Skip to content

An Afternoon With Anthology

July 5, 2012

Karrots Nazareno is not a normal human being. I have seen her do a monologue from My Fair Lady, chase down Vic Sotto for an autograph and wear floral cut-off shorts. No, she definitely is not a normal person.

Which is a good thing, because to be at the helm for Anthology Shoes, you have to be a little nuts to do the job.

If you haven’t been living under a rock, you would know that Anthology makes the yummiest, mega-comfy shoes that make my just-going-to-the-supermarket look more of a wow-she-looks-like-that-just-for-the-supermarket without any effort at all.

My first Anthos are these San Francisco flats that put a little zing in my usual black, grey and white outfits.

IMG_0876

Tita K invited a bunch of us one lazy Saturday afternoon for tea and to see the magic happen at the Anthology shoe factory.

The kids had loads of fun. Of course some of us came in their favorite Anthology shoes. Also present was my old friend P, the blogger behindย 101 Grams of Eye Candy. I tried to take a picture of her but she would rather remain a mystery right now. Paparazzi shot!!!

Photobucket

It’s so easy to go crazy with so many shoes within reach. Before I went there I was telling myself, “don’t buy any shoes.” The moment I stepped into the showroom, that changed to “okay, maybe just one pair.” Karrots and Ivan gave us a short talk on Anthology Shoes. It was easy to spot their honesty, sincerity and passion to simply make great shoes. We had a close look at the yummy material and the memory foam they use that make each pair of Anthology shoes super super comfy.

Photobucket

They prepared a lovely tea spread. The caviar pie was to DIE FOR.

Photobucket

Right after tea, I tried this pair of Sydneys and just couldn’t walk away.

IMG_0877

OC Mom wasn’t spared from the wallet massacre. Here is our attempt to direct her to do a pose ala fashion blogger in her new wedges.

IMG_0831

Then we paid a visit to their factory floor, where all the magic happens. Check out the little action figure I spotted on someone’s workstation. Creativity is everywhere in Anthology, hehe!

Photobucket

The size 9 of the brown and blue wedges are in a box in the factory somewhere WITH MY NAME ON IT. Agaw not allowed.

As the day went on, I found myself wanting another pair. I called on my inner kuripot, and asked it to fight the battle between good and evil. But then I thought…..

Photobucket

photo from live-life-in-style.com

And so.

IMG_0874
Good won. Evil is not having these shoes in my closet.

Almost everyone walked away with a new pair.

87cda6ae
Thank you for the wonderful afternoon Karrots! I can’t wait to see the Anthology Jr. line!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2012 11:36 am

    How cool! My first thought was – WHERE? Where is P?! Hahaha. Of course I couldn’t find her. And my second thought was — why is OCMom covering N’s face?!

    (Must try those shoes too by the way! They do look comfy!

    • Eliza permalink
      July 5, 2012 2:03 pm

      If you were here, kasama ka sana!

  2. July 5, 2012 11:38 am

    Hello

    It’s really nice that Anthology opened their factory doors to bloggers. I think that’s better than just hosting an event, right?

    PS
    Nice choice of shoes… love it!

    xoxo
    MrsMartinez

    • Eliza permalink
      July 5, 2012 2:04 pm

      Thanks Michelle! Oo nga, I agree with you. I like these kinds of get togethers more. The bloggers get to know the brand better and interact with fellow bloggers. Super fun!

  3. OCMominManila permalink
    July 5, 2012 5:02 pm

    Gosh, nakakatawa nga ang pose ko!! This is why I can never be a fashion blogger. I pose lousy!! MyMommyology, I am covering her face as part of my mowdel pose.

  4. July 5, 2012 5:21 pm

    Shet, nakakainggit talaga kayo — the food and the shoes! Buti nalang I was in Anvaya at hindi masyadong masama ang loob ko I was not there to join you! :p I’m saving up for my first pair… still can’t decide which pair though ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. July 5, 2012 10:11 pm

    I love you pink Hudsons!

    • Eliza permalink
      July 5, 2012 10:35 pm

      I haven’t worn them yet. Damn this rain. Baka mazira ang zuede.

  6. July 5, 2012 10:33 pm

    i want a pair like ocmom’s!!!

    • Eliza permalink
      July 5, 2012 10:35 pm

      Ikaw bibilin mo lahat ng Anthology eh. Ganyan ka pala Jen. Per brand ang bili mo – Anthology, Catalogue63. Hehehehe.

  7. July 6, 2012 4:44 am

    I like the one with flowers!!! Possible kaya we put some in the studio?

    • Eliza permalink
      July 6, 2012 5:10 pm

      ๐Ÿ˜€ Ask Karrots! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. July 6, 2012 9:08 am

    SAANCHEZ ANG AKING FLORAL CUTOFFS!!! DJ JAZZY JEFF ET THE FRESH PRINCE LEVELZ!!!

    Thank you Mamu!!!

    • Eliza permalink
      July 6, 2012 5:06 pm

      Nasa baul kasama ng undercut mo muther!

  9. July 6, 2012 11:34 am

    i really loved this event. it was intimate and personal, the food was wonderful (grabe ang caviar pie) and i learned a lot. i’m a bigger anthology fan now and cheers to karrots and ivan for working so hard for the brand. (dan is still waiting for the men’s shoes to come out haha) i’m still thinking about my next pair of anthos. gusto ko talaga yung pink hudsons!!

    and yes hooray to pinoy designed and locally made products! hooray anthology!!

  10. CHEERY LYN COLLADO permalink
    January 21, 2014 6:43 am

    Hi po.
    Cute naman po ng article nyo ma’am.. So interesting!!
    Where is the factory located po? Is it open for public po?

    • Eliza permalink
      January 21, 2014 9:12 am

      Hi Cheery! Sorry it’s not open to the public. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

