Skip to content

Thoughts from Mommy-Driver

July 4, 2013

It’s 11am, and we’re just about ready to go into our get-ready-for-school routine. The baon is packed, Basti’s had his early lunch and the house is humming with activity. Normal.

Basti has really adjusted to his school life. He is excited to go to class everyday and he is overflowing with stories when I pick him up after class. I’m happy for him. As for me, I’m still adjusting.

In the 4 years that I’ve been married to Orley, I’ve turned into a homebody. It’s in the little aspects of my life that you see the transformation. I surrendered my iBook for an iMac. Sandals and slippers dominated my shoe collection, and the wedges and the stilts got pushed to the back row. I couldn’t leave the house two days in a row without feeling disoriented. Now I am out 7 days a week, and it’s driving me nuts.

This week was the beginning of Basti’s full schedule, and the start of my three-hour waiting time. I spent Monday’s waiting time watching a movie. It was a bad idea because I watched World War Z alone. I felt sorry for the couple that sat beside me. To those people, sorry for all the cursing and screaming I did the entire movie. Serves me right for watching WWZ when I know I’m so duwag. But I must say: Brad Pitt, wala kang kakupas-kupas.

And then the other day I tried out Yen Yen on Wilson. I had Taiwanese beef noodles and fried dumplings. Mega-YUM. It reminded me of the food I had gotten so used to while I was living in Northeast China. I want to go back and sample all the items on the menu. After, I dropped by Mobler, bought some Ikea stuff, and checked out the new Rustan’s Fresh on P. Guevarra.

Yesterday, I chanced upon a parking slot and decided to wait out at school. I hung out a bit at the office and was able to score a slice of puto from Teacher Lizzie. Do you guys think that’s weird? It’s because I am a hybrid. Having been a teacher in  Basti’s school many years ago, I am both parent and teacher, so there’s no need to be formal with me, hehe. Along with my puto, my snack of the day was one of my all-time favorites:

Banana-cue and fishballs. Found in a little canteen in San Juan.

Today I will go for a facial at DermaPro. Tomorrow? I don’t know.

So I therefore conclude that by the end of the school year I will be either broke, overweight, have really good skin, or all of the above. If I run out of things to do, I’ll just sleep in the car. Ubos ang glamor.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2013 11:34 am

    i wish i can wait with you.mga mommy tambay! hahaha

  2. Tab permalink
    July 4, 2013 11:44 am

    Nice one. Glad to know he loves school. I get sad sometimes, the separation anxiety and the reality that the little ones are growing up. Enjoy your adventure there are many places still to explore.

    • Eliza permalink
      July 4, 2013 12:00 pm

      Yours is absolutely loving it, from what I gather. She’s always so chipper!

  3. July 4, 2013 12:34 pm

    I am also a mommy driver, for the first 2 weeks I waited on my son but now I go home na lang and come back for him, although gasoline is expensive, I realized that grocery shopping everyday, mani-pedi and facials would be more expensive, plus the cost of snacks for me. Although cheap thrills are not so expensive along bluewave naman, I discovered a mani-pedi worth P150 only, not bad na diba. Also sometimes I go to Marikina sports complex to jog kahit matirik ang araw ng 3 pm go na rin ako.

  4. July 4, 2013 12:56 pm

    Oooh, maybe you can write a book (and send it to Random House too, heehee!)! You’re such a good writer, and lots of good stories, traveling experience, etc! It can even be a children’s book, you’re wonderful with kids, and of course you have Basti for inspiration too

    • Eliza permalink
      July 4, 2013 1:40 pm

      Hahahaha! Maybe I’ll put up a makeup station that’s only open while Basti’s in school.

      • July 4, 2013 1:58 pm

        Or a consultancy session, open 3 hours a day! ^_^

  5. July 4, 2013 2:04 pm

    sigh i miss san juan. that’s what i got from that lol.

  6. anywhere journey permalink
    July 4, 2013 10:18 pm

    Yeah you’re right, you’ll probably turn out one of those things that you mentioned by the end of the school year if you keep doing your current routine. I haven’t experienced waiting for my girls when they are in preschool because Im working full time. Though Im still working full time its just that I’ve been transferred in a graveyard shift I have time now to accompany my girls with their Kumon class. Mostly its an hour to 3 hours waiting depending on the difficulty of their level. And it helps that I’m in a graveyard shift since this would mean time for sleep while I wait for them. At least nakapahinga ako, nakatipid pa, haha..

    • Eliza permalink
      July 5, 2013 12:56 am

      Well seeing that I don’t work full-time and going to the spa, eating out, getting a mani-pedi are all part of my regular routine anyway, hindi naman ako pagod. Maybe I’ll just go to the gym.

  7. July 5, 2013 9:20 am

    Hi Miss! You know, you can make tambay at home with me! Heehee or we can Yen Yen, Tea Tap, Eat Fresh, mani-pedi at Blanca De China! Luckily, I have helpers na who are watching the kids. We can go for a quick merienda or whatnot. Just let me know! We’ll have some mommy-me time with the other SoMoms Tin, Michelle, Jen! Let’s go! Or or or let’s do a make up lessons/tutorial video at home! O ha! Productivity at its finest! 😉

    • Eliza permalink
      July 5, 2013 9:29 am

      Akshali! May yayey ka na! Yahoo I will bug you next. Mamaya we’ll be at Tin’s. Makeup makeup ko si Kris!!! Punta ka, chika tayo!

    • July 5, 2013 9:39 am

      You know my sched, Monday group na! 🙂 At bakit make-up make-up mo si Kris? Saan ra-rampa si mother? :p

  8. carla permalink
    July 5, 2013 1:36 pm

    your post made me smile, because i used to do that for 2 years with my daughter. magastos nga, since i’d usually be having breakfast somewhere or going to snr. eventually, i enrolled in fitness first, pero after a while napansin ko i was spending more time at the lounge drinking the free coffee than exercising. nung medyo kelangan mag tipid mode na i just hung out nalang in the school library and made worksheets for my daughter. those were the days =)

    • Eliza permalink
      July 6, 2013 12:54 am

      That is actually my plan – to enroll in a gym. It’s still just a plan. Haha!

  9. July 10, 2013 11:40 am

    Oh, I remember the days! After a month of doing that I ended up just going home. I saved more money that way.

    • Eliza permalink
      July 10, 2013 12:24 pm

      The extra 20 minutes to get to where I now live really made the difference. Wish I could just go home too.

Leave a Reply

