Skip to content

Sorry Basti, I’m Going to Talk About Your Butt: The Johnson’s Baby Complete Care System

November 2, 2012

Last August 22, I attended a luncheon where Johnson’s & Johnson’s presented their 3-step Johnson’s Baby Complete Care System. There was a talk by Dra. Victoria Dizon of the Pediatric Dermatology Society of the Philippines.

Did you know there are only six of them in the whole country? I met them all when J&J presented some materials to some bloggers about product safety concerns which you can read about in Jenny’s blog.

This time around, we were talking about health. More specifically, butt health! So I’m going to apologize in advance to 16-year old Basti because his mother is going to be talking about his butt on the internet and it’s going to be online and Google-able for the rest of his life.

Before I became a mom, I heard so much about what I should be using on Basti when he wees or poos – just water and nothing else, was the frequent piece of advice I got from well-meaning people. I couldn’t take the thought of that, so I really used soap and water to wash Basti, even as an infant.

I was on the right track – somewhat. I learned these from Dra. Dizon that day:

  • Babies’ skin is different from ours. They’re thinner and loses moisture much faster, making them more prone to infection.
  • Water is not enough. Fecal enzymes, the interaction of urine and fecal matter, and the resulting increase in pH on your baby’s butt can lead to serious butt problems. But soap is too harsh! Uh-oh.
  • These are musts for a healthy butt: frequent diaper changes, removal of skin contaminants, and restoring the skin’s pH value.

I learned that there are more incidences of diaper rash when cleaning with just water and a regular cloth versus an emollient baby wipe. Zinc oxide will help skin recover from rashes, and using powder will actually help protect Basti’s butt from wetness and infection.

These days, using powder is discouraged by some sectors, and we raised that point with J&J. They assured us that talc is actually very safe for baby, because it’s particles are too big to get into the lungs. It is not classified as a carcinogen by the US Toxicology Program. Just don’t douse the whole container on your baby’s face, hehe. They said the proper way to apply powder is to first put it on your own hands, then apply to baby’s skin. I remember when polbo was so popular when I was a kid, and I was always being drenched in powder by my mom. So note to self: powder on hand first, then on Basti.

There were samples of Johnson’s Baby Skin Care Wipes and Johnson’s Baby Complete Care Powder during the event. They even showed us how the powder expels water.

They look like gummy worms, hehe.

I like how the new powder feels and smells. It’s got the good stuff: zinc oxide to help protect and heal your baby’s butt from diaper rashes, and magnesium steareate, which helps repel wetness. Less wetness = less infection.

Jen of Next9 was also around during the presentation to talk about cloth diapers and we all took home a Next9 pocket diaper.

The Johnson’s Baby Complete Care System is summarized on Babycenter Philippines, which can be accessed here: http://www.babycenter.com.ph/advertorials/diaperrash. You can also visit the Johnson’s Baby Philippines Facebook Page (https://www.facebook.com/JohnsonsBabyPhilippines) to know more about the Johnson’s Baby Complete Care System. If you haven’t “liked” this page yet, you should! They have all sorts of promos and fun stuff going on for parents and their kids all the time.

To make up for the future embarrassment of me talking about your Basti’s butt, I will make up for it by posting this adorable picture of you wearing your Next9 cloth diaper.

Trust me, the girls will love it.

Thank you Johnson’s Baby Philippines! I appreciate the support you give to PaintersWife.Com.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2012 11:03 pm

    Nice feature. I too am a J&J powder girl, that I insisted on using it on my baby to keep him fresh, even if some discouraged me because of the risk of asthma daw. It’s common sense naman not to huff and puff the powder into the baby’s face for him to inhale, so I defied well-meaning advice.. And my still-breastfed-at-29-months toddler is as healthy as can be. 🙂

    I really had a good time reading this, because I can so relate. 😀 Similar to this post, I had recently — and proudly — posted in my blog some pics of my boy initiating wee-wee in his potty, but of course with some censure. 😉 Proud momma that I was, I couldn’t contain my happiness that I.JUST.HAD.TO.POST.THEM for all the world to see! But I posted a footnote for the Toddler, for when he gets to read it someday. Haha. 😀

    • Eliza permalink
      November 6, 2012 2:21 am

      Basti loves powder also eh! As long as you use it properly I think it does more good than harm, really.

Leave a Reply

