Skip to content

Allaying the Fear: Steripod Toothbrush Sterilizers

August 3, 2011
tags:

Here’s one thing about me: I’m not a germ-o-phobe, at all. I’m not the most diligent person when it comes disinfection, even when Basti was a newborn. We keep things clean ENOUGH.

After going to a toilet that looks like this:

Ladies' room at Yamdrok Lake, Tibet

.. believe me, I can go ANYWHERE.

So it only follows that our bathroom paraphernalia are just casually strewn about without a care in the world. Until now.

First there was a post by Rone of Mothering Earthlings about her son using her toothbrush to clean the floor. Reading it made me look at Basti and his snicker and wondered if that was soon to be in my future.

And then just the other day, I walk in to the bathroom to see something that made me shudder and weak in the knees. If there’s one thing I truly hate in this world, it’s COCKROACHES. And there was one waiting to pounce on me from my bathroom rug, staring malevolently at me, sitting there like it owned this house. After it was sent to its final resting place by our helper, it got me thinking. Was that roach sitting there all this time? Where has it been? And my eyes zoomed in to my toothbrush and I almost died.

Enter OCMomInManila and bag of goodies that included this little contraption:

And so now, my toothbrush is cocooned in sterile goodness.

It’s supposed to be effective for 3 months. At the very least I can be assured that no stinking cucuracha will do the tango on my toothbrush.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Audrey permalink
    August 3, 2011 10:52 am

    Cockroaches scare the hell out of AJ, too! So, there’s a pest control team that comes to the house every month for treatment. And I thought *I* was OC! Haha!

    • Eliza permalink
      August 3, 2011 12:37 pm

      Really?? Parang I want that. Mahal?

  2. August 3, 2011 11:13 am

    Ooh I cannot wait for mine!
    What else was in the goodie bag? 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      August 3, 2011 12:37 pm

      Toothbrushes. 🙂 Save that for another blog post, haha!

  3. August 3, 2011 11:25 am

    Good day! I’m a fairly new reader of your blog. I discovered your blog when I was researching about baby carriers. We have a similar problem in our house. Cockroaches everywhere! One time, I really did see a cockroach on top of my husband’s toothbrush! Yuck! I wonder, where can I buy that sterilizer? Thanks! 😀

    • Eliza permalink
      August 3, 2011 12:37 pm

      Hi Hana! Thanks for dropping by! I asked the distributors and you can get the Steripod at Watson’s and SM Department stores. 🙂 The ipis probably think our toothbrushes are lounge chairs or something. *shudder*

      • August 3, 2011 5:16 pm

        thanks! will check them out. the ipis did look pretty comfortable on his toothbrush hahaha! you’re right though, they do stare at you like they own the house. so irritating! that’s when i whip out the bug spray and have a field day on them but now that i have baby, i use the spray sparingly. *sigh*

      • Eliza permalink
        August 3, 2011 5:50 pm

        Hahaha I have a blog post about ipis in my draft folder and I will dedicate it to you!

      • August 4, 2011 2:11 pm

        cool! thanks, i think…hahaha!!!

  4. August 3, 2011 7:17 pm

    We’ve always used toothbrush covers when we can, but lately I forgot to buy replacements. I love the Steripod! I never actually bought it, though, because I’d only come across brands that were more pricey. This is affordable…

    …but wait, I’m posting a review of my own, and I don’t wanna get ahead of myself, hehehe…

  5. merlin o. permalink
    September 8, 2011 10:49 pm

    does it maintain cleanliness by acting as a cover or there’s more to it? looks like a plain cover to me..though..

    • Eliza permalink
      September 8, 2011 11:36 pm

      Please read what it says on the product packaging on the picture I posted above. You can see the actual product if you ever pass by Watson’s or SM Supermarkets and read the information.

Leave a Reply

