Skip to content

The Little Mermaid Hits Manila This November!

November 4, 2011

My first experience with The Little Mermaid onscreen was from a betamax copy that my mom rented from the local bootleg movie rental shop. I absolutely loved it. Here’s a clip.

 

Then Disney came out with their full-animated feature and I swear it changed the animation landscape altogether. More than the story, the music was captivating (sue me but I like the version where she dies). Did you guys know that I named Basti after Sebastian the crab? Yep, that I did. And up to this day, I still sing “Part of Your World” in the shower.

So, this coming musical is exciting for me:

One of my closest friends in the world, Pia, is in charge of the matinee shows for November 26 and November 27. Seems like a good time to bring your Ariel-wannabee to a play, right? I’m watching on the 27th. If you go to the same show, I hope to meet you!

Disney’s Little Mermaid in Manila

November 26, 2pm
November 27, 3pm
Meralco Theater, Ortigas Ave.
Call Pia (0917-8686528) or Angie (0917-5127704) for ticket reservations.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 3:03 pm

    I also like original version where she dies better!!! I has a Hans Christian Andersen book and The Little Mermaid was my favorite story in it. I felt cheated when Disney changed the story.

    • Eliza permalink
      November 11, 2011 2:49 am

      I know what you mean! I think I’ll make Basti watch the original first so he won’t be as heartbroken. At least he knows she’s supposed to die. But didn’t.

  2. November 7, 2011 10:58 pm

    Oh I did not know that about Basti!!!! haha! cute! You should teach him the Jamaican accent!

    • Eliza permalink
      November 8, 2011 12:39 am

      Haha and when he’s older I’ll make him wear a crab costume!

  3. November 10, 2011 10:08 pm

    I bought from Pia and we’re watching on the 27th too! See you 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      November 11, 2011 12:47 am

      Yey! See you there! (As if hindi tayo nagkikita ng madalas)

Leave a Reply

