Skip to content

More Mother’s Day Treats: My Azta Urban Salon Mommy Makeover

May 9, 2012

My hair started falling out 4 months after Basti was born, and it has not been the same since then. I’ve chopped it off, grown it long, had it relaxed, layered, trimmed…. and it was still a pathetic mass of fibers on my head.

So when Azta Urban Salon invited me for an afternoon of pampering, I couldn’t say yes fast enough. I’ve been to Azta salons more than a few times in my life. I used to visit their Metrowalk branch all the time, and went to Katipunan a few times as well. It was my first time to visit their Eastwood branch.

Before anything else, here’s the “Before” shot.

Photobucket

Don’t say anything about the hair. Kaya nga “before” eh. My stylist-slash-stress reliever for the day was Angie. A mom herself, she understands all too well the effects of hormonal changes on hair. Add that to the fallouts of childbirth, along with saggy tummies and stretch marks (which I am taking care of as well. More on that later). Angie recommended a shorter cut, a color and a treatment. With that in place, I settled back with my iPad and some magazines. (Free PLDT WiFi zone connection, all ye mompreneurs who need to work all the time!)

While waiting for my treatment, let’s take a look around Azta, shall we?

Photobucket

It’s a very well-appointed salon, with lots of space, great lighting and pictures of young people jumping for joy with such youth and vigor. Now, Azta may strike you as a place that caters to young people (read: younger than me), but the place is very inviting and appealing to all ages. Azta’s prices are very inviting too. Here’s their current menu of services. (Click on the picture to enlarge)

Azta Menu of Services

Service is very good, and very considerate. The stylists never leave you without saying when they’ll be back, and they always explain the treatment as you go along. They offered me a cup of coffee, and when it came, the mug had a cover so hair wouldn’t fall in it while my hair was getting cut. It’s in the little things, I tell you.

The color they used on my hair was a new brand from Taiwan that uses MLV-Tech. It’s a low-ammonia, semi-permanent cream. I haven’t had my hair colored in about a decade, so I was pleased to see that Angie chose a classic golden brown and copper for me. My cut was a layered bob and side bangs, and she used the two different colors on different areas to create highlights and lowlights. Description pa lang, glamor na!

I also got their Lycopene treatment, which is a procedure that’s just the thing for colored hair.

IMG_0470
It contained mint and was the best part of that very hot summer day. That, combined with Angie’s assistant Richard’s exceptional head and back massage almost had me in tears. You know that feeling when you’re so super stressed and super tired then finally given a moment of comfort? THAT.

Around the salon, I observed little touches and a glimpses of their other services.

Photobucket

  • I love the tipping box and the very friendly tipping system. I don’t know about you guys, but I find it awkward to hand tips to the stylists, especially when they’re already attending to another client.
  • Human hair extensions, hmmm. This is something I once considered when my hair was in its awkward stage of cut-or-grow.
  • A 3-Day Service Assurance Policy! Love it!
  • Hair Tattoos. A fun way to express yourself without the needles and the pain.

One more special service that Azta is promoting is summer braids! French braids, side plaits, hair twists, cornrows.. you name it, they can do it. Supervised by their Miami-based creative consultant Shiela Gomez, braids are a good idea for a big event or just to add a special twist to your, or your little girl’s hair! I had braids done by Sheila herself years ago in 2005, when she was still Manila-based. Gosh my hair was so long.

Photobucket

So what’s the end result of my afternoon in Azta? See for yourself. Here’s the “salon” version, which I never believe.

IMG_0474
The true test of a good haircut is when you’ve washed and styled it yourself, and lived your actual life in it. Here I am with the #RealMom ladies a couple of days after at Expo Mom.

IMG_0499
All in all, a fantastic job! My hair now looks the way I feel. Thanks Azta Urban Salon for my early Mother’s Day treat!

You can book yourself (and your mother!) for your own Mother’s Day of pampering in any of Azta Urban Salon’s branches:

  • KATIPUNAN AVENUE: 2nd level, SMRC Building, Katipunan Avenue, corner B.Gonzales Street Loyola Heights, Quezon City (In front of Miriam College); Tel No. 4346733
  • ROBINSONS METROEAST: Body Senses, 4th Level, Robinsons Metroeast, Marcos Highway, Pasig City (beside Sta. Lucia, East Grand Mall); Tel No. 6822107
  • EASTWOOD CITY: 3rd Level, City Walk 2, Eastwood City, Bagumbayan, Quezon City (above Starbucks and Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf); Tel No. 6876527
  • ALABANG TOWN CENTER: Service Town, Basement Level, Alabang Town Center, Muntinlupa City; Tel No. 6592249
  • ROBINSONS FORUM: Mezzanine Level, Forum Robinsons, Pioneer St. Corner EDSA, Mandaluyong City; Tel No. 6873289
  • SM CITY SAN LAZARO: 3rd Level, SM City San Lazaro, Felix Huertas cor. A.H. Lacson St., Sta. Cruz Manila; Tel No. 3531344
  • TOMAS MORATO: 282 Tomas Morato Ave., Sacred Heart, Quezon City (In front of Johnny Rockets); Tel No. 9904234
Find them on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AztaUrbanSalon
Follow them on Twitter: @AztaUrbanSalon

Full disclosure: I was generously treated to all the services by the management of Azta Urban Salon. Much appreciated!

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Luchi Ann Lagman permalink
    May 9, 2012 1:42 pm

    Your hair suits you! 🙂 Been wanting to have a short hair for a looong time but my husband says it will make my face round(er)! Nuff said!hahaha

    • Eliza permalink
      May 14, 2012 5:53 pm

      One time lang! 😀 It’ll grow. Actually ask a reputable stylist if it’s bagay.

  2. May 9, 2012 6:25 pm

    Love it, Eli!!!
    I know what you mean about the hair never being the same again. Skin, too! Sigh. No wonder moms deserve to be pampered!

  3. Doll teruel permalink
    May 9, 2012 9:32 pm

    Hi…love your hair…i have a question though..bec i am still breastfeedng my baby its been a year now Nd counting…. 🙂 and i havent had any treatments wd my hair since i got pregnant they say it will affect your baby and the chemcals that are in hair treatments will affect your milk….i have been reading your blog and i believe you are stll breastfeeding basti ryt? So is that ok all the treatments wd d hair and all??? Oh i really hope you can enlighten me as ive been wanting to have my hair fix for the longest time now….and do you know any treaments for falling hair???hehe you might have an idea as ive tried everyting but none of them worked…thankyou so much 🙂

  4. May 9, 2012 9:57 pm

    Nice!!! Bagay sayo!
    Overdue na rin ang haircut ko…

  5. May 13, 2012 9:58 pm

    Hi Eliza! Nice to meet all of you! I had fun working with you guys! See you around!

    Vanessa

    http://thepinkmateproject.blogspot.com/

  6. May 15, 2012 8:03 pm

    nice look!;)

Leave a Reply

