Skip to content

LATCH Breastfeeding Classes and The Importance of Breastfeeding Education

March 6, 2013

Breastfeeding education is one topic I will never, never, EVER be tired of talking about. Every time I comment, speak or have a conversation with one mom about breastfeeding and feel like I’ve somehow made a difference, I meet 20 other women who have no clue about the basics of breastfeeding, believe in utter lactation myths and half-truths, or being fed absolutely wrong information by friends, family and worst, medical professionals.

I’ve heard this too many times when I tell people that I am a part of an organization that speaks about breastfeeding and conducts breastfeeding classes: “What? There are breastfeeding classes for mothers? You can’t be serious.” And therein lies the problem. More often than not, the breastfeeding problems that I hear of are brought about by the lack of knowledge and information on the basics of nursing. Coupled with lack of support from their family and doctors, this leads to unsuccessful breastfeeding. Most mothers who were not able to breastfeed from lack of information say this: “If only I had known”, or “I didn’t know breastfeeding was going to be like this.”

The statement that saddens me most is this: “I had no milk when I gave birth so I fed my baby formula first while I waited for milk to come.” Worse, some women don’t wait at all, and assume they don’t have milk and will never have milk. The different stages of breastmilk is a basic breastfeeding principle that can and should be explained by a nurse or a doctor at the hospital. Instead, some encourage the mother to buy formula without medical reason and even add a bit of fear by saying the baby is starving because the mother has no milk. While there are many hospitals and doctors already making an effort to be updated on the latest information and protocol regarding breastfeeding, this is still happening everyday.

Every couple of months, LATCH holds FREE breastfeeding classes at The Medical City called “Best Beginnings in Breastfeeding”. It is held on a Saturday morning at TMC’s Center for Patient Partnership conference rooms. The next one is this Saturday, March 9. Check out the Facebook event HERE.

We talk about the Benefits of Breastfeeding, What to Expect in the First Week, Myths of Breastfeeding, Going Back To Work, and break out in smaller groups so we can discuss proper positioning and latching.

The class is run by trained LATCH breastfeeding counselors. We are all mothers who have exclusively breastfed or are still exclusively breastfeeding. Collectively, our experiences range from the most basic and common concerns, to issues such as pre-term breastfeeding and relactation.

 

Em talks about the Benefits of Breastfeeding. Photo courtesy of Claire Mogol.

Claire talks about the basics of latching and positioning. Photo by Bryan Sales.

No I am not sleeping on the job. Sometimes you have to get down and dirty for breastfeeding! Hehe. Demonstrating side-lying. Photo by Bryan Sales.

Working, pumping moms need all the support they can get! Lawyer Fritzi talks about going back to work and sustaining breastfeeding. Photo by Claire Mogol.

Most of the attendees are mothers-to-be, but we do get the occasional breastfeeding mother who wants to brush up on her knowledge for affirmation and confidence. The breastfeeding mindset, after all, is half the battle won!

We love seeing the support system come in with the moms. The support of husbands, partners, lolas and yayas are so crucial to breastfeeding success.

One of the dads takes a guess on a breastfeeding question and gets a gift! Photo by Claire Mogol.

A father assists his wife in learning the proper position for the cradle hold. Great practice for the real thing! Photo by Bryan Sales.

Breastfeeding success lies largely on having the right knowledge and support. Even with the amount of information available online about breastfeeding, nothing compares to hearing it straight from mothers who’ve gone through it and will cheer you all the way. It worked for me!

I hope to see you at this weekend’s breastfeeding class or the classes to come in the future!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jovelle Briones permalink
    March 11, 2013 4:13 pm

    Hi!

    I was able to attend your Breastfeeding Seminar at TMC last saturday.
    I was so thanful thas I was able to attend with my husband. Thank you so much for all the information! It was really a great eye opner and a very big help for expectant first time moms like me!

    • Eliza permalink
      March 12, 2013 4:50 pm

      Happy you made it Jovelle! 😀 I wish we had time to talk! Hope to see you at another event. Babywearing maybe? Happy breastfeeding! Please don’t hesitate to get in touch with the LATCHers if you have any other questions.

      • Jovelle Briones permalink
        May 27, 2013 11:31 am

        Hi Eliza!

        I am very much interested regarding Babywearing 🙂 When will yuou be having a talk/seminar for this? Also is Cloth Diapering something you can also recommend to me or to other women? I am also willing to try this kase.

        Thank you so much!

      • Eliza permalink
        May 29, 2013 9:28 pm

        Hi Jovelle!

        Please join the Facebook support group for the Filipino Association of Babywearers here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/FABabywearers/. We post schedules of meetups there. We do have one coming up on June 11. Details are on the page. 🙂

        As for Cloth Diapering, I suggest you join the Facebook group of the Modern Cloth Nappying Pinays. There’s a wealth of information there, from how-tos to great deals on cloth diapers. 🙂 Here’s the group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/mcnpinays/

        Hope this helps!

  2. Gracie permalink
    May 8, 2013 3:35 pm

    Hi! I was planning to attend your Breastfeeding seminar at TMC this coming Saturday. Unfortunately, I was told that the session is fully booked and they are no longer accepting new registrants. The next seminar would already be after I give birth. By any chance, would you have any other seminars for the month of May? Does LATCH offer 1 on 1 sessions as well?

    Thanks!

    • Eliza permalink
      May 10, 2013 9:34 am

      Hi! I saw your message on FB. I believe my co-counselor replied to you already, but I’ll also ask on your behalf. 🙂 Congratulations on making the decision to breastfeed!

  3. deans permalink
    August 2, 2013 9:00 am

    hi! i wonder when your next seminar be at the medical city? thanks.

    • Eliza permalink
      August 3, 2013 2:33 pm

      Hi there! The next one is on September 14. 🙂

  4. Anna permalink
    July 7, 2014 3:15 pm

    Hi! Was able to catch your breastfeeding talk at Medical City last May. I have now given birth and mix feeding my baby (i havent established my milk supply 😦 ). Would like to ask for guidance for my blocked milk ducts. I have been able to feed and pump a little for the past few weeks. Yesterday i suddenly was only able to get a few drops from both breasts. Tried hand expression as well. Now both are swollen and painful already. Can you recommend someone who can release the blocks by massage? (My OB has done this a few times during my post batal checkups). Help! Thanks

    • Eliza permalink
      July 8, 2014 9:45 pm

      Hello Anna! Congratulations on your baby! How are you doing? How old is your baby now? If you remember from the talk, we spoke about the importance of direct feeding and not supplementing with anything to establish milk supply. The mixed feeding is actually impeding the development of your supply so you might want to reconsider that. It also lends to your blocked ducts (because your baby is not sucking as much as the baby should) and the pumping is not helping the blocks as well.

  5. Allyson permalink
    July 26, 2014 10:35 am

    Hello! I would like to attend the seminar at The Medical City. Can I have your schedule for August and September? Also, where can I register? Thanks! 🙂

    • Eliza permalink
      August 1, 2014 1:21 pm

      Hello! We don’t have a class at The Medical City for August. We do have one on September 16. 🙂 Please watch for schedules and other announcements on the LATCH Facebook page. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

