Skip to content

All’s Well That Ends Well: Benefits Style Salon + Ensogo

May 18, 2011

I was raving mad at Ensogo the past few days. Sadly, I’m still disappointed with their service. I won’t go into the details anymore – my Twitter account shouldered the negativity of that experience. But let’s just say I’m going to lay off purchasing any deals from them until I see more positive feedback rather than negative comments on their Facebook fan page. Too many stories. There’s definitely a fire underneath all that smoke.

Anyway, so I was enticed to buy a P249 Keratin treatment deal from Ensogo to be claimed at Benefits Style Salon. It didn’t start well. Because of my snarky comments, the salon owner mistakenly thought I was criticizing the salon itself, and we had an exchange even before I claimed my voucher. We ended our Facebook Wall conversation on a happy note though, and it was with an open mind that my sister Yapi and went to Benefits yesterday to get our treatments done.

Now, I’ve had my hair treated with Keratin before. My grandmother treated me and my sister to a session when we got our family haircut the other month at Toni & Guy. (We go out with our grandma for a lunch and afternoon out at least once a month. She treats us to haircuts. Our need to pamper is in the blood) The treatments ran into 4-figure bills, even for my short hair, and even though I was highly satisfied with the result, I knew I couldn’t afford to have it done every month. So when this deal came out on Ensogo, I snatched it up right away.

Benefits Style Salon is located on the second floor of Eastwood City Walk. It’s a no-nonsense place, with simple interiors; no frills, no fuss.

It was 3pm on a Monday afternoon and the place was PACKED. Clearly there was something more to this place than it let on. The salon’s secrets were unraveled, one by one.

  • Extra care given to you when you are shampooed. G[reat massage. I had my eyes closed and was instantly relaxed.
  • Head, shoulder and back massage given to you during the treatment is top-notch.
  • The staff are SO NICE. I don’t know about you, but I get intimidated by sleek salons that instantly assume you have tens of thousands of pesos to spend and just lay out treatment after treatment. (A note: Toni & Guy actually gives you a quote before they do anything – that’s one thing I like about them!)

I was talking to one of the senior stylists and I told him I would try a haircut with him sometime.

The woman beside me did my head and back massage. She was very good.

For a small, seemingly unassuming salon, they sure pack a punch. They have a lot of celebrity endorsers and their creative director is in charge of styling some very big names. I had a chat with one of the owners, Sam Escalante, and her passion for the salon and customer service was very reassuring. And best of all, I asked about the regular price of the Keratin treatment deal, and it was 80% cheaper than my previous treatment!

I have to ask about a few things though:

  1. Toni & Guy had one of those heat-emanating treatment things on my head during the treatment. Benefits didn’t. Would the effect be the same, or is the heat-thing just fluff?
  2. Toni & Guy also ran my hair through a straightening iron. The girl who did it said it seals the treatment into my hair. Benefits didn’t iron my hair. Truth or fact?

I’ll be back soon to get a haircut.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Katherine permalink
    May 18, 2011 2:41 pm

    Ohhh! How I miss salons in Manila. I’m sure you are super happy coz and laki ng smile mo teach. 🙂 I just had my haircut and i paid $60 (I’m happy naman with the cut) but no massage, just shampoo and blowdry after.

    Hayy!! minsan I just want to go home to get a full body massage and go to a parlor. 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      May 23, 2011 11:45 pm

      Haha! Everyone from the US says the same thing. 🙂

  2. June 11, 2011 10:45 pm

    hi po. 🙂 I just wanna ask kung maganda po ba talaga ung treatment? Kasi i’ve been planning to do my hair and I wasn’t sure kung perfect ba ung keratin treatmment sakin. I have super dry hair. Thanks po. 🙂

    And btw, how much was the original price? 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      June 12, 2011 12:38 am

      Hi Ninin!

      The truth: mas tumagal yung treatment that I got from Toni & Guy than the treatment I got from Benefits. I think the heating and the plantsa really made a difference. It was really nice – wala nang blowdry needed and my hair was behaved all day. My sister who has problem hair because of years of coloring, super happy. I asked Benefits what the full price would be for my length – P700 daw. At Toni & Guy, it was P3,500. I am now looking for a salon with a costing that’s between the two with satisfactory results. 🙂

  3. July 17, 2012 12:34 pm

    Hi Eliza!

    My Sister and I just scheduled Rebonding at The Benefits Style Salon. Thanks to ENSOGO for this limited offer.

    Am a bit worried as this my first with both ENSOGO and Benefits Style Salon. I must say this article of yours gave me an idea of what to expect. Hope to get the best service from them too 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      July 18, 2012 2:07 am

      Good luck! The staff are really nice. I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

