Right now, he’s into knights and castles. He’s done with his dinosaurs and trucks/cars phase. But whatever book we get for them, the really amazing thing is that they love reading just as much as we do! I am really super thankful I was able to rear him with a love for reading… I wouldn’t know what to do with a child who doesn’t love books 😀

    • Eliza permalink
      November 25, 2010 9:52 pm

      Mec, na-s-stress ako sa Booksale! The ones I chance upon are always so crowded and not conducive for browsing. Where do you go? Baka you have a better branch to recommend?

  8. Jeje permalink
    November 25, 2010 1:09 pm

    I’m glad you’re one of those Moms who instill a love for books and reading in their kids at a very early age. 🙂 I do not remember a time when I was not a lover of books, and like you, I was a member of all the book and reading clubs in school 🙂 I would use up two library cards in gradeschool every year. Basti is so lucky you are getting all these books for him 🙂

    As a kid (early gradeschool), I loved Judy Blume books and the Nancy Drew series 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      November 25, 2010 9:51 pm

      You wanna hear something sad? Thinking I was tired of my Nancy Drew books, my mom put them all up for sale and some lady bought the whole set in a flash. I cried when she told me.

      • Jeje permalink
        November 27, 2010 3:26 pm

        Oh. My. Gosh. Ako din maiiyak kung ganon 😦 I feel sad just thinking about it. On a related topic, I discovered so many of my books are missing. 😦 I don’t remember who borrowed them sana naman they will return it na. This is so devastating. 😦

Leave a Reply

