Skip to content

Basti Loves: Kidzville

June 25, 2012

We first discovered Kidzville last year when we attended Cecile‘s son’s birthday party. I didn’t even know there was a play area at The Podium. Basti was so small then, and we were very late for the party so we didn’t really have time to explore.

Three months later, we were invited by the owners of Kidzville through Michelle of My Mom Friday. This time we were given an unlimited pass and Basti, plus his cousin Caille, were able to play until they themselves gave up.

We’ve been back a couple of times more since then, and Basti and his cousins always look forward to the “big playground” as they like to call it.

Kidzville has an active play area that can also be found in similar play areas found around the city.

Photobucket

Basti’s favorites in Kidzville are the airball machine and the giant slides. They’re a lot of fun. I swear if I let him be, Basti can stay at the air machine for hours and not get tired of it. As for the slides, I’m the one who gets tired because I have to accompany him on it. He’s too small to slide down on his own. Going down is easy enough. If you look at the height of the slides though, getting up there is no easy task for me and my old age.

Photobucket

Every corner of the area is filled with surfaces and textures your kids can explore till they pass out from exhaustion.

Photobucket

When it’s me who’s in danger of passing out from exhaustion, I coax Basti into the other side of Kidzville, The Village. I love this area. I think it’s what sets Kidzville apart from other play centers.

There’s a doctor’s office with an “x-ray”, a fire station, a cafe, a car repair shop, a farm and a grocery. Each area even has costumes your kids can wear so they are “feel na feel.”

Photobucket

There are plenty of things to move around. You can pretend to drive a bus, there’s a grocery cart you can fill with goodies at the supermarket, lots of cars and trucks to ride, and an actual Volkswagen Beetle you can pretend to repair with tools and everything! Warning: the Beetle has a working horn. If it gets too annoying, you can ask the attendant to turn it off.

Photobucket

There’s an earthling in the buggy!

But everyone’s favorite is the cafe.

Photobucket

It’s so much fun, but it can get tiring. If you have someone else to watch your child while they play or if they’re big enough to be inside on their own, you can hang at the lobby like these ladies.

IMG_0062

Kris and Rone having their nails done while I watch all their kids in the play area. Hmph.

Foot spa while you wait! Awesome!

They also have a girly parlor for the little ladies who like being primped and glittered.

IMG_0063

What I like about Kidzville is that they obviously do not scrimp when it comes to toys, cleanliness and staff. All the Village props were great quality, the staff were courteous, attentive and helpful, and the play areas were always clean on every single time we went there. Kris noticed that the Kidzville jingle they would place periodically was an original, and a well-produced one at that! (Only events people would notice these things, I swear)

Tips:

  • Eat before you go and bring a bottle of water.
  • Bring extra clothes for the kids. They will get really sweaty from playing.
  • Bring socks for yourself and for your child. If you forget, you can buy socks from the reception.
  • Weekdays are best. We went on a weekday evening and practically had the whole place to ourselves!
  • Eat at Shi Lin after for some yummy xiao long bao. #walalang

With Kidzville at The Podium, it gives me a good reason to visit that mall. Aside from The Echo Store and Shi Lin, there really wasn’t much reason for me to visit there, even if I find it to be one of the most child-friendly malls in the area.

Thanks Kidzville! I’m sure Basti and his cousins will ask to come back to the “big playground” very soon!

========

Kidzville
4F, The Podium
Ortigas Center

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2012 11:40 am

    That sure looks like a nice play area for kids to have fun till they get really tired. We’ll try to check this out for our little guy when we travel to Manila in a few months time.

    • Eliza permalink
      June 26, 2012 11:10 pm

      Yey! I’m sure he’ll have fun! πŸ˜€

  2. June 25, 2012 11:46 am

    WE LOVE Kidzville!

    • Eliza permalink
      June 26, 2012 11:07 pm

      Thanks for the invite!!

  3. June 25, 2012 1:06 pm

    Gia and Georgia love it there, too! Comments, though… First, I think they should invest in water-based nail polish for kids. They only have Orly and some other brands I do not recall, none of which are water-based. Second, the baggage/stroller area should always be manned. Been there too many times and no staff at the counter. Impatient helpers/nannies go inside to get their stuff on their own and just leave their claim numbers on top of the counter. Third, they should have healthier snacks.

    Overall, it’s our go-to place for playtime. Love that the Podium is not as crowded as the other malls. Weekdays are best to bring kids to Kidzville.

    • Eliza permalink
      June 26, 2012 11:07 pm

      Haha, I can’t relate with the nailpolish and the snacks! But yes, I agree weekdays are best.

  4. June 25, 2012 4:21 pm

    i want to try kidzville but podium is such a boring mall haha πŸ˜› what will the grown-ups do while the kids play? πŸ˜›

    • Eliza permalink
      June 26, 2012 11:06 pm

      Wala nga siyang masyadong laman. Watson’s lang. I told Rone, sana may grocery. Haha.

  5. June 26, 2012 9:39 am

    The earthlings don’t stop bugging me about Kidsville! I actually like Podium cause it is never full. There are enough shopping places for me there and that is all that counts!

    • Eliza permalink
      June 26, 2012 10:53 pm

      I wish it had a supermarket. Then life would be complete. Haha! At least there’s Watson’s.

    • July 7, 2012 8:49 am

      Rone, exactly why we like going there, too! There’s always parking space and just the right volume of people to make malling a bit more relaxed. Watch movies there — never full!

  6. June 26, 2012 10:07 am

    I hope I get to bring Y there soon!

    • Eliza permalink
      June 26, 2012 10:51 pm

      If you go let me know. Sama kami ni Basti!

  7. June 27, 2012 12:10 am

    Hi Ms. Eliza! I really want to go at Kidzville Podium but every time we (my husband, Pipa, and I) try to go and take a look my husband will say “bakit gusto mo sa kidzville? kasi may kindermusik dun di ba? I-eenroll mo si Pipa dun eh gusto niya sa gymboree” so off to shang! hehehe I guess my husband likes gymboree more than pipa =) – the mom who approached you weeks ago at Gymboree shang =)

    • Eliza permalink
      June 27, 2012 12:30 am

      Haha! Para maiba lang naman. Basti’s at Gymboree so often I need to bring him elsewhere for a change of pace. Thanks for finally leaving a comment! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

