Skip to content

The Shift

December 11, 2010

I haven’t been blogging lately. Truth is I have several drafts in my Posts list, some over a week old.No, it’s not the hustle and bustle of Christmas (I’m a Scrooge. More on that later). Recently, I’ve shifted from being a stay-at-home mom, to work-at-home mom. SAHM and WAHM, if you must. Parenting blog acronyms were never my thing. If you notice I’ve never called Basti my LO or DS, because it’s all WTF to me.

Actually, I’ve been working at home since I was 7 months pregnant, doing SEO writing for different people I found over at freelancer.com (To homemakers looking for a few extra bucks and a little mental exercise, you should really give this a whirl). I still write for just one client now, churning out 4 articles a day of 300 words each. It’s a job that pays for my parlor days, shoes and baby gear that I want and not need.

But now I’m going to start on The Job. I’ve been fortunate enough to land a position in a company that’s allowing me to work on the requirements from home and on-the-go. The internet is such a wonderful thing. I can’t (and don’t want to) say too much about it, but it’s just funny that my online addiction has actually turned into something productive.

Basti is 7 months and growing up so fast. He’s got two bottom teeth out and the upper front teeth are breaking through. He’s sitting up and playing by himself. As early as now, my mom and I have started looking at his earlier pictures and sniffing about how big he is already. I’ll be doing that all of Basti’s life I think.

Just a few days into The Job and I already feel like some of my time from Basti has been taken away. He may be with me, but there are periods where my mind is on The Job. I’m taking care of business with him in the SaYa, busy, busy, busy.. I glance at him and he’s looking at me with an expression that seems to say, “Why aren’t you minding me, mama?” Oh the guilt.

That’s what you get when every waking moment of your day was tuned in to your child’s needs before you started doing something else. I mean, this is still way better than disappearing to a 9-5 office job, right? I’m still here, and we’re still directly breastfeeding, baby-wearing and co-sleeping. We still take afternoon naps together (though while he sleeps, I’m tap-tapping away on the laptop while lying down). It was just too great an opportunity to pass up. And I’ve come to a point where I just want something for myself, and be able to contribute something to the family, financially-speaking. I’m not ashamed to say being a one-income family in Metro Manila can get really hard at times. Especially for an industry so volatile as art.

I’m just thankful I’m still at home, taking care of my son, and earning a living at the same time. I’ll get into the groove soon (thanks, Madonna. And yes, I just revealed my age)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 8:49 pm

    hi! Just want to say that you’re not alone. I SO understand you. I resigned from a full time job last August when I got pregnant. I was a WAHM for two months after that but now that the project is done, I guess, I’m now a SAHM. Still looking for work online opportunities though especially since my baby is due in a few months and the extra income will be helpful. Good luck to you! 😀 Love your blog!

    • Eliza permalink
      December 11, 2010 10:19 pm

      If you’re interested in online writing, freelancer.com is worth visiting! We can do this! 😀

  2. December 11, 2010 10:41 pm

    Oh don’t we all just wish money would grow on trees and there’d always be enough of it to pick to maintain our lifestyles, no matter how simple! It is hard, but sometimes it is necessary. Wait until you get to the age where they can do something about you “not paying attention!”

    By the way — being a stay-at-home-mom is no easy task either! We should get paid for doing this!

    • Eliza permalink
      December 11, 2010 11:13 pm

      Oh believe me. Orley pays for it. Haha!

  3. December 12, 2010 12:36 am

    LOVE this post Eli! And SO can relate! Though for now I am still a semi-fulltime work out of home mom… hoping to change this status soon! 🙂 Go go go! 🙂 all the best and Godbless!
    http://www.trulyrichmom.com

  4. Kim Oxenbridge permalink
    December 12, 2010 11:37 am

    Totally respect your decision to be a WAHM. Good luck!

    • Eliza permalink
      December 13, 2010 1:07 am

      Thanks Kim! I’m still getting used to it!

  5. Jeje permalink
    December 13, 2010 7:22 pm

    Hi Eli,

    Thought about you last weekend, we were in Megamall and I saw a lot of baby-carrying Moms 🙂 I’m just glad that although Im not married and have no kids yet, I totally understand the benefits of wearing your baby 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      December 18, 2010 11:25 pm

      Are you sure you didn’t see me? Haha.

  6. December 15, 2010 3:59 pm

    I also write on the side for what I call naman “brain activity”. And do some project management if I want to. Deadma sa fee, basta wag lang ma-bobo. Hahaha! Thanks for the freelancer.com tip. Will check it out. Good luck with The Job!

    • Eliza permalink
      December 18, 2010 11:24 pm

      Thanks Anne! 🙂 Good luck to you too! Go to freelancer – it’s so easy!!

  7. December 16, 2010 11:40 pm

    So THAT is why we’re not chatting enough, haha! Happy you got the job! 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      December 18, 2010 11:21 pm

      I’m always online naman no! 🙂 Hey let me know when you’re in my area ok? If I go to your area too, I’ll text you. Got milk!

  8. December 20, 2010 1:42 pm

    Congrats on the job! What is SEO writing? What does that mean? And can you do that for us? Haha.

Leave a Reply

