Skip to content

Yes, I Have A Crafty Side: Fun With Papercraft

January 17, 2012

Here’s something some people find off-putting about me: I love crafts. I like cutting, sewing, glueing and generally, putting things together. I find it relaxing and therapeutic. Those of you who like gift-wrapping and covering books in plastic wrap can relate, I bet.

I do cross-stitch.

I have a craft box.

My sister recently got me into my new crafting obsession. It all started when she needed help cutting out the parts for this project. I don’t know about you guys, but we are huge fans of Howl’s Moving Castle.

IMG_1304

Welcome people, to the world of papercraft!

The details of this model are amazing! From the tiny houses, to the clothesline, to the bucket, to little Calcifer sitting happily in his fireplace.

Photobucket

It wasn’t long before I got itchy fingers and wanted to try out the assembling part myself. Now, most of the papercraft templates are for “geekier” characters, such as my sister’s World of Warcraft stuff.

But I found something that was more to my liking. Let me introduce my first project, Russell from Up!

IMG_1333

Isn’t he cute? I love the little details of his backpack and his uniform.

Photobucket

Here’s what you need to get started with papercraft:

Glue, scissors, an X-acto knife, tweezers, a palette (for mixing water to glue. You can use any plastic surface), a brush (for the glue. A toothpick is useful too), a cutting mat and lots and LOTS of patience. The smaller pieces can be frustrating. If you have to make a round shape, the paper will fight you to the death. I use vellum board for my models, but the websites say you can use regular paper.

It’s a fun activity to do with your kids. The projects range from really easy (rubber-band toys, mobiles, gift boxes) to the really difficult (a drum set, The Black Pearl from Pirates of the Caribbean). If you want to do this Russell model, you can find the download here.

Russell is now happily positioned between Basti’s ultrasound picture and me in a Batman suit.

My sister and I are doing a Millenium Falcon for our brother Carlo for our next project. This is so addicting!

 

23 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 3:23 pm

    wow! i wish i were as good as you when it comes to crafts. i used to cross stitch but it didn’t last. i am grateful that my daughter loves crafts though… 🙂

  2. January 17, 2012 3:25 pm

    That’s SO cool! I used to do paper crafts. But I’ve limited myself to doing cards nalang now, haha.

    • Eliza permalink
      January 17, 2012 3:28 pm

      It’s my new therapy. Cheaper than spa. Haha!

  3. January 17, 2012 4:11 pm

    Wow! I love your replica of Russell! Love all those little details.

    • Eliza permalink
      January 21, 2012 4:16 pm

      I must admit it was the backpack that sold me, hehe.

  4. January 17, 2012 4:11 pm

    Patience… hmmm…..
    Those are very nice and look very hard to do!

    • Eliza permalink
      January 21, 2012 3:08 am

      There are projects that are super simple, if you want to get your feet wet slowly. 🙂

  5. nachobing permalink
    January 17, 2012 6:21 pm

    wow this is so cool!

    your next project (millenium falcon) makes me want to try this out with the fam – us being SW junkies hehe.

    do post that also when you’re done.

    cheers!

    • Eliza permalink
      January 21, 2012 3:08 am

      May the force be with us! Haha! 🙂

  6. January 18, 2012 12:59 pm

    haha, i love to craft too! i have a pinterest board na CRAFTS for all the stuff online i come across that i want to do …er…someday…when i have more “free time” (read: never?). how cute naman yapi’s little castle! and i love your Russell! i did Carl once at work, saw the printable at the disney site, but it’s the boxy type, not rounded 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      January 21, 2012 4:15 pm

      Oh I saw that! Cubee Carl!

      • January 22, 2012 8:54 am

        yeah that one! haha, so cute, with his cane and all, (the tennis balls got hard tho haha, i have no patience unlike you!!!)

        russell’s backpack is so coooooooooooool

  7. January 18, 2012 8:28 pm

    I totally get what you say that people are sometimes put off when you say you like crafts. They think crafts = handicrafts, haha. While other people are so obsessed with getting the latest iPhone model, I invest on yarn because I’m currently trying to learn how to crochet (yes… in tropical Philippines) and trying to build a stash. Love your Russel!

  8. January 24, 2012 11:04 am

    OMG! I’m very impressed.

  9. February 6, 2012 2:30 pm

    Ooh interesting! My little girl and I love arts and crafts and we run out of ideas most of the time. This is such a nice bonding project to get into =)

  10. Iza permalink
    February 21, 2012 12:27 pm

    Late reaction: I am a fan of How’s Moving Castle, too! (And Totoro!)

  11. Teresa B permalink
    January 8, 2013 11:46 am

    Can you tell me the name of the cross stitch lady design?

    Very pretty!

    Thank you!
    Teresa

    • Eliza permalink
      January 18, 2013 1:25 pm

      Hi Teresa! It’s called “Afternoon Maiden”. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. I Am Not Dead. Not Yet, Anyway | The Painter's Wife

Leave a Reply

