Skip to content

The TV Dilemma

March 27, 2011

First of all, my apologies for the semi-neglect (okay, FULL ON neglect) of this blog. Work and moving drove me insane.

 

I think most moms have read this line on a blog, a parenting site or an article somewhere:

No television for children under 2 years old.

Right.

Well, not for me.

I have to admit I have the TV on in Basti’s playroom when we play together, and it’s not tuned in to Playhouse Disney or playing a Baby Einstein DVD either. (Mainly because Baby Einstein bores the heck out of Basti) When I’m watching Basti, I watch my shows. I do sometimes watch Disney and Pixar movies, and Basti likes that. We watched Ratatouille the other day.

Hey I grew up watching TV with my mom. I learned Filipino and developed an appreciation for cinema by watching PPP (Piling Piling Pelikula) after Eat Bulaga on RPNΒ  9. I learned English with Sesame Street.

The only show I don’t let Basti watch is Willing Willy. Flat out, NO.

But Showtime is his favorite. Chant “Party party!” to Basti and he raises his arms up and down and starts to dance. He responds more to R&B than nursery rhymes, and is more familiar with Usher than Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. He likes watching Glee with me and dances to the opening credits of Hawaii Five-0.

So that’s my “bad parent” confession of the day. What’s yours?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Hawk permalink
    March 27, 2011 4:06 am

    i found myself watching jackass 3 with my 8 month old son a couple of weeks ago… not sure how that’s going to affect him developmentally… but at least we had a good time at it. πŸ™‚

    • Eliza permalink
      March 27, 2011 10:24 am

      Hahahahaha! Ok now I don’t feel guilty watching The Hangover with Basti!!

  2. March 27, 2011 8:22 am

    I understand! Running a blog is such hard work pala! =) You’ll channel Madonna and get back into the groove in no time!

    On TV, funny because yesterday a friend asked me what I did to make M talk so much and in straight sentences at her age. She was asking if I don’t make her watch TV. I almost choked because this daughter of mine ALWAYS watches TV. And I AM GUILTY! I work in the dining room while she watches in the living room. But agree, I supervise what shows she watches. No Willing-Willie or Eat Bulaga. Although I’m rethinking the telenovelas so she’ll learn some Filipino.

    • Eliza permalink
      March 27, 2011 10:23 am

      Oh great, you made me LSS! Hahaha!

      Yes, learning Filipino is the reason why I let Basti watch telenovelas (yeah, right). We start with Mutya and end in the middle of Mara Clara, when he gets sleepy.

  3. Maya permalink
    March 27, 2011 12:06 pm

    Hi! I homeschool my daughters, and I don’t formally teach the Filipino subject to my 8-year old since we do talk in Filipino and English at home, and I honestly think she’ll learn it inadvertently as we go along with our everyday lives. So when my MIL visited one day, she asked my daughter to read a Filipino sentence, and when she was not able to, of course my MIL, for the nth time, persuaded me to send my kids to the traditional school, saying she only gets to read a lot of books in English, but none in Filipino. And as usual, the motherly person in me, stood my ground.
    Then came the tv series “Noah” at ABS-CBN, and since I don’t usually find anything seriously bad for my kids to watch about the series when I do it with them, it became a nightly thing for them to do.
    What I found very interesting was when my daughter tried reading the questions just before each break, and then she’ll proudly tell me the answer, which lead her to practicing reading Filipino sentences. The good part is, she learned it on her own, and without any effort from me to teach her how to read words in Tagalog.
    And, not to mention the good stuff kids get exposed to, like from watching Discovery Channel and the like.
    I believe, tv watching isn’t really that bad for kids to do. It just has to be in moderation, and of course, actual parental guidance should never be disregarded.
    Just my two cents. πŸ˜€

    • Eliza permalink
      March 28, 2011 12:50 am

      A mother after my own heart. πŸ™‚ Thanks for your input!

      Re: homeschooling. Have your girls been homeschooled from the beginning? I’m trying to decide if I should take the plunge from preschool onwards or send Basti to Kindergarten and then take it from Elementary.

