Skip to content

Got Time? Organize! The Candy Shop Labels and More

August 16, 2012

During Habagat I was very worried because water reached waist-high in the area where The Painter has his studio and he got stranded for a couple of days. Instead of sitting around being a nervous wreck, I turned my attention and energy to organizing my house. Lots of pictures, so prepare thy bandwidth.

Quick share: For breakfast, The Painter eats a bowl of rolled oats with Spanish sardines. Everyday. Every single freaking day, I kid you not. As a result, I have a lot of these:

I clean them and remove the labels. I have about 10 of these at any given time. The rest I give to the dyaryo-bote guy from the baranggay. I decided to use these jars instead of plastic containers. After years of using plastic containers I’m getting plastic-fatigue. There’s really nothing like the feel of glass.

I saw the exact same bottles being sold at Saizen for 85 pesos each. So if you want to do the same, just buy Spanish sardines. For the more or less the same price you get the bottle AND sardines.

I found craft paper sticker sheets at National Book Store and printed some labels I found for free on the internet.

I used these on the bottles and organized my bathroom countertop. Cute noh.

I wanted to do the same to my kitchen stuff, but I knew the inkjet labels were no good. Constant washing will just kill my efforts. I remembered that The Candy Shop by 101 Grams of Eye Candy sold repositionable labels that would be perfect for my kitchen jars. I asked her to print the same labels on this special sticker paper.

And voila!

Attach, and remove when you need to wash the jars. Stick ’em again. Genius.

Along with the special labels I had done, P also sent over more The Candy Shop stuff. I went nuts!!! I love them!!!

I used these repositionable labels on my sugar and creamer containers. They fit better than my round ones. (Wala na pala akong creamer)

I attached the label plates to my Japan Home Store fileboxes. Regular ones for me, Orley, homeschool and blogging stuff, and a super cute robot-themed one for Basti’s stuff.

This is my way of organizing. I assign a box to each person of the family and I dump everything there for proper filing later. I have two other boxes that says “Bills” and “Household Crapola”. That’s lesson no. 42 of my future class, Productive Procrastination. Hehe. P shares more ideas for using these label plates here.

Now this Candy Shop product eez DA BOMB. It’s an acrylic sheet!

I printed out and laminated tracing mats for Basti’s writing exercises. It didn’t work out so well. I couldn’t get the marker stains off so easily, even if I used whiteboard markers!

With the acrylic sheet over the mat, both Basti and I had no problems. Great writing surface for him, no-fuss clean up for me. We used our regular kid-safe markers and they came off with just a swipe of a tissue.

This will be really useful when Basti goes to school and gets worksheets and workbooks.

photo courtesy of 101 grams of eye candy

 

The Candy Shop also has regular labels and these clever Recycle stickers. Do you have a closet-full of perfect condition store  bags like me? #shopaholic Use them as gift bags and stick these on. Reduce waste! No to Habagat flooding!

photo courtesy of 101 grams of eye candy

photo courtesy of 101 grams of eye candy

 

Labeling is cathartic. Thanks P and The Candy Shop for these wonderful, practical, affordable and lovely labels. I’m a super duper fan!

Order your own The Candy Shop goodies from The Candy Shop on Facebook.

 

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2012 12:05 pm

    I LOVE THE PRE-MADE LABELS!!! I used to make my own formats but got too lazy to make more… now stuck with unopened sticker paper sheets!
    Thanks for sharing, great idea – impressed with your “productive procrastination”, idol! 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      August 16, 2012 1:58 pm

      Bakit ang hilig natin sa sticker paper? Haha! These make life so easier.

  2. August 16, 2012 1:26 pm

    Hi Ely! 🙂 I looove what you did with the sardine jars. You’re so right, ang mahal kaya ng glass jars in dept stores. And it’s always nice to reuse reduce recycle 😀 I had those versions din before, ung cheez whiz small jars naman 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      August 16, 2012 1:57 pm

      Haha Ihave those too! I use them for stuff that can be hidden. The shape is too distinct and ang laki nung branding sa cover, hehe. I use them for screws, hooks, nails, etc.

  3. Cai permalink
    August 16, 2012 3:54 pm

    I love the labels! One day I’ll organize my things too!

  4. August 17, 2012 8:16 pm

    I enjoyed this post!

    I hope that in due time, I will be able to organize my kitchen counter too, when more space is already available. Same goes with the files and everything else. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing these artsy sticker labels.

  5. September 13, 2012 1:16 pm

    Thanks for sharing this. It’s a good way to recycle those jars. I’ll definitely try doing this since i have many used baby food jars!

  6. October 5, 2012 1:51 am

    I collect stickers pero mahina ako sa organization teh. I love the acrylic sheet, I hope I can use that on our walls :p.

Leave a Reply

