Skip to content

Fess Up!: The Mothering Earthlings Babywearing Confessional Giveaway

January 16, 2012

I’m happy to announce the first giveaway for 2012 is sponsored by one of my favorite online stores, Mothering Earthlings!

Photobucket

The mom behind Mothering Earthlings is Rone Valles-Guerrero, who also writes a fun, quirky blog under the same name. She writes candidly and honestly, and her adventures with her two earthlings are always something I look forward to reading. Her store reflects much of her family’s personality, full of products handpicked and selected by Rone for those looking for hip stuff for their kiddos.

For this confessional, Mothering Earthlings is giving away this Next9 ringsling!

Photobucket

Rone was also a babywearing mama when the earthlings were smaller.

Photobucket
Here’s Basti and I  taking a walk along the seaside in Toledo, Cebu. Complete with the banca and the dogs and everything.

Photobucket
The ringsling is my current favorite carrier. With Basti pushing two years old, its versatility is something I love. Among all carriers, it’s the one I feel most comfortable with when doing a back carry.

In my entire babywearing life, I find that wearing Basti has been so liberating. I’m able to bring him everywhere and do everything with him!. Okay, I will confess. The strangest thing I’ve done while wearing Basti was TO TAKE A SHOWER.

No, there are no pictures.

Basti was only a few months old then. He was dirty, fussy, in a bad mood and it was a really hot day. So I popped my little earthling into a carrier and we took a nice bath together. He loved the feeling of the warm water on his back. It soothed him. With him safely tucked into the carrier, I was hands-free to wash him, and my hair!

So for this Mothering Earthlings Confessional, we ask:

What is the strangest thing you’ve done while wearing your earthling?

Details, Details:

  1. Post a comment on this blog entry answering the question: What is the strangest thing you’ve done while wearing your earthling?
  2. The Painter’s Wife and the Earthlings Mama will choose the top 5 answers. From these answers, we choose one winner of the Next9 Ringsling.
  3. Actual sling print may vary from the photo shown above.
  4. Giveaway is open to anyone in the Philippines.
  5. Submission of answers is open from Jan. 16, 2012 to Jan. 29, 2012, 11:59:59 pm.
Can’t wait to read your confessions!
You may contact/shop Mothering Earthlings at:
Shop: www.motheringearthlings.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/MotheringEarthlings
Twitter: @EarthlingsMama

 

32 Comments leave one →
  1. Arra Morta permalink
    January 16, 2012 2:54 pm

    oh my,i really wish i had one:)It looks so comfortable:)

    well,i the strangest thing I’ve done while wearing my earthling is when I poop,gross but it’sreally true.We are only the two of us in our house (when my hubby has seminars from nearby towns )and she’s so malikot that’s why I’d rather bring her along with me in the toilet than being paranoid of thinking if she’s OK waiting for me or not,she knocked herself in her stroller thrice and I dont want that to happen anymore.Well,she’s behave nmn inside coz I’m singing her a song while I’m doing my thing…I just dont take too long coz she’s the type to get easily bored:)And when I’m done I just let her grip my long hair(good thing it’s strong!)And wash my hands afterwards,still carrying her:)By the way she’s just 9 months…

  2. April Rose Lucero Bautista permalink
    January 16, 2012 3:00 pm

    breastfeed..while waiting in line to pay for groceries at SM. this happened a day before the new year. my one year old keeps on tugging at my blouse and gestures that he needs to be fed..so i had to give in 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      January 16, 2012 3:02 pm

      I’ve done this too! High five, haha!

  3. January 16, 2012 3:17 pm

    The strangest thing I have ever done while wearing my baby was to pee. We were in the mall and I really had to go.. Rather than leave my baby to some stranger, I decided to go with him! I think he was about a year old when I did this! It was truly an unforgettable moment.

    • Eliza permalink
      January 17, 2012 3:13 am

      Babywearing saves the day! 😀

  4. January 16, 2012 3:42 pm

    The strangest thing I’ve done while wearing my earthling was having a teeny tiny detail added to my dragonicorn (fusion of dragon and unicorn) tattoo. Attika is six months old now and loves to kick, tug my hair and clothes, grab anything within her reach, or do all of those at the same time. On this particular event though, she behaved and observed like a little lady would when she’s watching something of Herculean importance like Phineas and Ferb.

    • Eliza permalink
      January 17, 2012 3:14 am

      Getting inked while babywearing – like!

