Skip to content

Curves Philippines: Real Fitness for Real Women

October 10, 2013

I have an issue with gyms. I’ve been a member of a certain gym chain a few times. Different branches, same issues. Never mind the overcrowding, the deteriorating facilities, or the battle to end the membership. There’s just a certain culture in gyms that doesn’t work for me. Seriously, I just want to work out. This was my expectation when some of the SoMoms were given the chance to try out Curves Philippines. In my mind, it would be just another gym. Membership. machines, classes, trainers, showers. I expected to be assessed, to be told I was vastly overweight and bordering on obese, assigned a set of exercises that went something like 20 mins on the treadmill, then some reps on some machines on the floor.

I have never been more wrong.

The first thing that caught my eye was the sign. “Curves. Strengthening Women.” A gym just for women!! I was in heaven!

More encouraging were signs with funny captions.

Quite a number share this sentiment with me. You’re supposed to go to a gym to lose weight and be fit, but end up not going because you’re too self-conscious. Where’s the logic in that?

On my first visit to Curves Philippines in their Eastwood branch, I got assessed for my current weight and measurements. Then, Coach Liezel and I sat down to set some goals. I was very surprised. These one-month goals were very, very doable. I can really imagine myself achieving this!

Hay, I’m so big na. But I can do this!

The facilities are nice, simple and clean. Lockers and shower rooms available for anyone who comes to work out.

But at the heart of Curves Philippines is the program itself. It’s circuit training, designed to be done in 30 minutes on different machines set in a circle on the workout floor. It is an efficient workout that combines cardio, toning, strengthening and flexibility. This is what the circuit looks like.

You alternate working out on a machine, then switch to a recovery pad for cardio to keep your heart rate up. A trainer is always present to lead you through your workout, whether you are alone or with other people. You do the whole circuit twice and you are DONE. I am sweating buckets by the end of a session.

Here’s what I love about Curves:

  1. Designed for women. No matter what shape, size or age you are, you are welcome, encouraged, empowered and invited to come. No men, no mirrors, no spandex!
  2. The goals are realistic. Curves is no bootcamp, but they promise results. Judging from the results board and the many happy women who I see everyday, I believe it!
  3. The time to work out is ideal for busy people. How many times have I used this excuse: “I have no time to go to the gym.” Well, with Curves’ workout lasting as short as 30 minutes, that excuse is down the drain. It is so easy to squeeze in a circuit! Forget spending half an hour on treadmills, bikes or ellipticals, then spending another hour on machines. It takes me 20 minutes to get to Curves. I work out for half and hour then I go back home. Everything, including travel time is less than two hours!
  4. There is no time to get bored. Because of the way the program is designed, you have burned and toned long before it gets boring. And the program itself is not boring at all. On certain days, they even incorporate Zumba! So much fun.

This engagement with Curves actually came at a time when I finally told myself, “That’s it. You’re done. Move your lazy ass.” This is the biggest and most unfit I’ve ever been in my entire life. Basti is just three years old. Time to get moving!

So thank you, Curves, for tapping the SoMoms! I am enjoying my workouts immensely and I can’t wait to see the results in a month or so. Here’s to a #betterme!

Patty and I after our Zumba Circuit. So tiring but so fun!!

For more information on rates, schedules and the Curves program, please contact them thru:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2014 6:12 pm

    Hi may i know your rates please? Thank you

    • Eliza permalink
      March 31, 2014 11:44 am

      Hi! You may contact Curves for their current rates. 🙂

Leave a Reply