  4. March 28, 2011 12:03 pm

    Your post is so timely! My daughter is 6 months old. She started watching Barney this month. Actually ayaw ko si Barney but she gets so giddy watching Barney. Brainy Babies are boring nga, hindi cya interesado. I tried watching it with her, I almost dozed off. I’m still not sure if I should or should not let her watch TV. I watched TV when I was a kid, cartoons, Batibot and I’m fine. My husband watches Naruto with her haha. The comments above made me not so guilty, though. Moderation lang talaga.. but definitely no to Willing Willy or Eat Bulaga too!

    • Eliza permalink
      March 29, 2011 1:02 am

      Haha, maybe we should all start the “TV is fine, so relax” group on Facebook for parents, hehe!

  5. Maya permalink
    March 28, 2011 3:33 pm

    Glad to share πŸ˜€ … As a SAHM, reading a lot of mommy blogs, and once in a while, commenting ( since I’m not really into blogging, but who knows, maybe a pic blog to start of, when I finally find my drive for it :D), are some of my ways to get into grown-up talks. I mean, come on, we need it for our own sanity…hahaha!

    About homeschooling, I have three daughters, ages 8, 6, and 21 months, and my 8-year old is the only one who was able to experience traditional schooling for two years (Pre- Casa and Junior Casa levels), back when she was 4 1/2 years old, and when I haven’t learned of better things about kids’ learning. Homeschool, I believe, is a calling, and for some reasons, we were lead to it, and I must say, I’ve never felt so relieved when it comes to matters of my kids’ education. It’s like, everyday, I find reasons to keep going (yup, it’s not smooth sailing everyday, but I guess it’ll be boring if it is, right?), and everyday, I see evidences that I’ve taken the right path to my kids’ learning.
    The nice part is I get to learn, and relearn with my kids. The more homeschooling blogs and articles I read, the more knowledgeable I become about it, so I’ve decided to homeschool my two younger kids, all from the beginning. Personally, I think the word “homeschool” is just for formality’s sake. The obvious but usually ignored fact is we really homeschool our kids from the day they were born, and the learning continues because it’s but natural for children to learn, whether we make effort about it or not…

    Let me end my comment with this beautiful quote, if you may…

    Since we can’t know what knowledge will be most needed in the
    future, it is senseless to try to teach it in advance. Instead, we
    should try to turn out people who love learning so much and learn so
    well that they will be able to learn whatever needs to be learned. -John Holt

    • Eliza permalink
      March 29, 2011 1:00 am

      Thanks for the input! (And the encouraging words) More food for thought for me and my hubby! πŸ™‚

  6. March 28, 2011 4:01 pm

    I know I will never be able to support the no-tv policy being advocated by some moms (some of my cousins actually). I watch TV when I get home from work and before I go to sleep so I can’t really set an example for no-tv. I understand that too much tv is a problem though. I let my daughter (1 year old) watch TV… but always with supervision. When we watch TV, I’d repeat some words or actions and try to get her to repeat them with me. She actually learned her body parts, colors, and some animals from watching Your Baby Can Read and Dora The Explorer (both in English-Spanish… and the one translated to Tagalog-English on ABS-CBN, haha). When she was about a month old, TV Patrol served as her ‘babysitter’ for a few hours each day after our yaya left us. I’d strap her to her bouncer and tune in to TV Patrol while I set the table or sit down for a break. She liked looking at people’s faces then and listening to their voices. And the reporters are using Tagalog, which is the primary language we use at home.

    • Eliza permalink
      March 29, 2011 1:00 am

      Your cousins are actually successful? Wow. No can do. If I implement it I think my maid will leave me, LOL.

      I thought I could do the no-TV, but realistically speaking, it’s not possible. If I ever leave my son with the grandparents they’ll be watching TV with him. I don’t want him going there just so he can watch TV, haha. I think the news and the earlier teleseryes (Mutya, as of now) is good for learning Filipino. I prefer Ni Hao Kai Lan to Dora though, hehe. I want my son to learn Mandarin.