      Now I’m getting ink-itch!! 😀

  5. Sherilyn permalink
    January 16, 2012 3:43 pm

    I’m a shameless public breastfeeder. The strangest thing I’ve ever done while wearing my Toodleloo was to breastfeed her while eating gyudon (sliced beef bowl) at a Yoshinoya in Tokyo. To appreciate this better, you have to know that most Yoshinoya establishments in Japan only have counter seating and are frequented by men in a hurry to have a quick cheap filling meal (many are salary men and blue collar workers). And here I was leisurely eating my gyudon with my husband with a breast popped out as the Toodleloo nursed contentedly. My husband is willing to bet that I’m the first ever to breastfeed at any Yoshinoya branch. (I’ll be home in Manila this January-March!)

    • Sherilyn permalink
      January 16, 2012 3:49 pm

      I already have a gorgeous plain dark green Next9 sling which the Japanese always compliment as “suteki” (pretty) but I would love to win another one to give to my friend who is giving birth soon. 🙂

      • Eliza permalink
        January 17, 2012 3:16 am

        I have three ringslings! It’s ok if you want it for yourself too, hee hee.

        We’re planning a babywearing meet soon – hope to see you there!

      • Sherilyn permalink
        January 17, 2012 8:06 am

        Cool! Would love to join. Please include me in your mail list and hope we can make it!

  6. gem permalink
    January 16, 2012 4:41 pm

    my baby was only 4wks old back then when i had gone for my follow up check up regarding my cs bikini cut. since i was very very hungry, i asked my husband to buy slice of pizza for me to eat so when it was my turn for the checkup, i was still wearing my baby and removing him from my carrier is a bit tedious so, my ob welcomed the idea that i lie down for a quick check while still wearing my baby and oh boy, we made it possible! he is sleeping soundly and it would break my heart if taking him out from the carrier would wake him up and eventually cry! 🙂 strange, difficult but true! ^_^

  7. Precious Quintos permalink
    January 16, 2012 7:29 pm

    The strangest thing I’ve done while wearing my earthling was ride public transport. That includes bumpy 40minute tricycle ride, hopping on a(slightly) moving bus going to Manaoag Church, sitting in front of jeepney since buses are on strike, standing inside a moving bus on our way home to be on time for media noche (not too many “abled” person give up their seat for old, pregnant and with baby anymore), etc. My baby (and soon to be my amazing race partner) just turned 4 months old by the way. 🙂

  8. January 17, 2012 1:32 am

    I love this! A babywearing confessional hehehe

    I’ve been wearing my baby since he was born so it’s been 17mos of strangeness. Let’s see,
    showered while wearing baby, check
    peed in the mall restroom while wearing baby, check
    [insert household chores] while wearing baby, check
    shopped in divisoria while wearing baby, check
    volunteered while wearing baby, check (packing stuff for typhoon victims)

    tried on different skirts in mall dressing room while wearing baby, check
    This is my favorite because I looked pretty darn odd changing in and out of skirts with a baby on me, like shopping while pregnant, but not. ^.^

    I have to say though that the cs-bikini-cut-check-while-wearing-baby wins this round. Never had to do that but probably would have if I were in her situation. Babywearing ftw.

  9. January 18, 2012 3:26 am

    I think I’ve done ALL of the above! 🙂 LOL! Just wanted to “say my piece.” Good luck to all the contest-joiners! 🙂

  10. January 18, 2012 8:50 pm

    The strangest thing I’ve done so far wearing my baby on a wrap was to ride several public transpo in a day- tricycle, jeep and taxi- going to a mall alone. Then I shopped (that was Christmas), ate in a fastfood and peed in the mall’s CR.

    • Eliza permalink
      January 21, 2012 4:15 pm

      Babywearing made it possible no? Yey!

  11. kathleen s. laurito permalink
    January 23, 2012 5:19 pm

    This is going to be embarrassing haha..
    I can’t help it I had a pretty bad stomach pain and I really have to go respond to nature’s call hahaha.. I placed my baby in my sling and made poop . he was behave while i was doing my thing .. I also use my sling while getting the laundry or while washing the dishes…my baby loves to be in it. 🙂

  12. Des Penales permalink
    January 24, 2012 10:43 am

    The strangest thing I’ve done which always make heads turned is baby wearing while brisk walking. My earthling is my human weights and I love it! And she sleeps so soundly too while I’m on it 🙂 thanks to baby wearing you can do almost everything!

  13. Kariz permalink
    January 24, 2012 12:53 pm

    The strangest thing I’ve done, byfar, while babywearing is play Fruit Ninja for Kinect XBOX 360! (Where you move your entire body to chop up the fruits- arms legs head, whatnot!)

