Skip to content

Adventures in Preschool: Basti’s First Week

June 19, 2013
tags:

So there I was, sitting on a kiddie-sized bench, with my legs almost to my chin, white-knuckled from clutching my bag in anxiety, while slow bullets of tension-laden sweat were dripping from my brow. Why? Because Basti was wailing behind closed classroom doors.

My heart wrenched with every cry and I wanted to cry myself. I wanted to barge in and tell Basti that I was right there but I knew that wasn’t going to be good for him. I kept waiting for the teacher to come and out and ask me to come in, but it didn’t happen.

So I waited. For an hour I heard him cry. Endlessly, painfully, despairingly, desperately cry.

And then after an hour, the doors opened and the kids came out. I was expecting a tear-stricken, red face led by an exasperated teacher. Instead, out comes a jolly, excited toddler who gives me a big hug and says, “Mama! I want to eat cookies!”

Huh?

So it turns out, all his crying was tearless. He did all the activities – ALL of them – painting, drawing, singing, reading a book, playing with dough, playing with toy animals – WHILE CRYING. With no tears.

Oh you little scrapper you.

Tomorrow will be better.

And as a result, my usual goofy passenger looked like this on the way home.

Serves you right, you little bug.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2013 11:00 pm

    Awwwwww drama drama drama! (why no bowtie?)

    • Eliza permalink
      June 20, 2013 12:09 am

      Baka mawala! They do a lot of stuff in school. They’re so gulo and they get messy.

    • June 20, 2013 6:26 am

      kanino nag-mana?!!

  2. Iza permalink
    June 20, 2013 8:29 am

    Congratulations, Basti! Parang kailan lang, nasa Play Class kita! HUGS! πŸ™‚

  3. Ethel B permalink
    June 20, 2013 8:37 am

    haha! sometimes we think our kids need us more than they actually do… so cute!

  4. June 20, 2013 8:50 am

    bwahhahah. natawa naman ako!

  5. June 20, 2013 2:23 pm

    Hahahaha! πŸ˜€ Katawa! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

