Skip to content

The Breastpump Saga Continues

November 30, 2010

I bought a Spectra Dew 300 a few months back and it worked fine until.. well, until it just didn’t. Mi’ann of Babymama sent me temporary pumps while waiting for the replacement Spectra 3. First she sent me another Spectra Dew 300, but then after a bit, she sent me this:

Ameda Purely Yours Breastpump

Ameda Purely Yours Breastpump, photo courtesy of Babymama

I was able to use it a couple of times before I had to return it and here’s what I have to say about it:

  1. Suction level is ultra comfy, unlike the Spectra’s commando suction powers. Even if it wasn’t as strong as the Spectra, I was still able to express quite a lot of milk.
  2. It has an extra control knob for the cycle, so you can adjust how fast or slow you want it.
  3. Really compact and light!!! (Compared to the Spectra Dew, at least)
  4. Parts are easy to clean and hard to lose. The membrane is very noticeable (something I used to misplace with the Spectra)

Overall: If this were available at the time I was looking for a pump and I had the money for it, I would’ve bought this one.

But that’s how life is, and you have to roll with the punches and be happy with your choices. At Expomom, I handed over the Ameda pump to Mi’ann and she gave me this to replace my Spectra Dew 300:

Spectra 3 Breastpump

The Spectra 3 Breastpump

The breastkits I have from the Dew are compatible with the Spectra 3, so no problem there. The most distinguishing differences between the two are the size and weight. The Spectra 3 is super light and compact, much like the Ameda pump. The performance feels more stable, and yes, the suction is STRONG.

As a whole, if you’re on a tight budget, the Spectra 3 is a good quality pump, a great buy for the price.

Three breastpump reviews already. And Basti still won’t drink from a bottle. Such is life.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 3:08 pm

    I made a post recently about choosing a breast pump and I noted there that had I known Babymama existed before I bought my Avent Isis Uno, I have one of her pumps now.

    I get my milk bags from her because I work and we have limited freezer space. 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      November 30, 2010 3:12 pm

      I like her milk bags too!

  2. Agnes permalink
    November 30, 2010 4:57 pm

    Which milkbag from babymama would u recommend?

    • Eliza permalink
      November 30, 2010 5:22 pm

      Hey Agnes!! I get the Spectra bags, the ones that go for 200 a box.

  3. December 1, 2010 3:23 pm

    I used a Panasonic handheld portable pump (it was a gift). I was very happy with it. It yield more than enough breastmilk for Tiago’s consumption while I was in school. Then something went wrong with the machine and I couldn’t have it fixed here coz the model wasn’t available here yet. I replaced it with a Medela Mini Electric. I expected a more superior performance – considering all the raves about it – but nah, pareho lang. It was just much lighter.

    Tiago refused to take the bottle too. We cup-fed forever. Until he didn’t wanna drink from the cup anymore. So I stopped teaching and we direct-fed until he weaned. The upside is, I didn’t have to wean from the bottle. 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      December 1, 2010 11:54 pm

      That’s what I think rin! I’m not stressing out na so much. Direct feeding is so much more fun and easier anyway!

  4. January 14, 2011 4:34 pm

    I was able to use the Ameda also. I loved most of its
    features except for the ringing sound it has. But all in all, it’s
    a great buy for a double breast pump.

    • Eliza permalink
      January 15, 2011 2:47 am

      I read your review! It’s quite nice nga. 🙂

  5. July 10, 2012 3:09 pm

    Hi, itatanong ko lang sana kung kumusta na ang Spectra 3 breast pump mo? My sister recently gave birth and i’m looking for an affordable electric breast pump for her. Any recommendations? thanks…

    • Eliza permalink
      July 10, 2012 3:44 pm

      Hi! Actually I stopped pumping and just did direct breastfeeding. I wasn’t successful in giving my baby milk from a bottle. I lent the Spectra to my friend and she seems to be happy with it. No complaints. 🙂

      • July 10, 2012 3:54 pm

        thanks for the info. i’m really on the hunt for a pump.

      • Eliza permalink
        July 10, 2012 3:55 pm

        If you can go for the Ameda, do it. 🙂

      • lyza permalink
        November 3, 2014 2:47 pm

        Hi eliza! I am enjoying reading this article until i found similar cons regarding bottle feeding. I exclusively bfeeding in less 6mos and will continue onwards. However, i am confused of choosing the best pump since i am SAHM. Only confusion is the bottle to use if it would be a success. I brought one like Mimijumi. Now, i am starting to look for a pump. I hope these things bring success!

      • Eliza permalink
        November 8, 2014 11:54 pm

        Truth is, if I knew then what I know now, I wouldn’t have bothered buying a pump. Do you know I never got to use it to store any milk? There was no need for me as a stay-at-home mom. Maybe you don’t need one too.

  6. shane permalink
    April 12, 2015 11:32 pm

    Hi! Which one is better for you spectra 3 or spectra dew 300?

    • Eliza permalink
      April 27, 2015 10:16 pm

      Hi! Honestly I don’t remember anymore. I didn’t continue pumping. No need.

Leave a Reply

