Skip to content

The Guilty Mama

April 4, 2011

We attended our first birthday party of the season last Sunday. Here’s Basti in his party hat:

The party is the first of a series of birthday parties for the children of our birthing class. Basti is celebrating his birthday at the end of the month. What have I got planned?

Nothing.

Absolutely nothing.

For a former events planner, I am famously allergic to planning one of my own. Maybe it’s because I did it as a job for so long that I don’t want to do it myself? It’s already April 4th and Orley and I still stare at each other blankly when the matter of Basti’s birthday comes up. Truth is, I don’t want a party. I want to go on a trip, but that is going to be something spontaneous if it happens because Orley is up to his eyeballs in work.

Basti’s birthday party is not the only thing I’m guilty about. His baptism was also last minute, just food on the table and a few friends. Have I told you guys about my wedding? Orley and I signed some stuff at cityhall.

We had lunch at Causeway Bay.

And had a dinner cooked by my lola held at her house for my family and some friends.

No fuss, no hustle-and-bustle. Just get it done. That’s how Orley and I live our lives. We’ve never “celebrated” our anniversary.

Am I awful for applying the same philosophy to my son? I see pictures of these birthday parties that have planners, booths and themes and they make me want to go under the covers and sleep.

Three weeks to go and I have to find the initiative, drive and inspiration to celebrate Basti’s birthday. Somehow. I wish I were more maarte.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 3:55 pm

    eli! go on a trip and take lots of photos!!! or go for a cake smash at the stork studio 😉 oops! shameless plug. hahahaha!

    • Eliza permalink
      April 4, 2011 10:01 pm

      LOL! Hay, during these time I really wish Batman were real, kasi siya na ang bahala talaga.

      • April 13, 2011 7:45 am

        wahahahahaha!!!! i didn’t want parties for my kids din, just a quiet trip away. but i’m sure you heard from ocmom yesterday how big the family was! lol, so no choice. but okay na rin for me. just follow your heart….kasi ganun naman talaga kayo ni orley! looking forward to meeting him one of these days!

      • Eliza permalink
        April 13, 2011 2:52 pm

        Guess what. He went to Hypermart yesterday, and didn’t pass to say hello to us. Snuffle-a-pagus! Haha!

  2. April 4, 2011 4:26 pm

    Okay lang yan. Kami rin ni Vince puros small affairs lang. Well, not as small as yours =) Actually nga, we only conceded to a wedding and a baptism kasi the families wanted it. Kung kami lang ang masusunod, the celebration will only have Vince and me and Vito in attendance. =)

    It’s not unfair on the kid, I think. He didn’t ask for a party. Remember that. Pag mga 5 years old na siya at humingi, well, maybe you should consider that but if he has you as his parents, I’m willing to bet he won’t ask for a party. Ever! =)

    • Eliza permalink
      April 4, 2011 10:06 pm

      I think I’ll put a wager on that one, for selfish reasons. LOL.

  3. April 4, 2011 5:39 pm

    Hi there! Sometimes we feel coz others do it we have to do it as well. But if you’re not like them, why force yourself? We won’t have a big party for our daughter until she reaches an age when she can really enjoy it. It is after all her day! Before that I know she will be either cranky coz of all the noise, or very shy coz of all the attention or worst sleep half of the party:(

    We also had our wedding very simple.”Simple but special” is actually our motto for all important events. We’re no hustle-and-bustle peeps as well;) Just enjoy the time that you can still celebrate it with just the three of you coz when he’s older he will probably bug you to have a party:) But I think you will enjoy organizing that coz he will choose a theme himself db?

    • Eliza permalink
      April 4, 2011 10:07 pm

      Heaven help me if he asks for a Barney party. That insane purple dinosaur has a way of creeping up to your children even if he’s not allowed in your house.

  4. Audrey permalink
    April 4, 2011 6:19 pm

    To each his own 🙂 I have friends who do trips and that’s more than okay! Do something Basti will appreciate. Arte lang ng mga parents mga first birthday parties (guilty!), haha!

    • Eliza permalink
      April 4, 2011 10:08 pm

      LOL, siempre we’ll attend Basti’s Best Girl Friend’s Birthday no!!

      • Audrey permalink
        April 6, 2011 7:20 am

        You are expected! Don’t get caught in traffic! 😛

  5. April 4, 2011 8:12 pm

    I think and I read in another blog that 1st birthday parties are more for the parents, ay moms lang pala, rather than for the baby. Wala pa naman silang alam! My wedding was simple and no frills too.. kayo Causeway Bay, kami sa Sbarro! haha.. for my baby’s birthday.. just a simple event lang. Don’t want the big party schmarty.. so ok lang yan. 🙂 To each his own nga!

    • Eliza permalink
      April 4, 2011 10:10 pm

      If ever I’ll throw a birthday party maybe I’ll go for old-school planning. Merced mocha cake, balloons tied on the back of rattan chairs, and hotdogs on toothpicks stuck on a pineapple. :p Oh let’s not forget the head of the lechon with an apple in its mouth.

      • Nina permalink
        March 8, 2013 9:38 am

        Like! Merced cake and balloons on the rattan chairs old school (ehem hurt!) but well, big party for a 1 year old is really for the parents. My daughter’s 1st birthday held in our house having my nieces, nephews closest cousins singing happy birthday for her already a grand birthday party. No expensive venue and caterer. Just surrounded by loved ones is soooo expensive moment to her… d sya iiyak kc lahat ng nakikita nya are all familiar to her :=)

  6. April 6, 2011 3:43 pm

    One advise that I have adhered to since I gave birth (coz Myke and I love to travel and was so worried that we won’t be able to when Tiago is born) is “don’t cramp your lifestyle just because you already have a child, let the child adjust to it. he doesn’t have one to begin with.” It makes so much sense! And I think it applies to more than just traveling. So if a party fare ain’t your style, then it isn’t. What matters most is that Basti is a happy child – extra happy on his birthday, even if it means giving him a taste of his own birthday cake. Heehee.

    • Eliza permalink
      April 8, 2011 10:32 am

      I so agree with you re the lifestyle thing. I get the comments though – “What??? You’re going to bring your baby there???”

      And Basti has been eating cake since last month. *guilty again* Hehehe.

  7. April 7, 2011 3:01 pm

    I’m so with you about keeping things simple. My wedding was pretty much the same. I’m even wearing the same style dress. LOL! People here go waaaay over board with kiddie parties. Especially for a first birthday that won’t even be remembered.

    You are so right, a trip is so much better. Thing is my kids are now of an age that they ASK for parties. What I’ve done for the past 2 years is only one party a year, so they alternate. Even then I only invite the real friends of the celebrant, not my friends. When we have the money we take a trip for the other kid.

    • Eliza permalink
      April 8, 2011 10:34 am

      Hahahaha! I can only imagine what kind of parties the earthlings ask for!!

      • April 10, 2011 12:39 pm

        Oo nga, after every party they have a new idea on how they want their party. Social pressure starts really young. LOL!

  8. April 7, 2011 6:46 pm

    Yes, we have learned to hate personal events because it was our work!! For M, her most major event event was her baptism and even that was just a simple event. We had 100 guests though as a function of our huge families. But every year, for her birthday, we just travel and we have a great time =)

    • Eliza permalink
      April 8, 2011 10:35 am

      The events circuit has scarred us for life! Nadamay pa our kids!! :p Maybe we should just get Ramil to plan our events for us.

Leave a Reply

