Skip to content

Like Mother, Like Daughter

August 28, 2011

My mom, like most mothers, is in charge of household accounting. She keeps all her stuff in this attache case (I love this term, it’s so 80s) that’s bursting at the seams. Even if my sister Yapi bought her a laptop, she prefers to keep her records in a planner and still writes everything down in a huge notebook. We’re all used to mom and her “portfolio” as she likes to call it (the same reason people call toothpaste “Colgate”, my sister thinks) and she always has it, even when we’re on vacation. I wish I could take a picture of it, but it so happens that the family is currently in vacation in Baguio and she took her “portfolio” with her, of course. It looks something like this:

Well now that I’ve taken the very same role that my mother plays in my own household, I began looking for my own “portfolio”. These are what I need to put in it.

  • iPad in a Dodo Case
  • A receipts organizer with (what else) receipts, bank books, deposit slips from Fabmanila
  • A notebook because sometimes you need to write stuff down
  • A case with my charger, Post-Its, earphones, pens and other office kuchi-kuchi.

Over dinner last week, Cecile showed me her new online shop and I fell in love with the bags. I got mine last Sunday.

 

Such a nice brown color. I actually was debating to get the pink or red, but I decided that I was not hip and happening anymore the tan one fit me best.

And this is all my stuff, with a lot of room to spare. A bag of chips maybe.

Want one? Hop on over to dotcomme or visit Madison Rockwell to get your own.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 10:17 am

    Like! Cute! 🙂

  2. August 28, 2011 5:06 pm

    Oh, no. This is a beautiful bag. I like the pink version naman, of course. Huhuhu. Must.Resist.The.Urge.

    • Eliza permalink
      August 28, 2011 8:34 pm

      Nako Martine. Let’s see if you can resist when you see it tomorrow, hehe.

  3. August 28, 2011 8:56 pm

    I can so relate. My dad has a “portfolio”. He isn’t doing the books or anything, it’s just full of clutter. Even if he has been given updated versions of the darn attache case he still uses the old, dilapidated one for “storage”. I was just admiring those bags yesterday. Can’t wait to see yours.

    • Eliza permalink
      August 29, 2011 12:05 am

      OMG now that I think about it, my mom also has another “portfolio” for storage!!! Does your dad have files and files of bills, letters, crap and other stuff?

      • August 29, 2011 12:08 am

        YES!!!! And he is sentimental pa so he has a plastic “portfolios” with birthday cards we gave him when we were kids. I had no idea until I helped him clean out his room once.

  4. September 3, 2011 12:55 am

    you have nice things too. my dodo case should be coming soon! wish you had a blackberry 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      September 3, 2011 1:00 am

      I can’t wait to see the Playbook in the Dodo case!!

      I’m so tempted to get a Blackberry to replace my Nokia.

Leave a Reply

