Skip to content

Nowhere Near Fashion Forward

May 23, 2011

I used to think I dressed well. When I was single, I didn’t give a flying fig about spending my hard-earned money on clothes, makeup, shoes and accessories. Things started to change when I shifted careers and moved into early childhood education. Being in an unavoidably unfashionable work t-shirt with a clown on it eventually breaks down your fashion sense. Since then, my fashionista moments became less and less. I revived it a little bit when I lost a lot of weight from working in China, but lost it again when I got married, got pregnant and became a stay-at-home mom.

The word for it is, EFFORT. It’s so easy to slip into a dress and flipflops and just go through your day. More so now, that I’ve moved into a house that’s just a couple of blocks away from the supermarket; it’s so easy to just do my groceries in my pambahay. To my credit I’ve only done so a couple of times, and only because I was short of an ingredient or two for a meal I was preparing. Most of the time I go in decent clothes and makeup – concealer, blush and gloss. Pat on the back.

But let’s go back to the definition of what “decent clothes” are. It’s jeans, a T-shirt and flip-flops. I tweeted something like this a few weeks ago: “For some reason, I suddenly look stupid in a t-shirt when I became a mom.” And it’s true. What used to my staple outfit made me feel dowdy and unattractive.

I went shopping a couple weeks back. I went to Megamall, and Rockwell, and found just ONE dress in Zara that met my criteria: budget, comfort, functionality (read: breastfeeding accessibility).

But if I were to revamp my whole closet by shopping in malls it was going to result in two things: a half-empty closet and totally empty bank account. I decided to be more practical and trooped over to the bargain mecca of Greenhills. I bought about 10 tops and a few shorts and pants for the same price as a couple of outfits from the malls. I let go of my Havaianas past and embraced my Fit Flops present (they are such great mommy footgear). I packed up my funky messenger bags (including my Mao Zhe Dong army bag) and bought myself a “mommy bag” from Charles and Keith.

At one year though, I’m beginning to get an inkling of what it’s like to get my life back, piece by piece. The Painter and I talked earlier this evening about finally going back to boxing classes (so we can keep up with the little boy when he starts running), and in a few months I may even go back to scuba diving again. Won’t that be fun.

And with the life back, then maybe the fashion will come back too. I can’t wait to wear heels again.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 9:00 am

    I so can relate to this post! I used to dress well too but after having the baby I got lazy. And every time I shop, may requirements. Can I breastfeed with this, can I hide my bulging belly with this.. I’m buying Fitflops too. I should go to Greenhills.. being a mommy is making me kuripot on buying Zara or Mango or Topshop. And I can’t use my slings bags no more. haha..

    • Eliza permalink
      May 24, 2011 10:49 am

      I have to buy another pair of Fitflops. They’re so worth it. I’m quickly wearing down mine. I know what you mean about buying from Zara, etc. Before you buy, it’s like… “I could buy a (insert baby’s essential here) with this instead”. But sometimes you have to take that aside and indulge your hard-working self too! (I must admit buying that dress was kind of “pikit-mata”)

  2. May 24, 2011 3:11 pm

    It’s really difficult, Elai! You need a whole new wardrobe after every kid. Your body is different, your old clothes don’t fit you the same and the eyebags of motherhood never ever go away. Building an entire wardrobe is a lot of work.

    • Eliza permalink
      May 24, 2011 8:37 pm

      The gorgeous mother has spoken! You are seriously my style inspiration, Rone.

  3. May 24, 2011 5:15 pm

    I felt the same way after I got pregnant and had my first baby… I lost my interest in dressing up because I felt anything I put on looks ugly anyway because of the extra weight. Most of the stuff I bought during that time were hideous and oversized! And to think I wore them all the time :-/ After a year, my interest in dressing up came back and now I think I’m on my way to recovery (though still not back to pre-pregnancy weight, 18 months after giving birth *sigh*) … I’m buying heels again.

    • Eliza permalink
      May 24, 2011 8:39 pm

      Ditto! When I think about the stuff I used to wear when I had just given birth… Shudder!!! 🙂

  4. May 24, 2011 6:07 pm

    Way to go Eli! I think ever since giving birth to M, I have always bought tops which are loose, which is good because I can use them as maternity clothes now. Haha. Now, if I could only pretend that I was pregnant for the next 2 years so people don’t keep wondering why I haven’t lost the weight yet…

    • Eliza permalink
      May 24, 2011 8:40 pm

      Easy: “I always knew I was going to get pregnant again.” Lol.

      • May 26, 2011 11:12 am

        haha! Natawa ako dito.. I always say the same thing when my mom keeps pressuring me to lose weight.

  5. May 25, 2011 9:19 am

    I can so relate! I feel bad for myself but deep inside I am really happy where I am and with what I have and dont have.
    A few months back, I trooped to Divi and bought myself new clothes. The wake up call was whenI started noticing that the contractuals in the office where I have been working in for the past 8 years, are better dressed than me.
    My next goal: relearn how to accessorize.
    Looking forward to more personal shopping and me time posts from you.

    • Eliza permalink
      May 26, 2011 10:53 am

      “My next goal: relearn how to accessorize.” – Me too!!!!! I’m clueless!

  6. May 25, 2011 11:16 pm

    Gosh, I know you feel. After giving birth, nothing fit right except a few stretchy, jersey shirts. Everything else, I donated or packed away to wear later on. I’ve since given away everything that was packed away, save a few pairs of jeans. Even though I lost most of the weight a month after giving birth, I seemed to gain back around ten pounds in the past year 😦

    I get you, about the breastfeeding access. That’s my main criteria these days, and I don’t like breastfeeding blouses in general (The ones I do like are just too expensive for my taste!).

    • Eliza permalink
      May 26, 2011 10:59 am

      Not to mention all the “dalaga” clothes don’t look good anymore. Kumu-cougar.

Leave a Reply

