Skip to content

The Filtered Life: Aquasana In My Home

August 8, 2011

Learning about the Aquasana water filter product line was inevitable for me as air. The local distributor, OC Mom In Manila, is a longtime colleague and friend, and I heard about it almost as soon as she launched it in the country.

Didn’t mean I rushed out to get one though. As a lifetime resident of a developing nation,the idea of showering in filtered water was not a top priority. Heck, my husband’s hometown still uses deepwell water for everything, including drinking water (read: poso with matching timba). As for water for consumption, we’ve always made do with delivered water and got by just fine.

OC Mom’s advocacy for a clean and healthy environment is infectious though. She posts about water safety, the dangers of plastic bottles and the dangers of the water inside plastic bottles, plus other OC stuff. Now that I’m in charge of a little person’s welfare, I’ve had to think long and hard about how this present world was affecting him. The “back in the old days” argument doesn’t hold water anymore. (Hold water.. get it? Hehe.)

I was actually hoping to win a shower filter from a blog contest on the Manila Fashion Observer, but as no-luck-in-raffles would have it, I didn’t win. I decided to get my feet wet with Aquasana (Pun again! I’m on a roll!) starting with a shower filter.

Since we have one of those handheld showers, it took a little McGyver-ing by the indefatigable Mang Ef (OC Mom’s go-to-guy and lifesaver) to install the filter in the bathroom. Don’t fret if you want one and your shower is some weird contraption. Mang Ef will find a way!

After a couple of weeks of bathing in filtered water, here are my comments, observations and general thoughts:

  1. My skin is softer. I don’t itch after I shower and I no longer get that whitish dry skin after taking a bath.
  2. My face is glowing! My pores are smaller, too!
  3. I have skin asthma, and my rashes dried up and no new ones are forming. For this alone, every penny of the Aquasana shower filter was well worth it.
  4. After a bath, Basti no longer has reddish eyes as if he just took a dip in a swimming pool. OC Mom told me this is because the filter removes a huge portion of the chlorine and chemicals used to treat our water.
  5. I filled a dipper with water straight from the tap and another one with water from the filter and I could really smell the chlorine in the unfiltered water.
  6. Because there are less chemicals in the water, my hair isn’t dry anymore. It’s not frizzy anymore, either! Since the water becomes PH-balanced, your hair products now work the way they should. There’s actually a product sold in SM branded as a Jonathan shower filter. This hair expert only uses filtered water when doing models’ hair during shoots because doing so yields different, better results. Said filter is actually an Aquasana shower filter. OC Mom told me that her mother-in-law’s falling hair problem was solved using the filter! It’s perfect now that I’ve decided to grow my hair back.

Because I was so happy with the shower filter, I went ahead and ordered the Complete Countertop Filtration Filter with Built-In Prefilter.

As OC Mom said in her post about bottled and delivered water, you don’t really know what goes on between point A and point B until it’s staring you in the face. The proverbial straw that broke my back was finding sediment in the containers of our supposedly purified and clean water we have delivered from a well-known water delivery franchise.

I asked OC Mom what the difference was between the Aquasana drinking water filter and the ones you find in hardware stores for a fourth of the price. She said, “First off, this is made in the U.S.A.  It has passed several tests and have certifications:
NSF-certified on standards 42 and 53 for Drinking water treatment units
– Certified performance data sheets from Underwriter Labs on the contaminants Aquasana is able to remove
– Certified by the California Department of Public Health Services”

Sounds good to me.

Mang Ef came again to deliver and install the product. He’s so nice.

There’s a certain freedom about drinking water that comes straight from your faucet. The countertop filter actually comes in a model that doesn’t have a pre-filter, but judging from the bits of sand and what-not that I occasionally see on the bottom of our pails, I got the one with the pre-filter. These pipes are old. The pre-filter works to take out any teeny-tiny bits that shouldn’t go into the water you drink.

I’m now an Aquasana convert. When The Painter and I finally build our dreamhouse, this will definitely be in the budget:

The Aquasana Rhino Whole House Water Filter

If you guys do decide to buy an Aquasana filter and found about it through my blog, I would very much appreciate if you drop this purchase code: thepainterswife. Referral points go to earning Messy Bessy product baskets, which we love too!! 😀

* All images courtesy of Aquasana Store Philippines

Full Disclosure: I purchased and paid for my Aquasana filters with my husband’s hard-earned money.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 12:56 pm

    i will post na din nga and compete with you on the referral code!!! competitive!! haha!!! seriously, the water filter is great! we’ve had ours since early this year and so far so good.

    • Eliza permalink
      August 8, 2011 3:23 pm

      My Kung Fu is better than your Kung Fu!!

  2. August 8, 2011 1:25 pm

    Love you guys =) Thanks for the support!

  3. August 9, 2011 11:00 am

    Great review! Will have to ask Kris again about set-up with rain shower fixture 🙂

  4. August 10, 2011 12:35 pm

    i’m saving up for the shower filter!! aquasana shower filter you will soon be mine!

Leave a Reply

