Skip to content

Wanted: Internet Connection. myBro to the Rescue!

June 28, 2012

I cannot live without an internet connection. As in, I will literally shrivel up and die. My name is Eliza Ypon and I’m an internet addict.

But seriously, who isn’t these days? Especially in these times, when every bit of information is on the web and “Google” is used as a verb and not a noun. And lest I forget, oh yeah, I blog. My husband and I both have our own websites and all the correspondence for his clients are thru email.

The first thing I ask when we’re moving into a new place is, “What internet connections are available in the area?” There was a time we lived in a place where there were no wired connections available. I kid you not. I thought we we got stuck in a timewarp. It was the village that internet forgot. The only subscription I was able to get was a Smart Bro postpaid plug-it. And boy was it worth it.

My dilemma this time is that I’m looking for a second connection for a second place. We’ve got good old reliable PLDT MyDSL at home, but the poor Painter doesn’t have one at his studio. At first he was relying on a prepaid stick, but lately, he’s been on the internet at the studio more and more and he gets frustrated when he runs out of airtime. A subscription really is the best solution for him, but we were concerned about the added cost.

So I was really glad when I was approached to write about myBro. It’s actually a product that’s not new to me. The brand SmartBro used to cover the all the mobile internet services of Smart Communications (Plug-It, Pocket WiFi etcetera), but now the Smart Canopy and WiMax services are now known under the brand myBro, offered under PLDT Home’s range of services.


Three points to stress are:

  • It’s super easy to apply for a connection. With their “Bilis-Install” program, application to connection all happens in a matter of 48 hours! Just visit any Smart store, PLDT Business Office, or go to any accredited Smart or PLDT Home Reseller.
  • Awesome affordable plans! An unlimited internet connection starts at P799/month, which is just P26/day! Way cheaper than sending your kids to an internet cafe to do their school work.
  • Powered by PLDT and Smart’s reliable nationwide coverage.

myBro also has 999 and 1799 plans, in case those are better suited for your needs. For the studio, I think we’ll give P26/day a go. That’s already huge savings for us, considering The Painter was spending way over that buying internet minutes or even making it over to an internet cafe (much to his dismay) if it’s necessary. And yey, I can work there! Basti really needs to spends more time in the studio with his dad. He absolutely loves watching Orley work and loves playing with the brushes and pretending to paint. Maybe now I can buy him that toddler easel. He never wants to pretend paint when it’s just me around.

To find out more about myBro, log on to www.mybro.com.ph, talk to an accredited PLDT Home Reseller or call *1888 from your Smart mobile phone.

Photobucket

** This post is sponsored by myBro**

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2012 5:36 pm

    active pa rin ba yung promo ng smartbro (SMART) na another 2 years contract may free CELLPHONE or BAWAS sa bill (example P700 intead P999)…. tapos kapag mag rerenew ng contracts saan kami pupunta? sa PLDT o sa SMARTBRO booth? laguna area po ako pls send me response in my email: japaul_anonuevo@yahoo.com

    • Eliza permalink
      July 2, 2012 11:03 pm

      Hi! I’m sorry, I’m not from Smart or PLDT, I’m just helping them spread the word about their new services. Why don’t you call their customer service? 🙂

  2. September 22, 2012 12:09 pm

    follow up lang po….ask q lang kung matutuloy ang pagtest ng signal ng mybro dito sa amin niyugan,calaca,batangas…ngayong araw po ang pinagusapan na pupunta sila….salamat

    • Eliza permalink
      September 24, 2012 12:55 am

      Hi! I don’t work for Smart, just spreading the word. Good luck!

  3. albert timeyo permalink
    February 18, 2013 6:09 am

    bkt pag 8 am up to 10 pm mabagal connection dito sa samar?pk fix naman kz ang mahal na monthly tpos ang bagal ng coonection!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!sayang ang bnabayad ko!!!!!!!!!!

    • Eliza permalink
      February 18, 2013 6:26 pm

      Hello! Hindi po ako taga-Smart. Blogging lang po. Please call Customer Care, thank you po!

  4. March 7, 2013 6:47 pm

    hi, uhm… I just wanna ask if the plan 799 is a fast connection or if I can download movies and large datas with it. I wanna ask people who have experience the connection themselves. thanks. 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      March 8, 2013 10:24 am

      It’s up to 512kbps which is good enough for normal use. You can move large amount of data for sure, but not that fast. 🙂 If that’s your major concern, then get a plan that’s faster.

Leave a Reply

