Skip to content

Our Cebu Holiday

March 10, 2012

The Painter is from Cebu. Even after 20 years of living in Metro Manila, he has not and will never lose his Visayan accent. Once or twice a year, we go home to his hometown in Cebu, a nicely tucked-away baranggay called Mainggit, in Toledo. It’s a whole area filled with Ypons, and we can’t walk a hundred feet without my husband calling out, “‘Gaw! ‘Musta ‘gaw!” (Cousin!! How are you??)

I’m so happy we have a place like this to visit. One of my frustrations growing up was that we never had a province. When we were very young, we used to visit a relative’s rice field in Bulacan. We would take long walks in the paddies, trying not to fall into the mud, go fishing for tilapia in the ponds, climb trees and eat on banana leaves. It was heaven. I’m so grateful Basti has the chance to taste provincial life. With all the development going on in the area, it won’t be long till going home means just going to another city.

I was really excited and some nice people sent me stuff that were really useful for the trip!

IMG_1668

 

Human Heart Nature sent me a sampler set of their baby care line. Perfect traveling sizes! I loved the baby bath and lotion, and the oil was very useful for Basti’s after-bath massage. No Aquasana water filters there. Basti’s skin easily dried from the weather and the water. Check out one of Basti’s bath sessions!

DSC_0611
Mothercare sent Urtekram zinc cream that was very useful for the tiny bites and booboos we both got during the trip. We did a lot of walking around on uneven ground, plus all these leafy green things (i.e. plants) had so many inhabitants. #cityfolkproblems Urtekram has a full range of organic baby products, all available at Mothercare.

IMG_1665

I wanted to bring the Flexibath I bought from them on the trip, but I was overweight as it is. (I said this all over Twitter: I don’t understand why infants don’t get even a little bit of baggage allowance. They have more stuff than we do! Plus, it’s not like they’re flying for free.) I also wanted to bring my SkipHop diaper bag, but it was also too much. I bought it at Mothercare months and months ago too, at the best price compared to anywhere!

Basti loved playing with all the kids. On my side he’s only got 2 cousins, but in Cebu he has 10. Add his siblings and it’s a party everyday!

We spent days on the beach that was just a short walk away from The Painter’s house. And as usual, for my husband, there can be no play without work. He dragged us out to a river, stripped down Basti to nothing, and had us pose for future paintings. Basti loved the river!! I didn’t even want to think about the carabao we saw taking a bath upstream. Hehe.

DSC_0967

My constant companion was my Next9 ringsling. From airport to van terminal to tricycle to seaside to the market and for the strange-house anxiety Basti got on our first night, it was a lifesaver. Traveling really is so much easier when babywearing!

Photobucket

I can’t wait to see how Basti will appreciate the province more as he grows up. One thing we have yet to experience is the town fiesta! I heard it gets really crazy with all the relatives that come in to visit. Oh just give me this and I’m ok:
100_0082

This was one of the SIX lechons we encountered over the holidays. #heartattack

Ok so now I want lechon.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2012 8:28 am

    Lechon from Cebu tastes like no other!

    It was such a pleasure reading this. It brought me home, although I’m from Cebu’s neighboring island of Bohol.

    To you, The Painter, and you adorable little Basti, “Ayo, ayo!”

    • Eliza permalink
      March 10, 2012 11:08 pm

      Ayo ayo pud, ‘day! 😀

  2. Ceemee permalink
    March 10, 2012 1:51 pm

    How much does it cost to go to Cebu? It is part of my to go list. But I would be bringing three kids. No baggage allowance, oh my!

    • Eliza permalink
      March 10, 2012 11:08 pm

      Airfare can be quite affordable if you chance upon a good deal. The only ones with no baggage allowance are the infants seated on laps. We’ve never stayed in a hotel or resort in Cebu so I’m no help there! 😀 Have fun when you do go. I love Cebu!!

  3. March 10, 2012 10:43 pm

    No baggage allowance for paid toddler airfare is crazy! I agree, they have MORE stuff needed for travel than we adults do!
    Anyhow, I soooo envy you on this trip — having this back-to-nature experience with Basti. I just hope we get this chance for my kids too. Ang galing ng sling power! 🙂

    Haaayyy, lechon… goodbye cholesterol-watch!

    • Eliza permalink
      March 10, 2012 11:08 pm

      Mag-glamping na lang tayo, hehe.

  4. March 11, 2012 12:02 pm

    i CANNOT agree with you more on the baby baggage allowance. do airlines think that that babies need nothing?!!

    • Eliza permalink
      March 13, 2012 1:24 am

      Apparently they do not need clothes at all daw.

  5. June 30, 2012 5:52 pm

    Cebu is the best place to be, best seafood and lechon. I’m a true blue manila girl but I consider Cebu my home, my hubby is also bisayang dako. ayo ayo!

    • Eliza permalink
      July 6, 2012 5:11 pm

      now i want lechon!! your fault!

Leave a Reply