    My little earthling has gotten into the habit of comfort nursing last December, and she wouldn’t sleep by herself either. So after a couple of weeks of nothing but sleeping, nursing, more sleeping and more nursing, I’ve gained 5 (very much unwanted) pounds!! And no, that wasn’t what I wanted for Christmas. I was already expecting the holiday weight gain, so comfortnursing weight gain was not welcomed.

    Since baby earthling loves being rocked asleep, she had no problem dozing off to dreamland while I kick some serious fruit ass, ninja style! Oh, and if you havent tried it yet, you should! It’s great teamwork! Lil earthling actually managed to slice and dice a few fruits while asleep 😀

  14. Richelle Lim permalink
    January 24, 2012 5:36 pm

    Have worn my second little earthling everywhere!…while shopping in malls/grocery, having dinner out with friends and family, to the bathroom while answering nature’s call, to hospital check-ups, to church weddings, christmas parties…everywhere! One time, a lady even came up to me and asked where I got the sling 🙂

    The strangest would have to be at my eldest son’s big school parent’s orientation. The speakers happen to be old teachers of mine as well and they acknowledged my presence and asked me to stand up in front of the big group while my little earthling was busy snoozing and nursing away in the sling 🙂

    Babywearing Rocks!!! 🙂

  15. Mia Castrillo permalink
    January 24, 2012 7:49 pm

    I love this confession thing! (Insert sheepish look here!) I have four girls and I’ve been babywearing since my first child was born. That was 10 years ago, before I even heard of the word “babywearing.” LOL! I can say, I’ve done all of the above except for the CS check up, since all my daughters were born normal. One of the most memorable was when I wore my 1 month old baby to my sister’s wedding. I was one of the secondary sponsors and I had a sling made that matched my breastfeeding gown. The baby marched with me down the aisle, was with me when I pinned the veil on my sister (I was the veil sponsor) and was quietly sleeping and breastfeeding the whole time the wedding was on going. I love how everybody was amazed that my baby was so “behaved.” Hihihi! 🙂

  16. Donna Elaine Quiambao permalink
    January 25, 2012 11:48 pm

    The strangest thing I’ve done while wearing my earthling is to wear it one in front and one at the back because i have two kids and make dinner for my hubby. 😀 I know its hard but yeah i need to do it! Im a super mom.. LOL..

  17. lilibeth orquia permalink
    January 26, 2012 12:55 pm

    My soon to be 2 years old son is very clingy, so I have to bring/carry him everywhere (even when i needed to poop, pee and shower)… but I the strangest thing I’ve done while wearing my earthling is when were traveling (I’m a single mom) I carry him in front, backpack then bags on both shoulders… 🙂

    • Shelly Francine Basa permalink
      February 14, 2013 11:59 pm

      Just curious,are you one of the Orquias based in Baguio?Tnx.

      • Eliza permalink
        February 15, 2013 10:40 am

        Hi! Is this a question for Rone?

  18. anna mogueis permalink
    January 26, 2012 1:14 pm

    It’s not actually just my confession, but OUR confession. The strangely, hilarious thing that my earthling and I have done is POOP together. I’m a hands-on-mom and I don’t have anyone to help me with the little one when my husband is at work. One time, I just had to go and my little one was awake. I just had to bring her along with me to do my thing. I placed her in my SAYA, and coincidentally, while I was scrunching up my face while pooping, she did the same thing! It was so funny because both of us were having a hard time pooping and we did it at the same time! =p

  19. January 27, 2012 3:04 pm

    Nothing too strange really but for me the strangest is doing the dishes while I’m wearing my 11 month old on my back with my jellybean ring sling. My daughter is very much attached to me so when I leave her while I do housechores, she cries so baby wearing is really helpful for instances like this.

  20. Joy Merced permalink
    January 27, 2012 11:46 pm

    Strangest thing i did while babywearing was horseback-riding then trying to do some jumpshots! The horseback ride didn’t last too long because my baby fell asleep and the jumpshots? Well i really didnt get that high, didn’t want to hurt my baby.. 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      January 28, 2012 11:27 pm

      You’re crazy! 😀 But hmmm.. With a secure carrier like an Ergo, helmets for both of us, a docile and good-tempered gelding…I may just attempt it too, hehe! Well first I have to ride again. Haven’t been on a horse since ’06!

Trackbacks

  1. Winners! (The Yellow Mustard Seed Tooth Tissues Giveaway) | The Painter's Wife

Leave a Reply

