Skip to content

Beauty, Brains and Breastfeeding Billboards: The Launch

October 21, 2011

I was invited to the unveiling of the latest campaign by Beauty, Brains and Breastfeeding last week at Lolo Dad’s at 6750. BBB is an organization that focuses on empowering women to breastfeed through information drives. This latest endeavor is in partnership with UNICEF.

Heading the organization as Director is Iza Abeja, and joining her for the campaign are UNICEF advocate for children Daphne Oseña-Paez and celebrity mom Patricia Bermudez-Hizon.

Photobucket
Iza breastfed her son Joaquin till he was six, and is still breastfeeding her daughter Amina, who is now four years old. Daphne breastfed all of her three daughters, Sophia, Lily and Stella, for at least 12 months. Patricia breastfed her sons Vicente and Paul, and told her how her husband Vince was her number one supporter during her breastfeeding journey.

The organization wants to emphasize the importance of support for breastfeeding in the workplace and also in the family, proper information and benefits about breastfeeding, and making people aware of the state of breastfeeding in the country.

We were able to sit down with these awesome women to talk about the campaign.
Photobucket
Of course we were there to see the unveiling of these:

Photobucket

Photobucket

There should already be a billboard as well on MIA Road in Pasay City, on the DILG Building on EDSA and one in Philcoa in Quezon City. More billboards are under negotiation and should be up soon.

Photobucket

 

I think this is a great campaign! The more mothers are empowered and informed about breastfeeding, then the better this world will become.

Have you seen the billboards? Tweet me a pic! Send me a tweet through @PaintersWifePH.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Luchi Ann Lagman permalink
    October 26, 2011 5:37 pm

    I saw you on TV! When you and two other breastfeeding moms were doing the interview for beauty, brains and breastfeeding. And I proudly pointed you out to my husband as THE ONE who encouraged me to continue breastfeeding. I still breastfeed and I marvel at the gift God has given me to nourish my baby. I think what you guys are doing is great! We do need more information badly, Ive been doing my share here in the south. But it frustrates me to see mothers feeding their babies formula when they are so capable to nurse them. Recently I encouraged a friend to breastfeed, she had inverted nipple and tried for a week and gave up, I was so frustrated but it is her choice. I was watching a tv segment about teenage parents on tv and this baby was fed with a brownish colored liquid, maybe a chocolate drink or something, to think it would have saved them money if he was breastfed, and he wouldnt be that sickly.

    • Eliza permalink
      October 26, 2011 5:42 pm

      Hi Luchi!! Yikes, you saw me, haha! How are you doing??? I’m so happy you’re doing your part there in the south. It’s good to know we have a breastfeeding champion there!

      I feel bad for your friend. Inverted nipples need to be addressed with a special attachment kasi. 😦 It’s really very difficult to nurse when you have inverted nipples. Maybe for her next child?

      • Luchi Ann Lagman permalink
        November 1, 2011 6:42 pm

        Im doing good thanks! My daughter is going to be eight months old next week! To think I was telling myself before to at least breastfeed until shes six months old. Now my husband told me to breastfeed until shes five!haha Yes, I should tell my friend that. I read somewhere that expectant mothers focus so much on the labor and birthing that they dont prepare on the important part, the after birth. I admit I am one of those women, I should have read about breastfeeding, etc. Anyway, congratulations on being a Latch counselor!

      • Eliza permalink
        November 4, 2011 11:40 am

        Thank you Luchi, and I’m really glad to hear that you and your baby girl are doing really well. 🙂 8mos and going!! Don’t forget to check out the entries of all the bloggers who participated in the blogging carnival about extended breastfeeding. 🙂

  2. November 2, 2011 12:24 pm

    I can’t wait to see this billboard. We should have more like these…

    • Eliza permalink
      November 4, 2011 11:36 am

      I agree! The more efforts there are to promote breastfeeding, the better!

Leave a Reply

