Skip to content

Nostalgia Time: Full Circle

June 18, 2013

Now allow me to tell you a story of me and my first “baby.”

Once upon a time, I had a little girl named Faith. This is her:

Photobucket

Check out my firewire-connected vintage iPod, y’all. My desktop wallpaper is a poster of Alias, the TV show. I loved Alias so much back then that my username on PhilMUG is “freelancer”, which is one of Sydney Bristow’s codenames. People thought it was because I was a freelancer. Which I was. But that’s not the point.

After a couple of years, I got Layla and I sold Faith to my friend Monica. This is them turning over files to each other.

Photobucket

Before you think I’m crazy, any die-hard Mac user will tell you going sentimental over their Apple products is perfectly normal. You’re the weird one if you don’t think so.

Since Faith I’ve had 2 more iBooks and 2 iMacs. This was the one I lost to Ondoy. Sigh.

New baby
My iMac now is a heaven-sent gift from my very wise choice of a Twitter name in 2006 that paid off in 2009. I’ll tell you that story in private if you’re curious because I heard that what happened for me to get that expected windfall is, apparently, not allowed anymore.

Years and years later, this arrives on my doorstep.

My baby came back home! Monica upgraded her Mac years ago but never sold Faith. The good friend she is, she thought it would be nice to just send her back to her original owner.

Thank you Monica for returning her. You and I will be the only ones who know the meaning of Faith coming back home to me. She’s old and practically useless, but she’ll always be my first baby. It’s good to have her back home.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2013 9:07 am

    I can relate! I have pictures of my “babies” too! My first one was Daisy, second was Alfalfa and the current one Alfalfa 2. I don’t know why, I didn’t feel like changing his name yet. lol!

  2. June 18, 2013 9:22 am

    Awwww!

  3. June 18, 2013 10:01 am

    Oh, I can totally relate! I’m so happy for you, Eli!

  4. June 18, 2013 10:11 am

    hokay! I am the weird one. I never named any of them. haha! they are machines to me! so shoot me!

  5. June 18, 2013 4:32 pm

    still have mine too, same model. although i probably have to get rid of it as we cant spare the space anymore.

    • Eliza permalink
      June 18, 2013 4:32 pm

      Sucks to be you. Haha, kidding! 😉

  6. June 18, 2013 6:27 pm

    Hi Eli! I am interested in that secret story. Hehe!

Leave a Reply

