Skip to content

Babywearing Goes Boom!

July 3, 2011

What used to be a casual get-together over coffee to talk slings, SaYas and pouches exploded into a full-blown meet yesterday! Babywearers, experts and newbies alike, gathered at Starbucks MC Home Depot at Bonifacio Global City and the second floor was OWNED. Take a look at these pics!

It was so nice to see lots of mommies (and daddies!) interested in babywearing. The organizers (headed by Benz Co-Rana) tried very very hard to divide the groups into ring slings, pouches and the SaYa, but in the end, we just went around and helped out whoever needed any assistance. It was an unprecedented turnout, and can only mean we will see more babywearing events in the future!

Onsite, we had Denise of Indigo Baby, Jen of Next9, Jenny of Mama.Baby.Love, Abbie Yabot, Mamaway and Buding of SaYa! Other moms helped out too. I was all over the place helping the organizers with SaYa, sling and pouch tutorials (and chit-chat on the side).

One of the moms getting some SaYa help from Cats of Kraze Kitch Bakeshop and from SaYa creator herself, Buding Aquino-Dee!

I really wish I had taken more pics and met more mommies, but it was mayhem (in a good way), plus Basti was in a foul mood.

I had to hoist him on my back to calm him down. Photo courtesy of Martine de Luna.

Mommy Cor with Paola of Mommy Treats

Jenny of Mama.Baby.Love assisting moms

While I was off shmoozing and coaching, my Basti played with Martine's Vito and Paola's Sjofn. Photo courtesy of Martine de Luna.

It was so much fun and I can’t wait till the next one! Babywearing is alive and thriving in the metro, woohoo!!!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2011 7:32 am

    you did it, Elai! You used “Mommy “! Hahahhaa!

    • Eliza permalink
      July 3, 2011 8:54 am

      Haha! Pero talaga I’ve been using “Mommy” because of Gymboree. We call our clients “mommy” kasi “ma’m” is so SM Department Store. LOL.

  2. Apples permalink
    July 3, 2011 7:48 am

    ang daming ngang tao! It is a mayhem. Sort of glad i didn’t go. Pwedeng 1 on 1? Lol haha

    • Eliza permalink
      July 3, 2011 8:55 am

      But why not? Let’s have milk tea or coffee!

      • July 3, 2011 9:46 am

        Yay cge! Milk tea na lang. I’ll DM you on twitter na lang.

  3. July 3, 2011 8:13 am

    i was really so interested with baby wearing but i was not able to do this with my son, do you think i can still do it? my son will turn 2 years old in 2 months time + he is 17 kilos heavy. thanks 😀

    • Eliza permalink
      July 3, 2011 8:55 am

      If you can still take the weight, why not? Does your son still like being carried?

  4. July 3, 2011 9:32 am

    thanks for posting elai! it was crazy!! i didn’t expect that much people! and i am excited for the next one!! so kelangan talagang i-plan na!!

  5. July 3, 2011 11:00 am

    That was fun! It was my first time to go! I loved seeing so many babywearing moms and dads! Next time I’ll bring my husband 😉 So glad that our kids met, Elai!

  6. Ceemee permalink
    July 3, 2011 11:44 am

    There were so many people! I did learn about two kinds of baby slings but many moms were using the SaYa, I think. But I still don’t know which to get. Hehe!

    • Eliza permalink
      July 6, 2011 9:21 am

      It’s really just preference. I use all three! 😀 Choose the one that you’re most comfortable with. 🙂

  7. July 3, 2011 1:29 pm

    Really hope I can join next time! Congrats! ;D

  8. Jenny permalink
    July 4, 2011 12:03 am

    Hi Elai! Can you keep us posted with events like this? My friend will be due in less than three months from now and i really would like her to encourage baby wearing. I bought a ring sling when my baby was only 6mos-old but we only used it for i guess 3-4 times since: 1) I only learned to use it properly when he was turning 1 already *sad* ; and 2) he really doesn’t want to be carried anymore..making me a not so good example. Thanks you very much!

    • Eliza permalink
      July 6, 2011 9:20 am

      Yes, I’ll post the next one! It’ll be sometime next month. 🙂

  9. July 4, 2011 3:54 pm

    nice to finally meet you elai! 🙂 hope to see you soon in future mommy meets (that i;ll make sure I’ll attend)

    • Eliza permalink
      July 6, 2011 9:18 am

      Nice to meet you too! 😀 See you again soon!

  10. July 5, 2011 9:44 pm

    Hi! I was one of the mommies you coached during the meet. I read your blog but didn’t realize it was you who I talked to: until I read your blog 🙂 hahaha. thanks so much for the help:)

    • Eliza permalink
      July 6, 2011 9:16 am

      Haha! 😀 Very nice to meet you too! See you again at the next meet!

  11. Annie permalink
    September 3, 2011 4:03 pm

    I like what you have been blogging…im your new fan… and a soon to-be baby wearer!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 4, 2011 1:35 am

      Thanks for dropping by Annie! I hope you can come to the next babywearing event. The announcement will be soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Dainty Mom » Blog Archive » DaintyMom Was at the 2nd Babywearing Meet!
  2. Have Baby, Must Wear | The Painter's Wife

Leave a comment