  7. Audrey permalink
    March 29, 2011 10:11 am

    Like I said, they don’t even watch those they don’t like. It’s like an inherent switch off button! Gia is drawn to sing-song ads and MTVs, she will otherwise go back to doing her thing. πŸ˜‰

    • Eliza permalink
      April 1, 2011 2:22 am

      Basti really likes the Nido commercial with Kris and Bimby, and that “brush brush brush three times a day” Colgate commercial. Hehe.

  8. March 29, 2011 3:24 pm

    Eli, Naima is a signing time and a Ni Hao Kailan addict. She also watches NatGeo and Discovery with stan. But ditto on Willing Willie – hands down NO!

    • Eliza permalink
      April 1, 2011 2:19 am

      I have to get Ni Hao Kailan vids. ζˆ‘ηœŸηš„ζƒ³Basti学汉语!

  9. March 31, 2011 10:46 am

    I never bought the no TV theories. We all grew up watching TV and we are not so screwed up. Hahaha! As long as they are learning, I’m cool with it. Learning not just concepts but values as well. I have a basic guideline though – shows have to be age-appropriate. And yes, with supervision and in moderation. πŸ™‚

    Here’s to happy TV watching!

    • Eliza permalink
      April 1, 2011 2:12 am

      So is “Mara Clara” appropriate for an 11-month old? Oo naman diba? :p Hee hee.

      • April 1, 2011 8:49 am

        Hahaha! When Basti gets a bit older, you will soon realize that you need to filter those TV shows and strictly supervise. I did so when Tiago started to quickly pick-up everything he sees. Example, one day he just starting hmph-ing with his arms crossed. And didn’t know where he got it. Yun pala, from Bunny of Dibo! Eh hello, that’s in PLAYHOUSE Disney!

      • Eliza permalink
        April 4, 2011 1:04 am

        Hahaha! I know that show! That’s the funny dance they do right? Kaya nga from now pa lang – no Willing Willy.

  10. April 1, 2011 11:03 am

    Wee! Nice to see a post coming from you Ms Eli! (I was one of the participants when you gave a testament on breastfeeding in TMC.) I attend CFC (Couples for Christ) and some of the parents there advocate the NO-TV thing. I feel guilty that my baby (also named Eli) watches TV with me. He likes cooking shows (well mainly because he doesn’t have choice yet and that is all I mostly watch). But even as a young age of 5months I can see his eyes lights up with the sight of random things (a beautifully baked cake, carrots being chopped, etc.). He likes the Showtime theme too and giggles non-stop while it’s being sung by the hosts. To summarize, I agree with the moms here that moderation is the key. I grew up watching Newswatch, Kwarta o Kahon, TVJ, Chicka chika chicks and I ended up a sensible (or so I believe), steetsmart person naman. Hope my kid does the same. (And thank you to Maya din on the home schooling comment, I am seriously considering that someday.)

    • Eliza permalink
      April 4, 2011 12:52 am

      Hi!! So nice to touch base with you again – and through here pa! How are you guys doing? πŸ™‚

  11. August 30, 2011 3:27 am

    NO TV is boring! I let my twins watch TV as long as educational yung shows (okay, minsan nakakanood sila ng ibang shows for adults i admit! ). They super love Barney and kahit ayaw ko si Barney before, he’s the reason why my little girl can count from 1-10 now! Galing ni Barney haha! And my boy loves naman Little Einsteins. They get bored with BabyEinsteins too. And yes, they love the LuckyMeNamnam, ‘brush brush brush 3 times a day’ and even Anne Curtis’ ‘like a touch… from rose’ commercial. I’m just a little bit worried that my baby girl now closes her eyes and tries to kiss me everytime there’s a ‘sad’ song playing. Baka she saw one from the teleserye!

    • Eliza permalink
      August 30, 2011 3:47 pm

      LOL! My sweetheart loves “brush, brush, brush” and the “namnamnam” part of the Lucky me commercial also.

      Though I turn off the TV when it comes to “like a touch of a rose”. o_O

Leave a Reply

