Skip to content

New! The Bailey Wrap: Review and How-To Picture and Video Guide

October 3, 2011

As I mentioned in my post about the Babywearing Meet 3, we met a couple of ladies who started making their own version of the wrap and called it The Bailey Wrap. I’ve mentioned wanting to try a wrap before. Then, the choices were to buy a Moby Wrap from the US, or find fabric and make one myself. Since I’m not really the DYI kind, I was so happy that there’s a local supplier already! Grace and Nicole were ever so generous to give me one to try out. I’ve been using it since the Babywearing Meet, and here are my thoughts.

  1. The child is wrapped so securely that even bending over felt safe. Of course, don’t risk doing so – always support your baby’s back and head when you have to reach down.
  2. The weight is beautifully distributed across both shoulders and back.
  3. Putting it on at first can be quite a challenge, and once you put it on, it’s a little hassle to take off again. If you’re wearing something fashionable, forget it. Make the wrap your fashion statement instead. (Pick a pretty color!)
  4. It folds into a convenient little pouch that makes it easy to pack into your diaper bag.
  5. Though the fabric is a little more breathable than its foreign counterparts, the wrap can still be a little warm. Make sure your baby doesn’t get overheated if you’re wearing it outdoors.
  6. The fabric is nice and stretchy, easy to wash and comes in a wide range of colors!

I wish I had this when Basti was a newborn. I can just imagine him being all snuggly inside the layers of cloth. We could’ve taken some pretty relaxing afternoon naps together.

Putting on the Bailey Wrap is quite similar to the SaYa, because it criss-crosses across your chest as well. Here’s a photo guide on how to put on the wrap and wear your baby in the front-carry position (facing back).

Click on the image to go to the step-by-step guide.

I also made a video:

But the people behind Bailey Wrap also have their own YouTube channel with instructional videos.

I’m so happy we have a local wrap supplier. The more, the merrier babywearing will be, don’t you think?

You can order the Bailey Wrap through their Facebook page or call 0922-8824426 or 0933-7200278. Happy babywearing!

 

 

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Tine permalink
    October 3, 2011 11:28 am

    Ooooh! I think I’m getting one. Ok ba for a 20 pounder? Love Basti’s cameo, by the way = )

    • Eliza permalink
      October 3, 2011 12:17 pm

      Yes! Basti is 10.7 kilos and it holds up really well! 😀

      And, haha, thanks!

  2. October 3, 2011 1:56 pm

    Galeng! I’ve never seen a wrap like it.

    • Eliza permalink
      October 3, 2011 8:46 pm

      It’s like the Moby Wrap! Now I just need to try the meitai and my commercial babywearing adventures will be complete. Sana I knew you earlier haha!

      • October 4, 2011 10:28 am

        I have a Moby Wrap. I will be getting a mei-tai style wrap next 😉

  3. October 3, 2011 3:00 pm

    Cute ni Basti sa picture guide! 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      October 3, 2011 8:46 pm

      Excuse lang yung guide. I really just wanted to post the pics haha.

  4. October 3, 2011 3:25 pm

    ang cute ni Basti! He is so daldal. Syempre I wasn’t listening to you anymore I was just looking at Basti and listening to his baby sounds 🙂

  5. October 3, 2011 6:25 pm

    Cute! It’s very similar to the Moby wrap! How cute is B here?! Hahaha!

    • Eliza permalink
      October 3, 2011 8:47 pm

      He’s so superstar. Haha!

  6. October 3, 2011 6:57 pm

    Nice review! 🙂 It’s like the Moby nga.. it looks just as functional, but I guess my SaYa is more than enough for me (loyal! haha!). 😀 though I like the extra support that the pouch provides on Basti’s back.

    • Eliza permalink
      October 3, 2011 8:49 pm

      The choice of a carrier is really just preference. They’re all great!

  7. October 3, 2011 8:59 pm

    What’s the difference with the Moby wrap?
    And by the way, ang galing ng talent mo ha! Nakatingin pa talaga sa camera! Sanay na sanay!

    • Eliza permalink
      October 3, 2011 9:12 pm

      No difference in construction. I have yet to hold a Moby in my hands but I was told by the suppliers that the fabric is better for our weather.

      And yes, may pinagmanahan yang si Basti, don’t you agree?

      • October 4, 2011 10:30 am

        no difference in construction but i think there is a difference in fabric. charmaine (or was it benz) was saying how the fabric of bailey is stretchier and thus you need to adjust it every so often. how was your experience elai?

      • Eliza permalink
        October 4, 2011 1:57 pm

        Ok naman. No need to adjust every so often. I want to see the Moby nga eh.

  8. cai permalink
    October 3, 2011 10:06 pm

    ang cute ni basti! haha! i don’t have patience now to learn to babywear with a saya or a bailey wrap. sa next baby ko na lang! pouch na lang muna ako. sa madali hahaha

    • Eliza permalink
      October 4, 2011 7:01 am

      I have to agree that the pouch is so super easy for children as old as Y and B. Shoot and go!

  9. October 6, 2011 2:46 pm

    i love the picture guide! pretty momma, adorable baby!

  10. joy permalink
    October 16, 2011 9:59 pm

    yey! im sooo excited when i saw them at eastwood city last friday, yung makers ng Bailey Wrap, i was just on lunch and looking round sa mga booth, thought i saw it somewhere.. dito nga pla. hahahaha!! Anyhow thanks sa video Eliza my husband said you look so effortless ang lakas mu daw, when we put it on kasi kylangan dalawa kame and 2months old plang baby namin.

    • Eliza permalink
      October 17, 2011 1:05 am

      Hahaha! Super sanay kasi si Basti to be worn that’s why he doesn’t give me any trouble. 😀 You’ll get there!

  11. January 6, 2012 8:49 pm

    Cute ni Basti! Thanks for the review and guide! I think I’ll get one 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      January 6, 2012 9:09 pm

      Heehee. Thank you! Have fun with your wrap!

Trackbacks

  1. The Painter’s Wife and Caleb’s Closet Honors International Babywearing Week! | The Painter's Wife

Leave a Reply

