Skip to content

I Am A Heartsaver! Thoughts on the CPR Workshop

September 19, 2012

Last September 1, I attended the CPR Workshop organized by my pediatrician’s group, Health Dynamics. I’ve mentioned Dr. Elizza Senseng several times in my blog, and I can’t reiterate enough how blessed I feel to have her as Basti’s doctor. She is a true breastfeeding-friendly doctor, caring, compassionate, accommodating and entirely committed to children’s health and parenting support.

When she told me about this upcoming workshop I was really excited. I had myself certified on first aid and CPR when I got my Rescue Diver certification. When I became a Divemaster I was supposed to get re-certified every 2 years, but I never did! (I stopped diving professionally a long time ago, so please don’t get alarmed) It was very interesting to find out that things have changed since I first had my training.

What I learned:

  • CPR for adults, children and infants.
  • first response for choking for adults, children and infants
  • how to operate an AED (Automatic External Defibrillator) – we got to say “CLEAR!!” just like on TV. Hahaha!

What I liked:

  • Clear and concise training process. The video that accompanied the on-hand training was super effective. It really made us understand how to administer effective and proper CPR.
  • Great training materials. We were all given individual face masks to put on our dummy for hygienic purposes.
  • UPDATED information by the American Heart Association. Did you know that some of the first-aid and CPR training available locally have not been updated in the last 10 years? Even some of our medical professionals are not updated, it seems. They are really pushing to spread the current information.
Because I was too lazy to go back and forth from my house, my mom’s house and the venue for the seminar, I took Basti with me. At first he was quite content to just stand by me and watch me and my dummy.

But the organizers thought Basti deserved to participate too, so they gave him his own “patient.” He mimicked everything we did.

My classmate was Yaya Tata, Jenny‘s super-nanny who knows how to cook paella. There were lots of yayas present that day. Some came with the moms, and some, like Tata, were just sent by their employers. Here’s Tata working the AED on the dummy. She commented later that this seminar was so much different from the one Jenny had her take a few years back.

Thank you to Doc Elay for entertaining Basti when he started saying, “go home, ride car”.

And now, I’m a Heart Saver!

Just in time. Basti came up to me with a mouthful of magnetic numbers the other day. He’s definitely in the swallow-anything-and-everything stage.

Thank you Health Dynamics for giving us the opportunity to take the CPR workshop! I hope more seminars will be held soon.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2012 11:18 am

    I hope there will be another CPR workshop! I definitely want to learn!

    **you’re a Divemaster pala! Licensed Open Water Dive ako, but after giving birth to Y, I stopped diving na din.

  2. September 20, 2012 1:47 pm

    yay! may picture si tata!! Cai!! ako din open water diver!! pero stopped na din! dapat mag organized tayo ng Mommy Dive tour sa kid friendly resort! haha

    • September 20, 2012 5:32 pm

      Haha! Oh my! I think a refresher course if I’ll dive again! 🙂

      • Eliza permalink
        September 21, 2012 12:17 am

        Mag-renew kaya ako ng DM license tapis organize ako ng Mom and kid friendly dive trip? Si Kris and Jenny divers din!

  3. Marites permalink
    September 20, 2012 8:15 pm

    Hi Eliza,

    How much is the workshop? And when is the next one kaya. I’m very much interested. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

