Skip to content

Once a Beauty Junkie, Always a Beauty Junkie

October 8, 2012

Warning: Picture-heavy post.

Last week, Grace featured me as her Glossy Girl on her blog, Divasoria.Ph. It’s a weekly feature she does, featuring different types of women and the cosmetics they use. When she asked me to survey my current stash, I felt a sense of shame (shame talaga!). Okay, I don’t have a bad collection, but it’s nowhere near what my lineup was like before.

In the write-up, I mentioned how I had to strip down to basics when Ondoy wiped out my cosmetics and makeup collection, and when motherhood required me to stick to the essentials. Well right after I sent my email to Grace, my journey back to beauty junkie-dom started. I think it was writing the write-up that jumpstarted it. So… my Glossy Girl feature needs an update. Eep, sorry Grace!

One thing I’ve always loved is makeup. The beauty stores and sections of any mall or department store has always been my favorite corner. I’m no makeup snob either. I appreciate the drugstore brands and the more expensive counterparts on the same level. When I was younger, I toyed with the idea of becoming a makeup artist. I still want to take lessons, just for myself! Let me put that down on my list of things-to-do.

So here are some things from my stash before the shopping frenzy:

Top: Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage, Laura Mercier Secret Concealer, Becca Loose Shimmer Powder, Face Shop Lip Palette, Prestige eyeshadow palettes, Sephora Primer, Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals and Mineral Veil, Avon Loose Powder. Middle: Nars Blush in Orgasm, Make Up For Ever Aqua Cream, Shu Uemura eyeshadow palette, Shu Uemura eyelash curler, Maybelline lipstick. Bottom Left: Shu Uemura eyeshadow brush, Sephora small eyeshadow brush, Revlon Colorstay eyeliner, Sephora powder brush, Shu Uemura powder brush. Bottom Right: Shu Uemura blending brush, Shu Uemura pony brush, Maybelline mascara, Sephora foundation brush. Far right: Shu Uemura makeup case.

The first thing I bought was this Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette from Multiply store, Stuff In Style.

Love the quality of the shadows, and the range is so versatile for going Nude-NUDE (read: supermarket, lunch with Basti, etc) or going all out smokey-eyes-drama (read: date with husband). Greedy me is tempted to buy the original Urban Decay Naked Palette, as well as this NYX Nude On Nude palette.

Urban Decay Naked Palette. Image courtesy of urbandecay.com

NYX Nude On Nude Palette. Image courtesy of nyxcosmetics.com

They’re so similar but they make me feel like breaking my wallet open and shaking out all the change. Both are available online from trusted Multiply sellers and merchants. I will say “trusted” so you could at least be assured of its authenticity.

Next, I updated my makeup brushes with these pieces from Charm. Get them from Beauty and Minerals on Multiply.

From top to bottom: A retractable kabuki brush, a flat top brush, a stippling brush, an angled eyebrow brush and a lip brush.

I wasn’t happy with the Avon loose powder I had, so I went to look for alternatives. I bought this super cheap Nichido loose powder and the Skin Food Buckwheat loose powder.

At PhP150, Nichido is a pretty good buy. It has better consistency than the more-expensive Avon powder, for one. And at this price, it can never be a regret purchase! The Skin Food Buckwheat powder smells heavenly and feels so light on the skin. You can find Nichido in Watson’s. Skin Food has branches in Megamall, Mall of Asia and Trinoma.

I also picked this up at Skin Food. Fruits Brunch Lip Box in Cafe Cinnamon. Can you tell I love nudes?

More Korean makeup goodness at Tony Moly in this Party Lover Cake Eyebrow Duo. I love its “dead brown” shade. It doesn’t make my brows look too colored in. Tony Moly products are available in the locations listed here: Tony Moly branches.

I bought these two for coverage: The Missha Perfect Cover BB Cream, and Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse foundation.

Pretty good coverage from the Revlon mousse foundation. It lasted even after an afternoon birthday party held outdoors. See my review of the Missha BB Cream at Crash Test Mommies. You can find Missha at SM Hypermart Pasig, SM North Edsa Annex, and Landmark Trinoma. Revlon is ready available in department stores nationwide.

Aside from being a beauty junkie, I’m also an organization junkie. These three things help in organizing all this beauty loot.

Medium-sized Muji makeup case. It’s got space for brushes, lipstick tubes, other makeup and is big enough for my Naked 2 Palette and my cheap standup mirror.

For my countertop, this Muji organizer tray. In it I keep my brushes, pencils, lipsticks and everything else that’s long or rolls. Muji stores in the Philippines are listed here: Muji Philippines.

For when I need to bring more brushes, this makeup brush holder from Fab Manila. It matches my blog, hihi.

And with that, I think I’m all shopped out for makeup. For now. When I think I have too much makeup, I watch videos like this and I don’t feel as guilty:

I admit I’m a little envious.

What’s in your makeup case?

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Pia permalink
    October 8, 2012 11:37 pm

    just the daily basics for daily office makeup: Clinique sunblock, MAC foundation and pressed powder, Time Balm concealer from Beauty Bar, VMV blush, eyeshadow & lipstick, Shu eyelash curler, Faceshop liquid eyeliner, Revlon mascara. As a corporate mom in a frenzy every morning, I’ve mastered putting them all on in 8 minutes! …. In crunch times, I can manage while driving in between traffic lights, but I don’t recommend that!

    • Eliza permalink
      October 15, 2012 9:57 pm

      OMG we’re the same P. I used to put on my makeup in the car while driving. From QC to Tektite towers, with mascara pa, hahaha!

  2. December 4, 2012 10:13 pm

    Hi Eli! I was going to browse for sling tutorials but the make-up posts called out to me first! I got the Naked 2 palette also! And I can’t wait to play with it haha! Share naman your looks you made with it 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      December 4, 2012 11:33 pm

      Nyaaaa shy ako!!! Hahahahaha!

Trackbacks

  1. (Giveaway Alert!) My Beauty Junkie Partners from Unilab: Celeteque and Asian Secrets - The Painter's Wife
  2. Beauty Junkie Post: Makeup Collection Update! - The Painter's Wife

Leave a Reply

