Skip to content

The Art of Gift-Giving

April 25, 2011

Today, my neighbor Happy and her baby Monch sent me an Easter Egg for Basti:

(Missing from picture: A Hershey Kiss and a Jellyace. Who’s the culprit? *smacking lips*) It’s so cute! Complete with “Monch’s First Easter” card.

Basti likes playing with the egg on the floor:

Something like this I would never ever think of doing. Newsflash: I am the world’s WORST gift-giver. It’s the reason why I love gift registries; at least I know what I’m getting you is something you want. I am so bad that in my stressing over about what to give, I end up not buying one and give cash instead. I even forget the envelope. Gah.

Thoughtful naman ako. Caring naman ako.  Mahal ko naman kayo. Pero for the life of me, giving gifts is not a talent that was bestowed upon me.

I have friends who are AMAZING in gift-giving. It is never about the cost, but the utter tongue-in-cheek intelligence behind the gift. I am convinced I am missing a part in my brain that specializes in it. I once was ecstatic when a co-worker of mine gave me a folder that was in such a cute color with partitions. She knew I loved office supplies. See? A folder! I would’ve never put two and two together. It’s my hubby’s birthday next month and I’m thinking of giving him a gift certificate. #wifefails

So guys, what are some of the great gifts you’ve ever given and what are some of the best gifts you’ve ever received?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    April 25, 2011 11:22 am

    I was twelve years old, and got an electric typewriter for Christmas. It sparked my creativity like nothing else, and soon I was banging out poems, and stories, like there was no tomorrow. You know, it’s funny how the best gifts you get, and the best memories from receiving said gifts, are from when you are a child. As the years pass, I suppose gifts lose their significance and WOW factor.

    • Eliza permalink
      April 26, 2011 1:23 am

      Hey I had one of those in highschool too! 🙂 I miss the clackity-clack of the keys!!!

  2. April 27, 2011 11:12 am

    hahaha! this blog entry made me laugh. you’re like my husband, who’d rather shop WITH you for your gift para daw at least he knows what he’s buying is something you want and is useful. me naman, i’m the type who would love a surprise gift even if he just gave me a badly-handwritten note with a Kit-Kat bar! opposites talaga. Christmas time is usually a debate. LOL

Leave a Reply

