Skip to content

Manila Art 2011

September 3, 2011

The ManilArt fair was brought back to NBC tent this year. I couldn’t attend the gala with my husband so he was left to shmooz on his own. Sayang, I bought new shoes for the event! (Yes, that is the excuse I’ve decided to use to justify the purchase)

Basti and I were able to catch the last day. I’m not an art critic, so I’m just going to show you guys bits and pieces of what I saw in the booths. (Click to enlarge the images)

Of course, there’s my husband’s work in the Artes Orientes booth.

He shared the space with artists Tiny Nuyda, Ferdie Cacnio, Ricky Ambagan, and Hermes Alegre, to name a few.

Even if Orley is a realist, I like the quirky stuff too.

My dream house will not be complete without a sculpture or three.

Seeing artwork by Masters always takes my breath away.

ManilArt wouldn’t be complete if you don’t run into a few friends and colleagues.

Basti was thrilled to be there.

It was so nice to see red dots stuck on the artwork labels everywhere. I hope people will never stop buying art, and paying fairly for it.

Till next year!

Photo with Lyn-Yusi Olazo by Lyn Yusi-Olazo
Photos of Basti by Ayni Nuyda

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 12:11 pm

    elai!!! stan was there at gala night. he covered the event for contemporary art magazine. he was looking for you!

    • Eliza permalink
      September 4, 2011 1:35 am

      We only had one invitation! Talo!! 😀

  2. Eva permalink
    September 3, 2011 7:51 pm

    He’s so cute <3! And lovely paintings! 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      September 4, 2011 12:45 pm

      Thank you Eva!! 😀

  3. September 3, 2011 10:26 pm

    Sorry to your hubby but Basti stole the show (this post), he’s super cute esp. in the last collage! 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      September 4, 2011 1:34 am

      Hahaha! He is our good luck charm! 😀 Orley concedes!

  4. September 7, 2011 12:57 pm

    BASTI!!! i will always comment on posts with multiple pics of Basti!! hihihi

    I love the sculptures! There is an art gallery near our office where an Orlina sculpture is displayed by the window. I would always pass that gallery on my way to the ban and then I would look at the price tag again, look at my ATM receipt again, look at the price tag…..

    • Eliza permalink
      September 8, 2011 12:28 am

      I kinda regret that we sold our Orlina. 😦

  5. September 13, 2011 3:13 am

    shucks I missed this!! nakalimutan ko!!

Leave a Reply

