Skip to content

Babywearing: Ringsling Tips and Tricks

November 29, 2012

I see this phrase too many times on my search word stats page: “painter’s wife blog ring sling tutorial”. So I thought I’d post the ringsling tips and tricks I’ve learned that’s made me and Basti a lean, mean, ringslinging, mother and son team.

Have you seen the next9 tutorial videos? Together with Jenny and Cai, we helped out Jen with an updated version of how-to videos for the next9 ringslings. You can find them here:

The ringsling was not as easy to master for me as the SaYa or the pouch. There are little things about ringslinging that’s best explained through a one-on-one tutorial, but I’ll try my best to share the little tricks that helped make the ringsling the most used carrier in my stable.

1. Always make sure the two rails on the tail are free and untangled. It’s very hard to adjust a sling when the two rail edges are lost in the middle part of the ring.

ringsling tips and tricks

 

2. Adjust one rail at a time. A lot of moms try to adjust the ringsling by pulling on the entire tail, which simply does not work.

ringsling tips and tricks

 

3. Lean back when you’re adjusting and put your baby’s weight on you, so you can adjust the sling properly. When I coach moms on babywearing, they’re always so tentative because they’re afraid the baby will fall while adjusting. Putting the baby’s weight on your body frees up your hands somewhat, and will give you more control over the sling. In my first SaYa how-to post, I emphasized the need for CONFIDENCE and CONVICTION when it comes to babywearing. It’s the same for any type of carrier.

ringsling tips and tricks

4. Wrap the sling around the baby, instead of trying to squish baby into the sling. Your sling is adjustable, your baby is not. Another tip is to thread the baby’s legs through the sling by reaching out from under.

5. Don’t start out with the ring already in the right position. Put the ring a little bit higher (especially with the hip and back carry) so it will fall into the right spot after pulling and adjusting.

ringsling tips and tricks

6. Don’t start with too much cloth for the pouch area. It will take longer to adjust and will almost guarantee that the ring will not be in the right position because you have so much to pull. You’ll get a feel for how big the pouch should be when you start as you practice.

ringsling tips and tricks

7. Always adjust the cloth to cover your shoulder area and spread over your back to prevent back pain. Avoid having the sling centered on your shoulder and digging into your neck.

ringsling tips and tricks

I hope this helps you! For any other questions, please feel free to leave a comment and I’ll try to answer as best as I can. If not, I’ll bug Jen to answer you, haha!

For this blogpost, I was using one of the new googoo&gaga x next9 ringslings. It makes us feel like ringsling rockstars.

googooandgaga ringsling

Happy babywearing!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2012 10:26 am

    Elai! I love the way you presented it!! Who took your pictures?

    • Eliza permalink
      November 29, 2012 11:00 am

      My sister in law. 🙂

  2. Mia Castrillo permalink
    November 29, 2012 12:51 pm

    Eliza!!! You are sooo cute!! Hahaha!! I love your facial expressions. Mwah! Forwarding this to the babywearers of CDO. 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      November 29, 2012 8:11 pm

      Haha thanks Mia!!

      Hey I got a message one time nga from someone in CDO asking about babywearing support there. I wanted to refer you. In the future, may I point them your way?

  3. November 30, 2012 2:15 am

    Love this, Eli! 🙂 I actually started using the ring sling before anything else! I want to get a SaYa naman for Baby no. 3! 🙂 Will share this! 😀 God bless always!

    • Eliza permalink
      November 30, 2012 2:21 am

      Thank you Tina. 🙂

  4. December 2, 2012 6:07 am

    I never got to master to wear the sling. Sana you posted this two years ago. haha!

    • Eliza permalink
      December 3, 2012 12:58 am

      Haha, two years ago I was still fumbling myself! 🙂

  5. December 2, 2012 7:22 pm

    ikaw na!! the facial expression talaga!! love it!! expert babywearing mom blogger!!

    • Eliza permalink
      December 3, 2012 12:57 am

      I see what you did there. Hahahahaha!

  6. Lia permalink
    December 4, 2012 5:05 am

    Hi sis, congrats! Ang galing ng hip & back carry parang napaka simple lang gawin! At dahil sau gusto ko na din mag-try ng ringsling 🙂 thank you!

    • Eliza permalink
      December 4, 2012 5:31 am

      Kayang kaya mo yan. 😀 Good luck!

  7. December 7, 2012 10:20 pm

    i can’t wait to wear noaaaaaah!!

    • Eliza permalink
      December 18, 2012 2:01 pm

      May 8lbs na ba si Noah?

  8. Grace permalink
    February 12, 2013 7:18 pm

    Hi Ms. Eli! This is long overdue, but I wanted to thank you for coaching me on how to use Next 9’s ring sling during FAB’s last event. Your tips were such great help (esp the one-rail-at-a-time adjusting). We have been wearing our Basti since then! (our son’s name is also Sebastian 🙂 thanks again!

    • Eliza permalink
      February 13, 2013 12:01 pm

      You’re very very welcome! 😀

  9. dee permalink
    January 18, 2014 11:18 am

    omg ELIZA!! i now know where i met you! when i saw the gymboree doll it clicke! you were the teacher for a gymboree class! and i think that was basti we met, you brought him while you were teaching the class!!! i remember you said he walked before crawling or something he skipped a milestone. that was in 2010-2011. you were a substitute teacher.

    • Eliza permalink
      January 18, 2014 3:00 pm

      That’s too funny!!! Yes I was still teaching at that time. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Next9 Babywearing Video is Out! - The Painter's Wife
  2. The Mommy Mundo Bazaar | Mommy Fleur

Leave a Reply

