Skip to content

A Life To #LiveMore: A Smart LiveMore Post

April 8, 2012

I’ve always been a little on the tongue-in-cheek-shrug-the-shoulder kind of gal. I breezed through school without a care for achievements and what-not. I breezed through my youth in the same way. I lived and loved and I always tried to Go For It.

I was ready to take on this la-la-land mindset for the rest of my single life. Once upon a time, I thought I was never ever getting married, never having kids, and I embraced a future of single, selfish living. But God had other plans.

In a whirlwind romance that lasted 3 months, from the moment I met The Painter to the moment I said “I do”, my whole world was changed. On the surface, it seemed like a fairy-tale; the girl who married the artist, the one who would be his muse, to live a life of romance, art, sunsets and passion. It was like that for a little while, until real life set in. Most married women will tell you there is that one moment in your marriage when you realize your life isn’t yours anymore. When that moment comes, you do one of two things: you eat lots of chocolate, or you go insane. I went for the chocolate.

That moment came to me one hot, humid day in May. I was tired, I was stinky, I had a flab of skin hanging above my waist, and I was carrying a wailing newborn baby boy who wanted nothing else but to nurse 10 million times a day. I felt alive and dead, useless yet used, running on empty and wanting for things I actually needed: a bath, a decent meal, and please please Lord, just two straight hours of precious precious sleep.

And that’s when I started writing. Blogging. With fury and honesty and sometimes a foot in the mouth I went on a quest to #LiveMore – still myself, but as a wife, a mother, a parent, a breastfeeder, a babywearer… and after some time I realized my life at that point has become so much more than anything I ever imagined. And it had only been a couple of months.

I still have my tongue in my cheek and  I shrug my shoulders a lot these days. It’s all because everyday of my life I get to witness my little boy #LiveMore along with me. I get to see The Painter have wordless conversations with a brush, a palette and an empty canvas, and I see the result of that in glorious, heart-wrenching beauty for the rest of my life. It is not a perfect life, but perfection was never the goal. Living more to me never was about living and walking on a straight line.

So how do I #LiveMore? I have a rough formula: a hug a day, kisses on demand, laughter whenever possible, understanding the need to be alone, bacon, a stick of butter and letting go of the expectations of what being a wife, mother and a couple should be.

So how about you? What’s your #LiveMore story?

** This post is sponsored by Smart Communications

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2012 12:00 pm

    I had no idea you began blogging post-partum — I guess that’s one thing at least that we have in common, haha. (But I think I can compete with you and win on the flab-above-the-waist part.)

    I love entries like this, especially coming from you!

    • Eliza permalink
      April 8, 2012 12:14 pm

      Haha! Actually “really” blogging began then. Parang it took more life after that. I had two other blogs before this from 2002 pa, on livejournal and Multiply, but it was a lot of fluff and friends-only crap.

    • Eliza permalink
      April 8, 2012 12:15 pm

      LOL it’s still alive! http://chilets.livejournal.com/

      • April 8, 2012 2:06 pm

        Oo nga. I wouldn’t have bought my own domain kundi ako serious about it.

        I had a few blogs from, 2001-2002. That was on a Tabulas account, also a Pitas account. Both were depositories for all my my angsty, PK/MK day entries, which were rather depressing.Kaka-break up pa namin ni Ton, kaya, well… buhay, parang life. Then I discovered Multiply nung “in” siya with Friendster, and I deleted all my embarrassing Friendster and Multiply entries after I got married. Haha.

  2. April 8, 2012 5:43 pm

    My #LiveMore story:

    Fresh out of college, I decided to become a high school teacher. Most of the people I knew, friends and family included, felt like it was such a waste. I was smart, driven and hardworking. I could have done so much better in corporate, they said. But in teaching, I found purpose and satisfaction.

    When I decided to get married and become a stay-at-home mom, I was again told that I was wasting my life. I should work outside the home, they said, not waste my potential in household management. But in the simplicity of my life as a wife and mother, I found strengths and talents that I never imagined myself having. In the life that others felt was a waste in light of what I could have been, I found happiness and contentment and I can’t imagine being anywhere else or doing anything else.

    I realized that all my life, I have never taken the path that others felt I should. Instead, I chose less traveled paths that ended up taking me on a journey more beautiful than I have ever imagined. In choosing not to “live up to my potential”, I ended up being able to #LiveMore.

    • Eliza permalink
      April 11, 2012 3:01 am

      Motherhood is the hardest job in the world. Hard na nga, we don’t get paid pa. Hehe.

  3. April 10, 2012 11:09 am

    I have to thank you for this post. Just exactly what I needed, I felt like you just gave me a pat in the shoulder. I can commiserate on this part: “felt alive and dead, useless yet used, running on empty and wanting for things I actually needed: a bath, a decent meal, and please please Lord, just two straight hours of precious precious sleep.”

    And so I turned to blogging also.. and somehow, life as a first time mother has become a little more bearable. Posts like this inspire me.. Thank you for sharing and and please continue to inspire people.. 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      April 11, 2012 3:01 am

      High five! Keep calm and blog on, wink. 😉

Leave a Reply

